Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of rubicon2
Author:metlslime & czg
Title:Rubicon 2
Download:rubicon2.zip (d385d88fbd95fe08df8501d6aa5e66fa)
Filesize:9505 Kilobytes
Release date:11.02.2011
Homepage:http://celephais.net/levels/rubicon2/
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
pak0.pak23811 KB12.02.2011
rubicon2.txt5 KB12.02.2011

rubicon2.zip - Rubicon 2

Three-map base/industrial campaign with new textures, three new monsters, and a few other additions.

Tags: base, rubicon, large, episode, monsters, textures, industrial, mustplay

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 56 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
negke, rated this a 5 14 February 2011, 1:45
Three-map base/industrial campaign with new textures, three new monsters, and of few other additions.
negke, rated this a 5 14 February 2011, 1:46
Crap, this was supposed to go into the edit window. Spirit, please delete these comments.
Nahuel 14 February 2011, 2:12
great, the atmosphere is very original remember´s me the cgz insomnia!!!!!
Daz, rated this a 5 23 December 2011, 22:46
Playthrough of the first level : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZf41t9Pc0Y

2nd the 3rd maps coming soon(tm)
Lord Graga 29 December 2011, 19:39
Just played first map, and it was pretty good. Nice secret. Not a big fan of the new monsters and grunts/enforcers in general, but it didn't keep me from liking it. Nice geometry.
Daz, rated this a 5 30 December 2011, 0:43
Playthrough of the 2nd map - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLzV1jiBOV0
Daz, rated this a 5 1 January 2012, 17:24
aaaaaand the final video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRG-rNOQTLU
than 20 February 2012, 15:33
Great gameplay, connectivity, lots of good ideas, and I really enjoyed fighting the new enemies. Architecture and texturing is rather inspiring in many areas and makes me want to map!
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 19 May 2012, 9:35
Excellent work!
Those flamethrowers literally freaked me out!
Carlos 23 June 2012, 20:13
No words, just awsome. its on my favorite list of custom Levels: Zerstorer Testment of destroyer, Rubicon 2, Insomnia, Penumbra, Terra... Really nice.
ijed Guest 10 January 2013, 12:12
Excellent piece of work.
Qmaster Registered, rated this a 5 8 March 2013, 1:07
Wow! czg's was my favorite but all of the levels were wonderful!!
FifthElephant Registered, rated this a 4 7 October 2013, 22:20

I enjoyed a lot of this pack, except the weird Doctor Who style terrible dustbin robots. I loved the section with the multi-floor lift, really cool.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 24 November 2013, 13:34

Extremely polished feel throughout. I actually really liked the "dustbin robots" (to quote FifthElephant above) as they add a bit of humour and contribute to the retro-sci-fi atmosphere.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 13:47

Three maps you won't forget so soon after playing them! Has a hub which lets you return so you can play the maps in any order you like. Any of them is great and full of details, but if I had to choose a highlight, it would be "A Thousand Years Into The Past" (RUB2M3) by czg. A huge, foggy storage complex with impressive architecture.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 17:48

While I love this episode and gave it a 5/5, I really think that subjective tags like "mustplay" are not useful. That's what the ratings and comments are for, after all.

NoNameUser Guest 26 May 2014, 14:39

Not bad. It has a great atmosphere and cool new enemies, specially those funny Super Metroid Automatons; plus a lot of nice ambiance sounds and special effects. Unfortunately, the levels are all tech style, which isn't a bad thing, but it makes the areas look a bit too similar. Also, while the majority of the secrets are not too difficult to discover, they are not really worth hunting if you dispose of all the enemies first because as soon as you finish the level you're stripped of all your gear and have to start the next map from scratch. This is an issue that's present in several other maps I've played, finding hidden areas is one of the things that makes Quake so much fun to play, but this basically kills that enjoyment.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 11 December 2014, 16:25

I'm sure I've played this before, because so much of it feels familiar -- but I can't believe that I never registered Flood Control Dam #3 before, a reference close to my heart.

On replaying the first level (Hydroexploitation Plant), I found it a really enjoyable challenge, with just enough disorientation to keep things interesting but not enough to become frustrating. This is another map -- like the original Rubicon -- that doesn't give you the powerful weapons (unless they're in the two secrets I missed) but which somehow doesn't suffer from that restriction but even seems to benefit from it. Everything feels more claustrophobic and threatening when you have nothing more powerful than RANG (Regular-Ass Nail Gun).

