Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sgc4
Author:Steve Clarke
Title:Notlob's Residence
Download:sgc4.zip (bfeccf7fab6e3b9b5f731ca76e0453f5)
Filesize:345 Kilobytes
Release date:15.09.1996
Homepage:http://www.users.dircon.co.uk/~steve-gc
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sgc4.txt3 KB15.09.1996
sgc4.bsp771 KB15.09.1996

sgc4.zip - Notlob's Residence

Medium sized, plain Wizard map. Somewhat of a sequel to sgc3.

Tags: medium, plain, wizard

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.7/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit Registered, rated this a 3 21 May 2013, 15:09

Kinda simple and boring.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 15 December 2013, 13:24

A bit more squarish than the typical 1996 map, but decent gameplay and layout for its time.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 11 August 2014, 14:49

This is a good old style Quake map. I think it's a bit underpopulated at the beginning but once you hit the middle and on, it does a good job of adding enemies and challenge. I also expected more furniture at Notlob's place! Watch me play it here: Notlob's Residence on The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 16 August 2014, 8:32

It's decent. The visuals are pretty bad, but the gameplay's nice. It's got some fun combat and tricks. I found the gold key part to be pretty confusing, why was that button randomly exposed when I came back? Ah well, not a bad map and if you don't mind bad visuals it's a pretty solid play.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 2 6 January 2015, 12:01

The visuals are terrible, very blocky and boring. I wouldn't say the gameplay is bad but it's nothing too interesting. The "secrets" aren't marked and don't do anything (they don't have ammo or anything either). My main complaint is that I don't think this was thought of as an environment, I think it was just thought of as a bunch of rooms (which all feel rather empty). 2/5

Noxat Registered, rated this a 3 9 July 2015, 0:23

Sparse open areas and decent flow. Relatively easy, but long enough to consider a proper map. Worth a shot if you're looking for examples of early custom Quake maps.

NewHouse Registered, rated this a 2 23 May 2016, 0:44

Map really generously shared powerful guns even the combat didn't followed the same pacing. But then the map started to get harder until the end.

Ending was kind of meh, because you was able to pass the shambler quite easily ~ or maybe it was my luck or something.

In overall map felt complete and between small and medium sized map. But somehow map couldn't let me any impact, it felt lack of some really good ideas which would have made it stand out more.

Rating solid 2/5, consider trying, no replay value really.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 1 July 2017, 13:45

The map was lengthy enough, but the journey wasn't particularly memorable. The combat itself was decent, at least towards the end of the map.

It bugged me a bit that the couple of secrets I could find weren't marked as such.

The map was maybe a little bit too dark, but it was probably for the best that way: It set up a some dark atmosphere and more importantly, hid some of the ugly visuals of the map.

pmk Guest 9 October 2018, 1:43

plain boring designed map from 1996 with some decent combat throughout the map. Did not like the fact that map would not display how many secrets were available in the level. Overall not memorable would not recommend wasting time time to play the map. 1 out of 5 from me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in