Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of shaft29
Author:Alan Troup
Title:Shaft of the Soulless
Download:shaft29.zip (7e09f609d21f491d943fa4d8b8a16d45)
Filesize:123 Kilobytes
Release date:28.08.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
SHAFT29.TXT3 KB28.08.1996
SHAFT29.BSP284 KB28.08.1996

shaft29.zip - Shaft of the Soulless

One room with a "water elevator", struts and monsters. Very boring.

Tags: tiny, stupid, vertical, experimental, dark, water

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 1.8/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Alan Guest 25 November 2013, 7:11

This level was built before there were level editors, before Quake 1 was officially released, using a tedious coordinates script, so yes, it is tiny and boring compared to later levels. Did you try shooting the struts in deathmatch mode? It was a good level for its time.....

Scampie Registered 25 November 2013, 14:29

I took a shit in the woods before their were toilets. It was good for it's time.

onetruepurple Registered 25 November 2013, 14:36

The name is pretty cool, for what it's worth.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 2 15 December 2013, 13:42

It's decent for its verticality, time, and tools used.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 15 January 2014, 14:23

I found this to be clever, original and an interesting challenge, albeit a little ugly.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 15 January 2014, 14:24

Or in response to Scampie: For a shit in the woods, this was very enjoyable.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 2 18 February 2014, 23:41

2 for the level, 3 for 'shit in the woods' comments.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 1 12 June 2014, 4:48

Alan wrote: This level was built before there were level editors Are you sure? There is mention about MBuild .03 in readme. Although, there is mention about previous version of map too.

About the map: well, it's winnable, but very annoying.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 2 16 August 2014, 2:00

I like the concept, the visuals are decent, the atmosphere is kinda nice and it has a cool name. If it was fleshed out a bit, this could be a pretty cool level, but as it stands, it's rather pointless. There's also too many scrags.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 2 6 January 2015, 9:07

Really kinda interesting, it was hard deciding between 1 and 2 but I don't think there's anything wrong with the gameplay, it's just too small and kinda ugly. Could've used a few more enemies of a few more types but otherwise it's decent for a tiny 1996 map, although I don't really recommend playing it. 2/5

Noxat Registered, rated this a 2 8 July 2015, 2:39

A fairly straightforward map built around a water elevator gimmick, plays decent enough. Not much else to say really. Short and fairly forgettable.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 27 August 2016, 23:52

Shaft of the Soulless on The Quake Grave

This appears to be another one of those deathmatch maps that has monsters shoehorned into it. However I'm not completely sure that's the case?

Whatever the case may be, this one is not all that great. The idea of the water cylinder in the middle (the shaft) is interesting, but overall I don't really get the design of this map at all. I'm not really sure what the author was going for here. There are weird platforms on the edges of this cave that will take you partway up and a pentagram at the bottom that sort of renders the small amount of enemies kind of meaningless. It's just oddly laid out in general.

I don't know, I don't have a lot of positive notes on this one unfortunately.

pmk Guest 7 October 2018, 16:06

Another short and pointless 1996 quake map with a cool name. Do not recommend playing through.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in