Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of series1
Author:Inforatt (?)
Title:Series 1
Download:series1.zip (c50137f64c29633848e7cc787e722a49)
Filesize:1064 Kilobytes
Release date:30.12.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
S1L5.BSP285 KB28.12.1996
SERIES1.TXT1 KB30.12.1996
S1L3.BSP347 KB17.12.1996
S1L1.BSP534 KB17.12.1996
S1L2.BSP420 KB17.12.1996
S1L4.BSP609 KB23.12.1996
S1L6.BSP457 KB30.12.1996

series1.zip - Series 1

Episode with six small to medium, poorly contructed and leaked maps in various texture themes.

Tags: episode, medium, mixtex, non linear, vertical, tricks, traps

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.1/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Dgemie Guest 1 September 2013, 18:05

This e-mail is Phil Hammond's.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 2 10 July 2014, 1:27

I think, those who like unusual, strange and original maps might enjoy these levels. Although, the underlying ideas could be realized in much better way...
Screenshot of S1L1 is shown on the screen. This is a big canyon-like... em, building... or something like that. And your path lies from the upper floors to the lower. It sounds interesting, but the gameplay is awful, and the design very cubish (well, as in the rest of maps).
S1L2 is a cross-like room with lava and acid pools. You should activate bridges and collect keys to proceed. It could be a good map, but it's very small (and you can cross acid without bridges), its design is too simple, and its gameplay is too rough. Also, there is a stupid non-solid part of wall (the author very likes this trick and uses it in the other maps). Note: if you can't find level exit, dive into acid pool.
S1L3 is the stupidiest one. Dark tiny corridors, a lot of enemies, lack of ammo, a small secret button with the same texture as on ceiling, and frustrating half-solid platform over pool...
S1L4 is probably the best from gameplay side. It's a real puzzle. But I really hate filckering light in one of the rooms (and on the next map this effect is present again).
S1L5 — very simple in any sense, and too short. It is a couple of rooms connected only by unusual looking teleports.
S1L6 — the last and the funniest one. There are boats with enemies, and boats move around the player place. Maybe, this is the best of these maps, but I don't like very quick death when player is touching acid. Also, there are two shamblers, but you can easily kill them if you'll think for a second.

Interesting thing with these maps: they are very small and cubish, but while I was playing 'em I haven't noticed that, coz I was buisy trying to find out how to move forward (and have spent a lot of time doing that); except S1L2 and S1L5 — they are really too short.
Also, there are no intermissions between maps, you're just spawning on the next level seamlessly, and it seems like you're playing one big map.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 22 January 2018, 22:01

There were quite a few aggravating things in this episode, such as the constant falling in the first map, enemies continually ambushing you, and I ended up in an unwinnable situation a couple of times: The first time was with this door without a warning permanently shutting you from the exit if you don't go through the door quickly enough and the other time was me getting stuck in the geometry after pushing a button. I didn't want to restart the maps so I noclipped at those times.

The architecture is quite ugly, and a couple of times I had a little bit of difficulty discerning buttons through the monotonous texturing, which was probably intentional at least in S1L3.

The aggravating things aside this episode is quite novel, with each of the maps containing some quirks and gimmicks that keep things interesting and made me want to see what's in store behind the next corner. The partial ammo starvation and constant enemy ambushes also kept me on my toes and forced me to take some risks at times to make a run for a quad to be able to finish off the enemy with my remaining little ammo. Also I was able to overcome the annoying parts in the maps before they got too annoying.

I'd say xDDGx summarized this episode quite neatly in his first sentence. I recommend trying this out if you're up for some unconventional maps.

pmk Guest 31 October 2018, 14:15

This map pack is not worth the play through as the levels are poorly constructed and are confusing and to dark for the player to determine how to procede. Not worth a play through as this map pack gets a one out of five rating from me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in