More when I've played the other levels.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 December 2014, 11:20

Replaying the second level (Subterranean Spookworks) also feels hauntingly familiar -- it's really strange that I only half remember these levels. Once again, weapons are limited to the three weakest (SG, SSG, RANG), and while that was an interesting approach in the original Rubicon and Hydroexploitation Plant, it's wearing a bit then now. I am about ready to blow some stuff up. Mind you, I only found one of seven secrets, so maybe the good stuff was there for the taking if I'd been more inspired.

There are some nice touches here, especially the three testing rooms (hints of Portal?) but overall it's less satisfying that the first level -- probably in part because instead of being one big level, this is really four small ones that you play in sequence. In effect, it's a smallish episode, and perhaps for that reason should have been released standalone rather than as part of a pack.

More when I've played CZG's level.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 December 2014, 11:23

BTW., can someone add Tronyn's review https://www.quaddicted.com/webarchive/www.quaddicted.com/tronyn-reviews/tronyn-reviews-rubicon-2-by-metlslime-and-czg/ to the links? Feel free to delete this comment when done!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 December 2014, 16:51

I finished CZG's level A thousand years into the past, with all 169 kills -- but not until I'd had a great time exploring a very atmospheric and intricate base. Found six of the seven secrets, too, which is a lot better then the feeble 1/7 that I found in Subterranean Spookworks. Since I ended up with all the weapons except the rocket launcher, I assume that the missing secret probably held one. Shame to miss it -- it would have been fun to have in several places.

I'm definitely happy that I played this last of the three Rubicon 2 maps, since it was by some distance my favourite. (Then again, CZG is probably my favourite mapper over all, so it's not too surprising.)

Putting it all together, it would be unreasonable to award this pack less then the fuil five stars. Great stuff.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 December 2014, 16:52

Hmm. I see that this page shows Rubicon 2's average score as 4.9/5, but the list page shows only 4.65. Surely the same kind of average ought to be used in both places?

Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 12 December 2014, 17:27

4.9/5 is the actual average. The "User's" rating on the map list is something like http://www.evanmiller.org/how-not-to-sort-by-average-rating.html , maxing out somewhere around 4.8. I wanted to provide some useful sorting instead of the rubbish many sites have. No idea how to nicely make both sites show the same unless I do that expensive calculation for each map page too (or write them to the db and update after each vote). The code is a mess...

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 December 2014, 17:44

For what it's worth, I think just doing the same calculation on each map page is the way to go. You call it "expensive", but you do it on 1216 maps when you display the map list, so it's obviously lightweight enough! But I realise you probably have more important things to be working on (like you own next map?)

FredBezies Guest 13 December 2014, 15:22

I love to search for nightmare level access in Quake episode. In this one, I found it to be cool... And kinda wet :D

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 5 4 April 2016, 11:59

Really great set of levels, I find that enjoy the industrial theme (Not to be confused with idbase theme!). Playing these maps I can see where RRP got the inspiration.

Kinn Registered, rated this a 5 31 December 2016, 20:36

Consistently brilliant. Strong themes, clever layouts. Incomparable atmosphere and polish. I haven't played a set of tech levels better than this.

topher Registered, rated this a 5 5 February 2017, 20:40

I really liked the two metl maps and the fact that you have to go trough the map mainly with the shotgun and nailgun with limited ammo boxes and health packs trough the level.

Atzuras Guest 17 April 2017, 3:59

I hate bases but I must admit Rubicon has changed the Rules. And Rubicon 2 sets the new standard for this kind of setup. CZG's map "a thousand years" can be played in several ways and "spookyworks" it's a funny one. I regret not practicing my skills because all are very tactical and require precision - or you will waste all your ammo and probably health chasing Centurions. Do we really need this kind of Scraggs with Machineguns? Probably they are a bit overpowered but I reckon they are the way to go when spaces are getting bigger and the Z-axis takes a very important role in the map design. Overall 4/5, which may look too harsh but you don't know how many times I have been killed, do you?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 25 April 2017, 16:06

I replayed The Hydroexploitation Plant, this time finishing with six of the seven secrets (and all 99 kills) -- but still only had the three weakest weapons (SG, SSG and NG). Is the elusive seventh secret a better weapon? Where is it?!

bhlaab Registered, rated this a 3 31 July 2019, 5:07

I liked CZG's level. Didn't care for Metal Slime's

Jugador Registered, rated this a 5 11 October 2019, 18:32

These maps are so stylish they almost make you want to live in them.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in