Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sinister625
Author:DragonsForLunch, Entsoy, Heresy, Mazu, Naitelveni, Newhouse, PalmliX, Qmaster, RadiatorYang, Rooster
Title:Sinister 625
Download:sinister625.zip (40c58f0eaddbee4ba2ab1719d1610e60)
Filesize:93493 Kilobytes
Release date:22.06.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardUpdated version
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sinister625/credits/progs_dump-devkit-readme.txt6 KB28.12.2020
sinister625/credits/sinister625_dfl.txt2 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/credits/sinister625_entsoy.txt1 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/credits/sinister625_hcm.txt2 KB11.06.2021
sinister625/credits/sinister625_heresy.txt2 KB14.06.2021
sinister625/credits/sinister625_naitelveni.txt2 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/credits/sinister625_newhouse.txt1 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/credits/sinister625_palmlix.txt2 KB20.06.2021
sinister625/credits/sinister625_radiatoryang.txt3 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/credits/sinister625_rooster.txt2 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/d4sky02_bk.tga3139 KB20.11.2019
sinister625/gfx/env/d4sky02_dn.tga2654 KB20.11.2019
sinister625/gfx/env/d4sky02_ft.tga3140 KB20.11.2019
sinister625/gfx/env/d4sky02_lf.tga3201 KB20.11.2019
sinister625/gfx/env/d4sky02_rt.tga3131 KB20.11.2019
sinister625/gfx/env/d4sky02_up.tga2995 KB20.11.2019
sinister625/gfx/env/eaglesdare180b_bk.tga769 KB01.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/eaglesdare180b_dn.tga769 KB01.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/eaglesdare180b_ft.tga769 KB01.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/eaglesdare180b_lf.tga769 KB01.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/eaglesdare180b_rt.tga769 KB01.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/eaglesdare180b_up.tga769 KB01.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/jajdarkland1_bk.tga769 KB31.12.2003
sinister625/gfx/env/jajdarkland1_dn.tga769 KB31.12.2003
sinister625/gfx/env/jajdarkland1_ft.tga769 KB31.12.2003
sinister625/gfx/env/jajdarkland1_lf.tga769 KB31.12.2003
sinister625/gfx/env/jajdarkland1_rt.tga769 KB31.12.2003
sinister625/gfx/env/jajdarkland1_up.tga769 KB31.12.2003
sinister625/gfx/env/roostsky12_bk.tga3073 KB05.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/roostsky12_dn.tga4097 KB05.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/roostsky12_ft.tga3073 KB05.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/roostsky12_lf.tga3073 KB05.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/roostsky12_rt.tga3073 KB05.06.2021
sinister625/gfx/env/roostsky12_up.tga4097 KB05.06.2021
sinister625/maps/debris/brick01.bsp8 KB11.01.2019
sinister625/maps/debris/wood1.bsp8 KB11.03.2019
sinister625/maps/sinister625_dfl.bsp2502 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_dfl.lit1746 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_entsoy.bsp4105 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_entsoy.lit808 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_hcm.bsp4857 KB09.04.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_hcm.lit2777 KB09.04.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_heresy.bsp9682 KB14.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_heresy.lit2475 KB14.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_naitelveni.bsp10438 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_naitelveni.lit4089 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_newhouse.bsp2373 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_newhouse.lit1810 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_palmlix.bsp16624 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_palmlix.lit14566 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_radiatoryang.bsp6347 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_radiatoryang.lit2395 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_rooster.bsp2440 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/maps/sinister625_rooster.lit1369 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/maps/start.bsp6609 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/maps/start.lit5498 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/autosave/sinister625_heresy.1.map13159 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_dfl.map2220 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_entsoy.map2043 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_hcm.map5414 KB09.04.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_heresy.map13159 KB14.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_naitelveni.map6565 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_newhouse.map1222 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_palmlix.map3197 KB20.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_radiatoryang.map1089 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/mapsrc/sinister625_rooster.map698 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/music/track14.ogg15859 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/music/track30.mp33159 KB17.06.2021
sinister625/music/track30.ogg3102 KB17.06.2021
sinister625/music/track31.mp3800 KB17.06.2021
sinister625/music/track31.ogg265 KB17.06.2021
sinister625/music/track32.mp31499 KB15.06.2021
sinister625/music/track32.ogg1693 KB15.06.2021
sinister625/music/track33.mp32168 KB15.06.2021
sinister625/music/track33.ogg1494 KB15.06.2021
sinister625/music/track34.mp349 KB08.06.2021
sinister625/music/track34.ogg53 KB08.06.2021
sinister625/music/track35.mp32012 KB17.06.2021
sinister625/music/track35.ogg1911 KB17.06.2021
sinister625/music/track70.mp37232 KB19.06.2021
sinister625/particles/fte_weather.cfg3 KB01.06.2021
sinister625/particles/particlefont.tga4097 KB06.08.2020
sinister625/particles/particlefont.txt10 KB06.08.2020
sinister625/particles/radiator_weather.cfg3 KB02.06.2021
sinister625/progs.dat615 KB30.12.2020
sinister625/progs/a_mdls/m_cells1.mdl4 KB13.12.2020
sinister625/progs/a_mdls/m_cells2.mdl5 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/progs/a_mdls/m_nails1.mdl4 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/progs/a_mdls/m_nails2.mdl5 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/progs/a_mdls/m_rock1.mdl4 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/progs/a_mdls/m_rock2.mdl5 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/progs/a_mdls/m_shell1.mdl4 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/progs/a_mdls/m_shell2.mdl5 KB13.12.2020
sinister625/progs/candle.mdl24 KB10.10.2018
sinister625/progs/debris.mdl265 KB06.11.2019
sinister625/progs/enforcer.mdl462 KB24.12.2020
