Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of retro_mfx_fix
Author:mfx
Title:Arlyeh Center for Heart Diseases
Download:retro_mfx_fix.zip (b96190c2bfecc0e9b92b968044ded970)
Filesize:2584 Kilobytes
Release date:29.11.2014
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardQuakeOne
Type:Misc. Files
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:retrojam1



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
retro_mfx_fixNormal0h14m29sIcantthinkofanickname6662014-12-02
All kills & secrets, but painful to watch.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/red_bk.tga605 KB29.11.2014
gfx/env/red_dn.tga657 KB29.11.2014
gfx/env/red_ft.tga649 KB29.11.2014
gfx/env/red_lf.tga620 KB29.11.2014
gfx/env/red_rt.tga616 KB29.11.2014
gfx/env/red_up.tga436 KB29.11.2014
maps/retro_mfx.bsp2615 KB24.11.2014
maps/retro_mfx.lit1155 KB24.11.2014
retro_mfx.txt1 KB29.11.2014

retro_mfx_fix.zip

Arlyeh Center for Heart Diseases

A rebalanced version of mfx's map from Retro Jam 1: a medieval building nestled in a rocky cavern and fronted by a lake of slime. Features traps and tough combat.

Note: This map is meant to be played with the Retro Jam 1 pack.


Tags: medieval, traps, retro jam, retrojam

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating:
3.7/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Icantthinkofanickname Registered 30 November 2014, 21:37

Really beautiful for a map made in such a short space of time. As with the initial version, I like the use of traps and the abundant and easy yet gratifying secrets, and in theory I like the crate-hopping section (though in practice it just meant that lost a lot of precious health from slipping into the slime).

Whereas the first version had me madly dashing towards the exit with no ammo and very little health left, avoiding the remaining monsters, here I was able to complete the map more gracefully -- but it took me quite a few attempts and several saves and reloads to get that far. It remains a fairly brutal experience, mostly because it repeatedly forces you to fight tough monsters in close quarters.

In short, lovely to look at and theoretically very neat, but for my taste a little too unforgiving in practice.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 30 November 2014, 22:44

As an aside, I loaded this in id1 just out of curiosity, to see if it would work. That has the map default to the scrolling Quake sky instead of the skybox (for which you need to play the map in retrojam1) -- and in my opinion it actually looks a lot more atmospheric:

alt text

bfg666 Registered 13 August 2016, 7:53

"Arlyeh"? Why spell it like that instead of the correct R'lyeh?

MikeTaylor Registered 22 February 2018, 2:33

I admire this map a lot, but don't particularly enjoy it. I think the problem is that too many of the ambushes happen in areas where you can't really find the space to deal with them well -- retreats are often cut off. I feel like it wouldn't take much to lift this to a five-star map, but somehow it's not quite happening for me.

Alex Ros Registered 26 December 2021, 7:59

Really cool map. Loved from start to the end. Layout & atmosphere are great. Don't know why mfx was hard on himself in readme - the map is absolutely cool. Maybe mobs are way too hardcore, too many of shamblers & vores, but it's walk in the park if you will be looking for secrets. 5 of 5

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in