Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of scar3sp01
Author:scar3crow
Title:The Ensnared Horizon
Download:scar3sp01.zip (e06b410c5361a2af9a15a2da3db377af)
Filesize:2401 Kilobytes
Release date:06.09.2019
Homepage:http://www.scar3crow.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
scar3sp01.bsp4936 KB06.09.2019
scar3sp01.map2303 KB06.09.2019
scar3sp01.txt2 KB06.09.2019

scar3sp01.zip

The Ensnared Horizon

Medium-sized Ebon fortress/metal-themed level. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, ebon, blue, metal, source, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.6/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Hal Registered 21 September 2019, 20:40

Not bad. It feels pretty oldschool in design and execution. The brushwork is blocky and evocative of times gone by. I like it.

However, it doesn't feel like a place that would exist. The layout makes little sense if you were to take it out of the game context, which I think is possibly a detriment to the map. Maybe I'm just not in the mood for it today, but I think this map is just too "gamey". I actually got stuck trying to find the silver key due to the map not naturally teaching or guiding the player through it's abstraction.

Still, I had fun. Four bags of popcorn.

ponqo Guest 22 September 2019, 6:20

Very well designed map with very good ammo balance. The visual design is top notch too and it has of interesting moving setpieces and usage of color to differentiate the areas. has a well-executed semi-abstract architectural motif. i enjoyed it

Solomoriah Registered 23 September 2019, 3:05

I rather liked this one, personally. Challenges are well done, architecture is acceptable if not stunning; an all-around good time.

Ebon Saturn Registered 23 September 2019, 18:05

Very nice! Thought the pacing was really good. Never got bored, and never felt like a grind. Thanks for the map.

QuakeFreak Registered 7 October 2019, 0:31

Well done! Those secretes must be very well hid as I was only able to find 3 of them. Was short on nails and shells on the final room tho, but that is ok since you can just run to the exit.

brunomiwa Registered 26 October 2019, 23:37

Well,

First of all, really nice map, the only downside for me was that there were a lot of unnecessary backtracking, just, press a button and this open, but not with a purpose. Although a lot of them were well placed, and some did it very well (like opening the water gate that you could see behind the wall)

I really like double secrets.

MikeTaylor Registered 22 November 2019, 12:23

A strange mixed bag, this. It suffers from some arbitrariness and some blocky, over-bright 1990s-style design. But I had a great time playing it, very much enjoying the sense of exploration in a space that most of the while had no single clear path. It's funny how rare that is.

dwere Registered 4 February 2020, 20:10

Very tight on supplies, I keep running out of everything. Should I play on hard instead of normal?

Jugador Registered 15 May 2021, 20:53

Strange proggression. Not for everyone, but intriguing.

DMXneon Registered 23 October 2022, 18:28

Also a mixed bag for me. Near the beginning I was a little confused because it seemed like there were so many different avenues I could go down at once. Some would be dead ends (for now) and some would end with buttons that I hit, no sure what they did. Eventually I started to get a feel for the layout and I was having fun with it, until near the end. Like some others have said, the ammo seems a bit tight. In the final room, when two shamblers, a vore, two fiends, some spawns, and a shit ton of scrags all appear, I was totally over it. Glad the exit was right there, cause if it wasn't, I probably would've just quit anyway.

I don't mind that the level design is abstract, I think its more important that a level play well than look like a place that could actually exist. This layout, though, didn't often naturally flow or lead me to where I should go. A lot of going back to previously locked areas asking "Maybe this is open now?"

Still a decent time though, and a lot of work clearly went into it. Probably better for players who like a challenge more than I do. Giving it a 3.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in