sinister625/progs/g_shotgn.mdl25 KB17.05.2019
sinister625/progs/g_shotty.mdl23 KB17.05.2019
sinister625/progs/h_boss.mdl63 KB02.02.2020
sinister625/progs/h_mdls/m_h100.mdl18 KB13.12.2020
sinister625/progs/h_mdls/m_h15.mdl4 KB13.12.2020
sinister625/progs/h_mdls/m_h25.mdl15 KB14.12.2020
sinister625/progs/h_mdls/pd_vial.mdl24 KB15.12.2020
sinister625/progs/h_ogre.mdl42 KB26.12.2020
sinister625/progs/lspike.mdl2 KB17.11.2020
sinister625/progs/mervup.mdl33 KB06.06.2020
sinister625/progs/ogre.mdl309 KB26.12.2020
sinister625/progs/pd_armor_sh.mdl31 KB12.12.2020
sinister625/progs/pd_base_key.mdl21 KB15.11.2019
sinister625/progs/pd_bpack.mdl212 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/progs/pd_rune_key.mdl46 KB15.11.2019
sinister625/progs/pd_wiz_key.mdl22 KB15.11.2019
sinister625/progs/s_flame.spr29 KB01.10.2018
sinister625/progs/s_null.spr2 KB03.10.2019
sinister625/progs/soldier.mdl314 KB24.12.2020
sinister625/progs/spark.mdl10 KB03.06.2019
sinister625/progs/spike.mdl5 KB23.11.2020
sinister625/progs/visor.mdl462 KB18.06.2021
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/LICENSE18 KB12.01.2019
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/README.md1 KB13.08.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/ai.qc16 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/boss.qc14 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/boss2.qc16 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/buttons.qc4 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/changelog.txt10 KB30.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/client.qc42 KB07.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/combat.qc8 KB07.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/custom_mdls.qc3 KB18.09.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/customsounds.qc6 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/cutscene.qc30 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/defs.qc25 KB19.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/demon.qc15 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/doelightning.qc5 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/doeplats.qc15 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/dog.qc14 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/doors.qc18 KB18.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/dtmisc.qc30 KB30.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/dtquake.qc3 KB27.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/elevatr.qc4 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/enforcer.qc25 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/fight.qc8 KB12.01.2019
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/fish.qc12 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/func_bob.qc6 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/func_fall2.qc6 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/hipcount.qc6 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/hippart.qc8 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/hiptrig.qc7 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/hknight.qc24 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/items.qc67 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/keydata.qc6 KB13.08.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/keylock.qc6 KB13.08.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/knight.qc15 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/lights.qc16 KB18.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/math.qc2 KB12.01.2019
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/misc.qc39 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/misc_model.qc2 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/mobot.qc14 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/monsters.qc10 KB17.10.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/newflags.qc6 KB16.09.2019
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/ogre.qc39 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/oldone.qc11 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/oldone2.qc15 KB27.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/pd_200.def145 KB30.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/pd_200_JACK.fgd109 KB30.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/pd_200_TB.fgd113 KB30.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/pd_200_TB_custom_mdls.fgd118 KB30.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/plats.qc14 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/player.qc21 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/progs.src2 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/rotate.qc31 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/rubicon2.qc28 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/shalrath.qc13 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/shambler.qc18 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/soldier.qc19 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/subs.qc14 KB17.10.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/tarbaby.qc10 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/triggers.qc39 KB07.11.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/weapons.qc38 KB18.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/wizard.qc16 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/world.qc21 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/progs_dumpsrc/zombie.qc33 KB21.12.2020
sinister625/readme.txt1 KB21.06.2021
sinister625/sound/break/pd_bricks1.wav61 KB27.03.2019
sinister625/sound/break/pd_metal1.wav44 KB27.03.2019
sinister625/sound/break/pd_metal2.wav70 KB27.03.2019
sinister625/sound/break/pd_stones1.wav74 KB27.03.2019
sinister625/sound/break/pd_wood1.wav34 KB27.03.2019
sinister625/sound/break/pd_wood2.wav33 KB27.03.2019
sinister625/sound/dump/elec22k.wav81 KB28.05.2019
sinister625/sound/dump/pd_armor1_sh.wav13 KB04.12.2020
sinister625/sound/dump/pd_magic_01.wav123 KB11.12.2020
sinister625/sound/dump/pd_quake_end.wav37 KB28.11.2020
sinister625/sound/dump/pd_quake_full.wav153 KB28.11.2020
sinister625/sound/dump/pd_quake_loop1.wav157 KB28.11.2020
sinister625/sound/dump/rumble.wav52 KB31.05.2019
sinister625/sound/dump/spark.wav15 KB03.06.2019
sinister625/sound/dump/water_59_02.wav40 KB27.12.2020
sinister625/sound/oldone2/pd_pop2.wav42 KB02.01.2020
sinister625/sound/palmlix/dwoosh.wav89 KB16.06.2021
sinister625/sound/palmlix/ewoosh1.wav30 KB16.06.2021
sinister625/sound/palmlix/woosh2.wav34 KB06.06.2021
sinister625/sound/visor/vdeath.wav65 KB21.11.1999
sinister625/sound/visor/vfire.wav82 KB21.11.1999
sinister625/sound/visor/vpain.wav32 KB21.11.1999
sinister625/sound/visor/vtaunt.wav109 KB21.11.1999
sinister625/wad/sinister625_palmlix.wad453 KB27.04.2021

