Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of retrojam6_negke
Author:negke
Title:Egyptgington
Download:retrojam6_negke.zip (24d47e83ece7daef9ab4db528c93a815)
Filesize:3480 Kilobytes
Release date:27.08.2017
Homepage:http://negke.quaddicted.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
progs.dat407 KB27.08.2017
retrojam6_negke.bsp5654 KB27.08.2017
retrojam6_negke.ent161 KB27.08.2017
retrojam6_negke.lit2804 KB27.08.2017
retrojam6_negke.map3402 KB27.08.2017
retrojam6_negke.txt4 KB27.08.2017

retrojam6_negke.zip - Egyptgington

Medium-sized Egyptian pyramid level, originally started for the Retro Map Jam 6 community event. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires either a source port with increased limits, or needs to be run as a mod using the included progs.dat file.


Tags: medium, egypt, pyramid, tomb, limits, source

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 1 September 2017, 7:25

Really cool map from negke, probably one of his best. The exterior of the pyramid is barren and desolate, a good setup for the partly cramped and increasingly obscure and mechanical interior. The interior brushwork is detailed and very nice, and of course in truest negke fashion the layout is a fine, tightly-wrought piece of geometry. Great stuff, I'm glad it was finished and released.

negke Registered 10 September 2017, 19:11

Hint: Don't get lost searching for the button to lower the SK pillar. It's right there in the room below that you enter after bringing down the stairs.

Anon Guest 10 October 2017, 16:16

Such fantastic and unusual atmosphere/architecture.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 27 November 2017, 20:00

Egyptington on The Quake Grave

It's really too bad that this map didn't make the original release for map jam 6 because would've been a real stand out map, among a bunch of other stand out maps. The map flows well, has a lot of great events throughout and some fun combat areas too! The only real critique I have has already been mentioned in the comments for the miss-able button down in the pyramid. You'll see it in the video as I talk about it. Great map otherwise though, nice work!

MikeTaylor Registered 4 January 2018, 0:39

I, too, missed the silver-key button. Thank you, Negke, for popping up here with the hint!

Otherwise, I loved this right up to the point where the giant rock spawns descended.

MikeTaylor Registered 5 January 2018, 16:26

Anyway, I finally killed the rock spawns, and finished with all 101 kills and 4 of the 5 secrets. All very satifying.

death112 Registered, rated this a 5 4 March 2018, 18:17

Cool map, nice challenge.

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 21 July 2018, 21:07

I nominated this for best vanilla map in the 2018 Quake Awards. Really good exploration-y gameplay here; it's such a tangle of routes that it has potential to be confusing, but I think the sightlines and monster placements are set up well to keep drawing you in more or less the right direction. I love the general look-n-feel of indiana jones tomb raidering!

I played it on Hard. I almost never have ammo problems in maps but things were tight here... which was actually good & challenging, until the very end. Especially because of the rockspawns I didn't have nearly enough ammo to get all the kills and so I just had to run for it. Obviously "running away" is a legit way to exit a map but it felt less satisfying.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in