Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of scar3sp01
Author:scar3crow
Title:The Ensnared Horizon
Download:scar3sp01.zip (e06b410c5361a2af9a15a2da3db377af)
Filesize:2401 Kilobytes
Release date:06.09.2019
Homepage:http://www.scar3crow.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
scar3sp01.bsp4936 KB06.09.2019
scar3sp01.map2303 KB06.09.2019
scar3sp01.txt2 KB06.09.2019

scar3sp01.zip - The Ensnared Horizon

Medium-sized Ebon fortress/metal-themed level. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Hal Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2019, 20:40

Not bad. It feels pretty oldschool in design and execution. The brushwork is blocky and evocative of times gone by. I like it.

However, it doesn't feel like a place that would exist. The layout makes little sense if you were to take it out of the game context, which I think is possibly a detriment to the map. Maybe I'm just not in the mood for it today, but I think this map is just too "gamey". I actually got stuck trying to find the silver key due to the map not naturally teaching or guiding the player through it's abstraction.

Still, I had fun. Four bags of popcorn.

ponqo Guest 22 September 2019, 6:20

Very well designed map with very good ammo balance. The visual design is top notch too and it has of interesting moving setpieces and usage of color to differentiate the areas. has a well-executed semi-abstract architectural motif. i enjoyed it

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 23 September 2019, 3:05

I rather liked this one, personally. Challenges are well done, architecture is acceptable if not stunning; an all-around good time.

Ebon Saturn Registered, rated this a 4 23 September 2019, 18:05

Very nice! Thought the pacing was really good. Never got bored, and never felt like a grind. Thanks for the map.

QuakeFreak Registered, rated this a 4 7 October 2019, 0:31

Well done! Those secretes must be very well hid as I was only able to find 3 of them. Was short on nails and shells on the final room tho, but that is ok since you can just run to the exit.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 26 October 2019, 23:37

Well,

First of all, really nice map, the only downside for me was that there were a lot of unnecessary backtracking, just, press a button and this open, but not with a purpose. Although a lot of them were well placed, and some did it very well (like opening the water gate that you could see behind the wall)

I really like double secrets.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 22 November 2019, 12:23

A strange mixed bag, this. It suffers from some arbitrariness and some blocky, over-bright 1990s-style design. But I had a great time playing it, very much enjoying the sense of exploration in a space that most of the while had no single clear path. It's funny how rare that is.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in