sinister625.zip

Sinister 625

Community mapping event in celebration of Quake's 25th anniversary: nine large levels in varying themes + a starting hub, all following the "625" rule of using only six different textures (6 for June), featuring two surprises and five enemy types (2 and 5 for 25 years of Quake). They run on the Progs_dump mod (included) and come with additional sounds, models, skyboxes and music tracks in two formats. The map and qc sources are included.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.
An updated version is available here.


Tags: large, episode, egypt, metal, base, makkon, dungeon, temple, progs_dump, limits, bsp2, source, hard

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
h3xx Registered, rated this a 3 5 July 2021, 9:31

I felt that sinister625dfl, sinister625hcm, sinister625newhouse (at times), and sinister625rooster all had much too little ammo for the level to feel even remotely fair.

sinister625_hcm. Oh man, what a level. I completed this in 87:19 and I felt insane the entire time. What a pain in the butt. Besides running out of ammo about a dozen times, nearly all of the ogres were placed so they really mess up your day. I liked the homage to doom, but disliked the platform part over acid needed to get to it. Overall: unnecessarily hard.

sinister625_entsoy didn't feel fair either, both for lack of ammo and the excruciating underwater double shambler fight. Like *how* am I supposed to do this?

sinister625radiatoryang was neat. So was sinister625palmlix.

A lot of the levels in this pack are extremely hard. I can tell that level took a looong time to make and I applaud all the map makers' efforts.

stoo Guest 7 July 2021, 22:51

@h3xx I thought rooster's map had far too little ammo until I realised that there were backpacks filled with ammo that appeared next to the entrance/exit portal when you get a rune. Before that the map felt basically impossible. With the backpacks it was easily doable.

stoo Guest 8 July 2021, 20:00

entsoy's map is.. eh.. largely skippable.

qazzaq Registered, rated this a 4 9 July 2021, 16:31

... two weeks later. Still playing Mazu's map. He just taunts us :)

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 5 13 July 2021, 21:38

This is nice.

This is very nice.

Thank you, and happy aniversary!

metalliqaz Registered, rated this a 5 6 September 2021, 17:54

RadiatorYang's map is one of my all time favorites. It looks great and I love how it moves between enclosed battles and wide open battles. So much fun.

aoanla Guest 6 October 2021, 21:21

So: as always, Mazu makes his maps both awesome (I especially liked the gun turrets) and also far too hard to be really enjoyable past a certain point. (One of the hordes has, amongst other things, 2 shamblers in it, at skill 0. This is just silly. Eventually I just checked out of taking it seriously and godmoded through the rest.)

