Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of rit2
Author:Chris Burgess
Title:Escape the Castle
Download:rit2.zip (93a6ac451c7bde53782a251dd958de68)
Filesize:589 Kilobytes
Release date:22.09.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sTEAMShambler
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
RIT2.TXT2 KB22.09.1996
RIT2.BSP1330 KB22.09.1996

rit2.zip - Escape the Castle

Small to medium Metal map. OK.

Tags: metal, small, medium

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 20 February 2014, 0:37

gameplay was a little tougher than i expected at the beginning. layout was ok.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 20 May 2014, 0:49

Agreed that the beginning offers a tense challenge but the whole map is fun and offers a great quad moment for anyone into that sort of thing. This is a very well made map, especially for 1996, I really liked this one. Watch me play it here: Escape the Base on The Quake Grave

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 12 June 2014, 15:03

I didn't liked it. First map (rit) was good, this one is undoublty worser.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 14 June 2014, 2:22

Well, I've replayed this level and have changed my mind. I give it 4/5.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 4 16 August 2014, 20:48

Quite a fun level. It's not too long, kinda in between small and medium. The visuals are pretty nice for 1996. The combat is pretty nice, there's both close quarters and wide open areas. I don't get why there are two Shamblers at the start and not the end, though. I'm not much of a fan of secrets that don't hint at being secret, that just look like the rest of the level and you have to shoot. Overall though, I definitely say it's a level worth playing.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 4 6 January 2015, 13:03

I really enjoyed this one. The visuals are very good for 1996 (I like metal maps) and the gameplay is mostly very good. I say mostly because the start is way too difficult without the annoyingly obscure secret that I only found because I lucked out and shot the wall in the place the secret was.

Anyway, apart from that this is a very fun map to play through. The combat is not too difficult but challenging enough to be fun, and there's a nice variety of enemies used. I wish there was a bit more of a conclusion fight though.

I think this is definitely worth a playthrough, and for '96 it's outstanding. 4/5

Noxat Registered, rated this a 5 9 July 2015, 3:30

I had a good time with this map! It looked good, was rather challenging, had some clever secrets and didn't wear out its welcome. Top notch for a custom map from the early Quake days.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 10 August 2016, 5:10

This is a really fun old-school map. Very impressive for 1996. The only complaint I can make is that the secrets are relatively easy.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 1 July 2017, 14:52

A very well made map for 1996. Not much to complain except for the frustrating Shambler duo too early in the map. Also there are a couple of secrets with high-end gear with the map practically over by that time.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in