Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of shkeep
Author:Glenn French
Title:Shadow Keep
Download:shkeep.zip (8d6366f34b8964a196cd70ae57025115)
Filesize:337 Kilobytes
Release date:18.09.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
SHKEEP.TXT2 KB18.09.1996
SHKEEP.BSP755 KB18.09.1996

shkeep.zip

Shadow Keep

Very small Wizard map with a water area.

Tags: tiny, wizard, mandatory secret

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating:
2.5/5 with 26 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Qmaster Registered 25 February 2013, 2:07
You know this isn't half bad! It reminded me of some of my early maps when I was first learning. I like it.
Cocerello Registered 15 December 2013, 13:39

If don't use the teleport to get to the LG, keep in mind that the first SK is in a hard to find secret room.

dBAudio Registered 19 February 2014, 11:41

the gameplay was ok.

xDDGx Registered 12 June 2014, 14:54

Pretty nice map, especially, the look. Although, there are some gameplay problems (secret teleport to get to silver key; enemies attacking player just after spawn).

ArrrCee Registered 27 June 2014, 4:33

Honestly, what's the deal with the silver key? Otherwise this is a pretty decent map! SHKEEP!! Watch me play it here: Shadow Keep on The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered 16 August 2014, 8:55

It's decent. It looks decent for 1996, and the gameplay is decent. Decent, decent, decent. Anyway...

The combat is alright, not too hard or easy. It knows to give you certain weapons before certain things (SNG before Shamblers, grenade launcher before zombies). It's kinda annoying that the silver key (which is required to beat the map) is in a secret, you shouldn't put vital items in secrets. Other than that, it's not too bad. Give it a try, you might like it and you might not.

JellyGal Registered 16 August 2014, 8:56

Also, I agree with ArrrCee, "shkeep" is pretty fun to say out loud.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered 6 January 2015, 12:48

Shkeep shkeep shkeep.

Definitely better than most first maps from 1996, especially in looks. The combat's pretty alright but not challenging at all. It looks rather good, though, I really like the first room. The only thing that keeps me from giving it 3 is the silver key. So you jump into the water in the first room (shown in the picture) and the next door tells you to find the silver key. But it's nowhere to be found in the two rooms available. The silver key is actually in an annoyingly obscure secret that I only found by jumping about like an idiot. The problem, though (apart from the key being in a fricking secret), is that you can't get back up out of the water without noclip... that's just bad design. 2/5

Noxat Registered 9 July 2015, 2:54

The layout feels a bit cobbled together with some strange pacing and flow, but there was some occasionally intense combat and nice visuals. Overall fairly decent.

JMP Registered 22 November 2016, 1:42

It's weird and incoherent but fun to play.

Esrael Registered 1 July 2017, 14:33

I agree with the Insane Milkman; the silver key sealed the deal with a 2/5 rating on an otherwise solid 3/5 map.

I was reminded of certain Doom 1-2 maps by that one part near the end where you had to walk on a narrow beam, something not too often featured in Quake maps. It was kinda cool, especially, since it didn't overstay its welcome!

pmk Guest 9 October 2018, 19:03

strange constructed map where to progress you have to find the silver key in a strange secret area. I honestly didn't care for this map and there are other better maps to play. Would not recommend with a 1 out of 5 rating from me.

Anoobis Registered 27 September 2020, 5:09

"Definitely better than most first maps from 1996" 'because I said so.'

Well anyway it was a thoughtful map but slightly cryptic.

Ninja Registered 30 September 2020, 17:44

This map was way to easy, jumped thru secret glass, as seen in pic,straight away killed some baddies, wall opening opened, grabbed blue key, run down some stairs, dark corridor, killed a baddie, and in corridor another room opens, with gold key, open goor in corridor that gold key did, and straight to exit, omly needed to kill 17 out of 40 something, didnt need to use sk.

Gila Registered 30 October 2020, 11:28

It's somewhat Sandy Petersen-ish.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in