Similarly for En Stoy, it looks lovely, but I just can't do what the map wants me to do consistently. I died 7 times in a row just about 30 seconds in from the killfloor.

I liked Naitelveni's map, although I think I was "tricked" by what looked like a secret and then wasn't? But this was one of my favourite maps in general in the pack.

I also liked radiatoryang's (full marks for music), although I got stuck a few times.

But everyone is right that by far the most impressive map is Palmlix's - it gets a lot of noneuclidean weirdness out of clever triggers and lighting effects, and is something I'd like to see more of in Quake maps in future.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 22 November 2021, 16:06

Rust in Circles by Hardcore Mazu is a superb piece of work: long, complicated, and with many many brutally difficult combats. Over and over, I had to keep trying the same fights repeatedly until I found a way to win. For much of the map, ammo starvation is an issue -- not just at the start -- and at one point I was reduced to killing a shambler with grenades because I was out of shells and nails. But at the same time, it rarely feels straight-up unfair. When I made it to the finish line with 529/537 kills and 17/30 secrets, I felt properly pleased with myself. I'm going to go ahead and score this pack five stars because RiC alone is well worth that.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 23 November 2021, 12:05

Daughter Drink This Water by radiatoryang is that rarest of things, something completely new in Quake, a quarter-century after the initial release. The way the landscape repeatedly crumbles to open up more of the map is both beautiful and effective as a gameplay mechanic, offering interestingly new kinds of combats. And it helps that the whole thing is beautiful, with a distinctively chilly sci-fi aesthetic. Five stars!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 24 November 2021, 11:33

Newhouse's Temple of Taki v1 is another map that is interestingly different, though to my mind not so wholly successful as Daughter Drink This Water. It takes place mostly in a claustrophobic underground setting with a lot of powerful monsters but also plenty of high-end ammo and lots of power-ups. One section in particular would be flatly impossible to complete without both the pent and the quad -- woe betide anyone who misses the sort-of-secret pentagram when 60 or so death-knights materialise all at once! Progression is a bit random, but there are plenty of fun set pieces along the way.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 24 November 2021, 11:39

I Hate Sand by DragonsForLunch is an enjoyable journey through an Egyptian tomb, but suffers a bit from all the areas looking very similar, so it's easy to lose track of where you are. It was actually the first map I played from this pack, and I felt it was a really solid start -- but there is no doubt it's surpassed by some of the maps that have come after it.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 24 November 2021, 12:14

Rooster's The Sore is another lovely level, a perfect example of the kind of thing it is: a hub map where you can take several subquests in any order to obtain the four runes, and then a boss-fight to finish. It's not big, but it's full of interesting and atmospheric areas, and it invites careful exploration with satisfying results.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 25 November 2021, 11:43

Heresy's Nail Release is a very strange map: absolutely beautiful architecture, very detailed and atmospheric -- but sometimes disappointing gameplay and a very anticlimactic ending where you're given infinite nails to kill off a series of monsters that you can take on one at a time. I feel like a much better game could have been made in that gorgeous setting.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 25 November 2021, 11:45

I was just getting into Naitelveni's When you have to fight for an existence, fighting can become an existence, a lovely level set on a floating techno-castle, with a massive 759 kills ... When suddenly it was over. The last 500 or so kills come all at once in a situation that is very satisfying to play, but which is also kind of disappointing in that the fun comes to an end much more quickly than expected. Still well worth playing, but I feel it sort of makes promises that it doesn't keep.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 25 November 2021, 15:58

It That Betrays, by Entsoy, is a strange hybrid of two very different maps. The first, I like very much: it's a crawl around the outside of a floating fortress in deep murk, with lots of ambushes. The second, I didn't enjoy at all: a mostly-underwater maze full of zombies. A rare example of a map that would better if it finished half way through.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 25 November 2021, 16:28

And so finally we come to The Dead Room by Palmlix. I admire what's being attempted here, and indeed what's being achieved. But in the end, I'm just stuck, and that's never fun. Shortly after the second group of zombies, with 42 of the 114 kills, I just don't seem to have anywhere new to go -- despite having run around all the available areas in all possible directions. So with a reluctant shrug, I am moving on. C'est magnifique, mais ce n'est pas le Quake.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in