Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of shamsp2
Author:Shambler
Title:Warmth Of A Dying Sun
Download:shamsp2.zip (c561c7f4f5fb492e89963bedd17f21bd)
Filesize:3892 Kilobytes
Release date:24.08.2018
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/arrakisday_bk.tga559 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_dn.tga753 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_ft.tga529 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_lf.tga556 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_rt.tga507 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/arrakisday_up.tga199 KB06.08.2018
maps/shamsp2.bsp5017 KB24.08.2018
maps/shamsp2.lit1901 KB24.08.2018
maps/shamsp2.txt2 KB24.08.2018

shamsp2.zip - Warmth Of A Dying Sun

Medium-sized Egyptian-style level. Comes with a custom desert skybox.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, egypt, textures, skybox, limits

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JMP Registered, rated this a 4 15 November 2018, 18:25

This looks great: the architecture, texturing, and skybox are all superb. It's boxy by contemporary standards, but it's clean and detailed enough that I didn't even notice the boxiness the first time I played through it.

The layout is also quite nice. It's interconnected and vertical, and there's a wealth of strategically-placed secrets.

The combat is a weak link, though. It's generally spammy and there aren't any truly difficult fights. The few ambushes are all fiends jumping out from alcoves, which gets old after the 3rd or 4th time. Still, all in all an impressive map.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 25 November 2018, 3:55

JMP said it all.

But my higlight goes for the secrets. The first two (I think they were the first) settles what kind of secrets they will be. I even rocket jumped my way in the map just to see it from a different perspective.

Secret inside a secret... well, now you are just flattering me.

Great map, with a little bit of improved difficulty, definitly would be a 5.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 4 15 March 2019, 18:27

Great map, but make sure you use quakespasm 0.93.1 if running Linux. Version 0.92.1 crashes when you pick up the silver key.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in