Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sleepgate
Author:SgtStabStabs
Title:Enter Sleepgate
Download:sleepgate.zip (cf2c0852cf6355f0f1ed7f648a0876ec)
Filesize:3734 Kilobytes
Release date:01.10.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
SLEEPGATE.txt2 KB01.10.2017
sleepgate.bsp6930 KB01.10.2017
sleepgate.lit1768 KB01.10.2017

sleepgate.zip - Enter Sleepgate

Medium-sized base map.

Note: This map requires Quoth.


Tags: medium, base, quoth, realism, quake2, textures

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 15 October 2017, 16:17

Enter Sleep on The Quake Grave

A very impressive map for someones first Quake release! It's a cool base map with a lot of different things going on, almost wish it was an episode that dove deeper into SgtStabs idea of a Nightmarish slipgate!

qekko Registered, rated this a 3 29 October 2017, 12:28

This sci-fi facility setting show some interesting ideas, which don't hold much in Quake -standards. Highlights are outside areas, where realistic brush- and texture work shines, ( I am loving those blinds), but work loses in other places. Some texture and brush placements look ugly and too complex, especially in wall electronics. When using shrinked and expanded textures in the same place, it makes an ugly and confusing contrast between them. Geometry is "fine-grained", and makes moving and progressing too strict for fast-paced Quake. The player doesn't have enough ammo to the last battle and seems that only way to win is telefrag, what is an interesting idea, but the execution is boring.

Repus Guest 29 December 2017, 19:29

What a triumph of simplicity, plain architecture and ugly textures!

Some new models reminded me some 8-bit Sinclair ZX-Spectrum games I played back in the early 90's. With the important difference that there were some 2D games in fact much more interesting than this 3D level! The new sounds are as rough as metal scratching on rusty metal.

What a boring, straight forward, tasteless and deeply disappointing level! Don't play it, even if you're a big fan of base levels.

mukor Registered 30 December 2017, 1:39

Repus, this map doesnt contain any new sounds or .mdls, did you perhaps mean to leave a review for something else?

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 5 January 2018, 12:19

This is very good for a first map. I like the texturing, and the it feels like a realistic military base--well, as realistic as a computer game can get. The map has a definite sense of place.

On the other hand, I found the progression to be unclear sometimes, and likewise the architecture is cramped/sticky in some places. My impression is that "SgtStabStabs" spent a lot of time crafting a realistic atmosphere, occasionally to the gameplay's detriment.

Defintely worth playing, and I hope the author keeps mapping.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 6 January 2018, 14:25

End of the map is very hard without secrets, I even cant use cells. And secrets are really strange, I taped all the walls in front of the last room with an ax, but I did not find anything. With noclip I saw, that pulse gun can be opened by shooting very small button. This is too vicious in relation to the player. But visual style of tech level is good.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 18 January 2018, 11:02

I enjoyed the first half to two thirds of this enormously, and it must surely rank among the very best base maps by a first-timer. But the last part fell away slightly, and I found the ending rather anti-climactic. I wasn't expecting the level to suddenly end as soon as I walked onto the couch thing in the cage. Still, I finished with all 101 kills -- which is always satisfying. My usual meagre haul of only 2 secrets (of 7) meant that I never got to use all my cells -- having that weapon would certainly have made the final round of combats easier!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in