Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of shkeep
Author:Glenn French
Title:Shadow Keep
Download:shkeep.zip (8d6366f34b8964a196cd70ae57025115)
Filesize:337 Kilobytes
Release date:18.09.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
SHKEEP.TXT2 KB18.09.1996
SHKEEP.BSP755 KB18.09.1996

shkeep.zip - Shadow Keep

Very small Wizard map with a water area.

Tags: tiny, wizard

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.8/5 with 16 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Qmaster Registered, rated this a 3 25 February 2013, 2:07
You know this isn't half bad! It reminded me of some of my early maps when I was first learning. I like it.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 15 December 2013, 13:39

If don't use the teleport to get to the LG, keep in mind that the first SK is in a hard to find secret room.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 19 February 2014, 11:41

the gameplay was ok.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 12 June 2014, 14:54

Pretty nice map, especially, the look. Although, there are some gameplay problems (secret teleport to get to silver key; enemies attacking player just after spawn).

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 27 June 2014, 4:33

Honestly, what's the deal with the silver key? Otherwise this is a pretty decent map! SHKEEP!! Watch me play it here: Shadow Keep on The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 16 August 2014, 8:55

It's decent. It looks decent for 1996, and the gameplay is decent. Decent, decent, decent. Anyway...

The combat is alright, not too hard or easy. It knows to give you certain weapons before certain things (SNG before Shamblers, grenade launcher before zombies). It's kinda annoying that the silver key (which is required to beat the map) is in a secret, you shouldn't put vital items in secrets. Other than that, it's not too bad. Give it a try, you might like it and you might not.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 16 August 2014, 8:56

Also, I agree with ArrrCee, "shkeep" is pretty fun to say out loud.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 2 6 January 2015, 12:48

Shkeep shkeep shkeep.

Definitely better than most first maps from 1996, especially in looks. The combat's pretty alright but not challenging at all. It looks rather good, though, I really like the first room. The only thing that keeps me from giving it 3 is the silver key. So you jump into the water in the first room (shown in the picture) and the next door tells you to find the silver key. But it's nowhere to be found in the two rooms available. The silver key is actually in an annoyingly obscure secret that I only found by jumping about like an idiot. The problem, though (apart from the key being in a fricking secret), is that you can't get back up out of the water without noclip... that's just bad design. 2/5

Noxat Registered, rated this a 3 9 July 2015, 2:54

The layout feels a bit cobbled together with some strange pacing and flow, but there was some occasionally intense combat and nice visuals. Overall fairly decent.

JMP Registered, rated this a 2 22 November 2016, 1:42

It's weird and incoherent but fun to play.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 1 July 2017, 14:33

I agree with the Insane Milkman; the silver key sealed the deal with a 2/5 rating on an otherwise solid 3/5 map.

I was reminded of certain Doom 1-2 maps by that one part near the end where you had to walk on a narrow beam, something not too often featured in Quake maps. It was kinda cool, especially, since it didn't overstay its welcome!

pmk Guest 9 October 2018, 19:03

strange constructed map where to progress you have to find the silver key in a strange secret area. I honestly didn't care for this map and there are other better maps to play. Would not recommend with a 1 out of 5 rating from me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in