Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of shamsp2
Author:Shambler
Title:Warmth Of A Dying Sun
Download:shamsp2.zip (c561c7f4f5fb492e89963bedd17f21bd)
Filesize:3892 Kilobytes
Release date:24.08.2018
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/arrakisday_bk.tga559 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_dn.tga753 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_ft.tga529 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_lf.tga556 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_rt.tga507 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_up.tga199 KB06.08.2018
maps/shamsp2.bsp5017 KB24.08.2018
maps/shamsp2.lit1901 KB24.08.2018
maps/shamsp2.txt2 KB24.08.2018

shamsp2.zip

Warmth Of A Dying Sun

Medium-sized Egyptian-style level. Comes with a custom desert skybox.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, egypt, textures, skybox, limits

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4/5 with 32 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JMP Registered 15 November 2018, 18:25

This looks great: the architecture, texturing, and skybox are all superb. It's boxy by contemporary standards, but it's clean and detailed enough that I didn't even notice the boxiness the first time I played through it.

The layout is also quite nice. It's interconnected and vertical, and there's a wealth of strategically-placed secrets.

The combat is a weak link, though. It's generally spammy and there aren't any truly difficult fights. The few ambushes are all fiends jumping out from alcoves, which gets old after the 3rd or 4th time. Still, all in all an impressive map.

brunomiwa Registered 25 November 2018, 3:55

JMP said it all.

But my higlight goes for the secrets. The first two (I think they were the first) settles what kind of secrets they will be. I even rocket jumped my way in the map just to see it from a different perspective.

Secret inside a secret... well, now you are just flattering me.

Great map, with a little bit of improved difficulty, definitly would be a 5.

Gioyo3aa Registered 15 March 2019, 18:27

Great map, but make sure you use quakespasm 0.93.1 if running Linux. Version 0.92.1 crashes when you pick up the silver key.

Dutch Registered 25 November 2019, 0:03

Quakespasm / Nightmare

A solid map with nice architecture and gameplay. It's a little on the open/boxy/bland side but it is still very clean with nice curvature and texture use. Progression through the level is linear but entertaining. Well done.

MikeTaylor Registered 27 November 2019, 16:13

I'm late to this one. Really enjoyed it, and the progression of difficulty was well judged. Some of the secrets (I only found five of the twelve) were very satisfying, too. But it perhaps lacks that certain special something that's needed for the full five stars in these amazing days. It feels just a little too arbitrary, like a puzzle rather than a place.

Text_Fish Registered 4 May 2020, 23:14

Visually pleasing if not revolutionary. 20-odd years later and I still love seeing a curvy corner in Quake 1. I enjoyed the sun at the end, it's always satisfying to see vanilla assets cleverly repurposed.

In terms of gameplay I found the combat went through three stages. The first was lacklustre and too open -- would have benefited from some well placed trigger_monsterjump's, and some better player leading. As it was, it was too easy to just run from room to room and let Quake's ageing AI fail. The second third of the combat was the best as the arena got a bit tighter and forced the player to tackle enemies at close range. Unfortunately the final act went downhill again, with a lot of enemies spawning with their backs to the player, or at distances that rendered them unthreatening, especially when you're armed with a rocket launcher.

I only found a few secrets, but I enjoyed the jump puzzle to find a secret within a secret. I feel like the ring of shadows secret could have been placed a lot earlier to benefit later stage combat. It should be noted for Quake purists that a lot of the secrets contain enemies, so you will need to find them to get 100% kills.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in