Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of rw3
Author:Miss Bubbles
Title:Unholy Ossuary
Download:rw3.zip (482c5c1fa2b36dd06710c799013f51e3)
Filesize:942 Kilobytes
Release date:26.02.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
rw3Nightmare0h06m34sArcaneFiend6662019-06-11
Playthrough of rw3 with all monsters killed and all secrets found.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
UnholyOssuary_Readme.txt3 KB26.02.2017
rw3.bsp2226 KB26.02.2017

rw3.zip

Unholy Ossuary

Medium-sized classic Episode 3-style runic level.

Tags: medium, runic, metal, hard

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 39 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Johnny Law Registered 22 November 2018, 19:44

IIRC I nominated this for best "vanilla" id1 map in the 2018 Quake Awards. It's a polished-but-nostalgic experience that is just plain fun and doesn't outstay its welcome. Great as a changeup between trying crazy big and/or experimental maps to keep you in tune with fundamental Quake goodness.

JMP Registered 25 December 2018, 6:54

I found the combat a little bland, but the architecture is great. It perfectly captures the atmosphere of Episode 3 while having enough polish and detail to meet modern standards.

gotshun Registered 6 February 2019, 3:15

This was great. Connectivity was spot on. I didn't get lost at all. And I have a bad habit of that. The monster placement had to many ogres for my taste maybe a few more vores. Also a little more ammo would have worked. But, other than that, this map is right on the mark. 5/5 is worthy of this map. Great map Miss Bubbles.

Pete (Gotshun) D.
Lysander Registered 25 February 2019, 22:29

Very enjoyable old school map which could have worked as part of the main game. Very atmospheric, not too hard and the amount of ammo was perfect - I had to use the axe a few times and that's no bad thing. Great achievement,

hqn Registered 18 July 2019, 6:02

Fantastic map! The creepy vibe and solid encounters echo the id maps of old in a refreshing way. The geometry has a chunkiness to it that makes for a very polished look, inviting for a second, third or fourth playthrough. I still didn't get all the secrets!

Borax Man Registered 4 October 2019, 11:04

When it comes to metal style id1 maps, this is as good as it gets. Great layout, good gameplay and well designed. Difficulty mainly came from having to carefully ration use of ammunition.

Like Miss Bubbles other map, "Well of Lost Souls", this map is catered more for those wanting something similar to an existing established style, than something more original and novel.

Text_Fish Registered 4 May 2020, 14:53

This wouldn't seem out of place in one of the original episodes, which is great for nostalgia factor, but it doesn't pack any new challenges or surprises -- which is still possible using vanilla Quake.

Ammo management kept me on my toes and forced me to rely on grenades in several encounters where I would normally have gone for nails or bullets.

I've only found one of four secrets so far, so I'll probably go back and have another look around, although I fear that may just involve randomly smashing walls and fixtures with the axe as there don't seem to be any "visible but just out of reach" areas to focus the search. The secret I did find (the lift quad) was also mildly frustrating because if you don't grab it within milliseconds of noticing it, the goodies within go largely wasted.

All in all it's a fine traditional Quake 1 map, but I'm not sure it deserves its current standing amongst the other 5-star maps out there.

Greenwood Registered 1 July 2020, 9:31

This is a great retro styled map. Good encounters, geometry, and lighting. I can't find anything to complain about here! I'm definitely going to play this again, since I only found 2 secrets. Closer to 5 than 4 in my book!

Spirit Registered 17 August 2021, 21:34

The only thing I missed was some overarching stuff, it felt a bit setpiece after setpiece to me. But apart from that, wow, loved it. Proper id style.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in