Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of runfear
Author:super
Title:Runic Fear
Download:runfear.zip (72a9f8e597dab9d258eb32636c8a2d55)
Filesize:524 Kilobytes
Release date:27.02.2016
Homepage:http://super.tfgames.org/
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
runfear.bsp1162 KB27.02.2016
runfear.txt3 KB27.02.2016

runfear.zip - Runic Fear

Small to medium-sized runic level with an interconnected layout.

Tags: small, runic, metal, secrets, oldskool

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.4/5 with 16 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 2 March 2016, 22:15

Had lots of fun, especially with the scripted lights-off moments and jumping.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 5 March 2016, 5:15

Runic Fear on The Quake Grave

Runic Fear is a fun throwback level that feels like it could fit right in with maps from the 90's. The big difference is that it's well made! Obviously a bunch of those old maps are a bit ugly and the design work is questionable, but Runic Fear is nice to look at, pretty easy to navigate, challenging and it moves at a good clip too. Definitely worth checking out for some quick 90's styled Quake!

Amph Guest 10 March 2016, 9:17

Short and sweet. Some nice little platformy bits that don't require DeFRag levels of skill, some hectic close quarters fights that require you to conserve ammo. I like how pithy and grim the onscreen messages are. "Not yet." "No escape." Well paced, with a clear beginning, middle, and end. There's a bit near the end that had some brilliant visual foreshadowing. It let the player know that things were about to get messy in a way that was subtle but easy to understand. Great work, can't wait for any future releases.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 24 March 2016, 18:06

Enjoyable in a very retro way. I would classify this as high on competence, but low on inspiration. I hope that the author will go on to more ambitious things.

Giftmacher Registered 30 March 2016, 21:40

Fun retromap! Quake fundamentals at its finest. Looking forward to more.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 4 May 2016, 6:27

I had fun too, and I must be getting good at Quake to manage Hard skill without dying. Only reason I'm not giving it a 4 is that it's too brightly lit in most places. Runic textures look best when it's darker, and deep, looming shadows would've hidden the simple brushwork a bit. :)

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 27 October 2016, 15:32

Great old school and first? time mapper.

Some truly unnerving elements at work here with some devious but suited traps. Hope to see more from Super!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in