Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sham
Author:Chris
Title:Sham
Download:sham.zip (2b08b67cb648e2124769cf7b0c1ae924)
Filesize:97 Kilobytes
Release date:22.12.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
SHAM.MAP82 KB22.12.1995
SHAM.BSP196 KB22.12.1995
SHAM.TXT3 KB22.12.1995

sham.zip

Sham

*Very* small (and very early?) wizard level. Map file is included.

Tags: brick, wizard, tiny, source, metal

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 1.8/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JorixRW 17 May 2010, 23:09
This map is the same as kuro
mfx Registered 30 April 2013, 3:00

Kuro isnt crap, but near that word.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 12 January 2014, 0:44

Err...

Quake release date: June 1996 Worldcraft release date: September 1996 Sham/Kuro (Quake map made with Worldcraft) release date (according to the info on this page): December 1995

Huh?

This http://www.quake2.com/crash/levelss.htm#sham suggests this map was released in January 1997, which would make more sense.

Also, if Kuro and Sham are the same map, why do they currently have two different editor's ratings?

Spirit Registered 15 January 2014, 21:25

Great detective work, thanks!

The ratings being different shows very good and objective our rating system is. ;)

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 16 January 2014, 0:03

No problem; glad I could be of help. :)

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 17 January 2014, 21:50

All the sleuthing made me curious actually to try this map.

It's no masterpiece, but you know that from the start – the readme describes it as “very modest, ... pretty much a test level, not really all that much worth playing, but it's still fun”, and I think that's pretty much spot-on.

You get locked into tiny spaces with tricky enemies and little room to manoeuvre. This makes it hard not to die, and most players will probably need to restart or save and reload a few times in order to get through the map. It is unfairly, sadistically difficult, and in a larger map, that would probably be truly terrible. This is, however, also very short. It is therefore perfectly serviceable as a quick challenge when, for example, you do not have the time or inclination to get into a larger, full-fledged map – which is exactly how I played it, and I had fun doing so.

And as long as you do not expect anything more, so may you.

Cocerello Registered 16 November 2014, 18:34

1996 brushwork. Decent layout. Fast paced combats in a reduced space. A bit harder than ID maps in difficulty in the first half, as long as one don't panic, the second half is way easier.

Opus131 Registered 7 June 2015, 1:53

Worth a play through but as noted this is exactly the same as Kuro and i think they should share the same rating, I.E., no more than 2.

Esrael Registered 19 January 2018, 21:31

I think the map has succeeded quite well at creating a creepy atmosphere with its few flickering lights, which were used pretty effectively in the quite imaginative end intermission, too. I'd say it's worth experiencing for the atmosphere in addition to the nice bite sized challenging gameplay.

pmk Guest 28 October 2018, 3:28

Too short not worth a play through. I would only give this map a one out of five rating since this map is pretty forgettable.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in