Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of rte
Author:XeNoN
Title:Return to Earth
Download:rte.zip (656dc686c8d8bad7c05ac2ebac1c6614)
Filesize:1241 Kilobytes
Release date:22.07.2001
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
maps/blood.bsp1176 KB24.07.2001
maps/fate.bsp1285 KB24.07.2001
maps/temple.bsp1185 KB24.07.2001
maps/ware1.bsp466 KB24.07.2001
rte.txt8 KB24.07.2001

rte.zip - Return to Earth

Four first maps with incredibly poor design, ridiculous textures, bad gameplay - apparently some sort of "joke" release. This file was repacked by Spirit.

Tags: mini episode, base, temple, mixtex, nonlinear, maze

Editor's Rating: Crap
User Rating: 1.3/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
rj 9 June 2010, 6:14
haha. as if this is in here!

it was more fond beginner nostalgia rather than a ""joke" release". i know it sucked but i made that clear in the txt :P
Icantthinkofanickname Registered 26 January 2014, 22:09

I enjoyed this pack. The maps are technically bad, but they make up for their lack of sophistication with plenty of raw creativity and charm. Purposefully stringing “bad” maps together into a mini-episode like this was a brilliant idea; the consistently primitive style thus becomes its own aesthetic.

Cautiously recommended – provided you are able to look past very rough execution and appreciate the creative spirit beneath.

If you are playing this in Quakespasm: I found that I had to disable overbright lighting ("gl_overbright 0" in the console) to get the lighting to look as intended.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 2 27 August 2014, 19:30

Quite good for first maps, combat and layout wise. All can be completed with no cheats.

Some of the textures was interesting (the base one and the one for the doors, for example).

Anonymous Guest 31 December 2014, 21:33

GOOD 4 NAO

Delor Guest 16 March 2015, 23:11

I strongly encourage creativity and imagination rather than academic dull Quake mapping :) So I'll sure check this out !

Opus131 Registered, rated this a 1 6 June 2015, 20:55

The layout and gameplay on the last map is quite good, all considered. Everything else is just terrible.

marc timothy moses Registered, rated this a 1 16 July 2016, 8:09

waste of memory space

Aspokala Guest 6 October 2016, 20:42

I tried to have fun with the thought 'oh haha this pack sucks'. Ok, I tried.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in