Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sm104_pack
Author:Voodoochopstiks, Drew, generic, Hrimfaxi, neg!ke, Tron
Title:Speedmapping pack 104 - Secret Maps
Download:sm104_pack.zip (e2d2d3229b0dbfe55e395517beec0543)
Filesize:1764 Kilobytes
Release date:19.09.2005
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm104_pack.txt2 KB22.03.2004
sm104_drew.bsp833 KB17.09.2005
sm104_chop.bsp703 KB21.03.2004
sm104_tron.bsp376 KB19.09.2005
sm104_tron.txt1 KB19.09.2005
sm104_hrim.bsp1443 KB18.09.2005
sm104_neg!ke.bsp532 KB17.09.2005
sm104_generic.bsp619 KB20.03.2004

sm104_pack.zip - Speedmapping pack 104 - Secret Maps

Secret maps / 6 SP maps / Voodoochopstiks, Drew, generic, Hrimfaxi, neg!ke, Tron

Tags: secrets, hard, puzzles
User Rating: 3.7/5 with 6 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Qmaster Registered, rated this a 3 8 November 2012, 0:33
hrim's, negke's, and tron's were 4/5. The rest was pretty lame.
Icantthinkofanickname Registered 29 January 2014, 20:13

I disagree; these are all really good maps (with Hrimfaxi's and negke's maps being a notch or two above the rest). This is the most consistently high quality I have seen in a speedmap pack so far. What is really amazing is how well-thought-out the puzzles/secrets are. Most of them manage to strike that fine balance between overly easy and frustratingly hard – something which regular maps rarely pull off this well.

sm104_hrim (“A saucerful of secrets.”): Absolutely astounding.

sm104_negke (“The Ebon Outpost”): Likewise: absolutely brilliant.

sm104_drew (“Booooriiiing!”): Anything but boring. Not quite as impressive as Hrimfaxi's and negke's maps, but still very nice, pretty and with entertaining on-screen messages. Contains a few optional secrets too (i.e. non-essential to progression). The very last room could perhaps have used a bit more detail (as the on-screen message seems to acknowledge).

sm104_generic (“Backdoor Base”): A simpler, smaller map than the three above, but also very nice.

sm104_chop (“Strangest journey”): The puzzles were perhaps a little more obvious than in the four maps above, but they were quite varied in nature, and the map is very unique in terms of both looks and atmosphere – the latter in part thanks to the complete absence of monsters, which somehow enhanced the abstract ambience.

sm104_tron (no title): Also fairly unusual in appearance and interesting, though my least favourite. Not sure if I did everything correctly, as I had to rocket jump at one point – perhaps there is a different and better route?


In short: highly recommended – provided you enjoy secret-hunting and puzzles, of course.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 13 August 2014, 10:44

i concur with icantthinkonanickname's assessments. as a whole, 3/5. neg!ke and Hrimfaxi's maps stand out both in gameplay & secrets to me, and i'd rate them 4/5 individually.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 13 April 2015, 18:34

I think this pack has the least informative screenshot I've seen :-)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 April 2015, 13:27

Drew's Booooriiiing! is, as Icantthinkofanickname rightly notes, interesting. It pitches its secrets just right, so that it makes me feel clever for having found them. (Sometimes I think game designers can forget that the purpose of a game is to make players happy!) Although progression is mostly by finding secrets, I somehow finished with only 5/6, and just 15/17 kills -- so I guess I missed an optional side-secret that contained two monsters. Very enjoyable, and well worth 3* as a standalone.

Voodoochopskiks's Strangest Journey is less satisfying. I found the first puzzle arbitrary, the second mundane, the third obvious, the maze unsurprising and the end anticlimactic. Because there are no monsters and no official secrets, it's impossible to tell how far through the map you are. Only 1* for me.

Tron's unnamed level is better, for my money. [Note: please, please, level designers: name your levels. It takes, what, 20 seconds?] The combats are tough but doable (on hard) and it's an interesting novelty to be forced to use rockets on shamblers. Like Icantthinkofanickname, I had to rocket-jump to get up to the level above where the shamblers had been. Has anyone found a better way? I rate this as a 2* map, partly because of the apparent need for a rocket-jump.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 April 2015, 15:46

In Generic's Backdoor Base, I can't get past the first door that leads to the room with the transporter, field and scrag. What am I missing?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 April 2015, 15:51

Similarly, in Negke's Ebon Outpost I'm stuck at the start: having killed the fish and ogres, I can't see what else to do. Hint, anyone?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 April 2015, 15:52

... oh. got it. The Negke one. Still stuck in Backdoor Base, though.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 April 2015, 16:14

Yes, Negke's map is delicious -- a really well-tuned challenge. My only quibble with it is that I would really have appreciated a secret-count that racked up along the way, to give some sense of progress.

I finished with only 47 of 57 available kills (on hard) despite killing everything I saw. Has anyone found the ten elusive monsters?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 April 2015, 11:52

Forgot to say, I'll award 4* for The Ebon Outpost.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 April 2015, 11:55

And finally. Hrimfaxi's Saucerful of Secrets would be a 5* map even without the bonus point for the Pink Floyd reference. Lovely progression (measurable in both kills and secrets), enjoyable combats, well constructed scenery, and some nice surprises. Well, nasty surprises, but I enjoyed them. Superb work, and really does not deserve to be buried in an overlook SpeedMap pack.

I've not awarded Backdoor Base a mark, as I've not got far enough into it to warrant scoring -- see above. (Anyone want to tip me off?) That means that the five marks I've awarded were 3, 1, 2, 4 and 5. Overall, I think this pack merits the full five stars, and I'm delighted to have discovered it.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 April 2015, 11:55

And finally. Hrimfaxi's Saucerful of Secrets would be a 5* map even without the bonus point for the Pink Floyd reference. Lovely progression (measurable in both kills and secrets), enjoyable combats, well constructed scenery, and some nice surprises. Well, nasty surprises, but I enjoyed them. Superb work, and really does not deserve to be buried in an overlook SpeedMap pack.

I've not awarded Backdoor Base a mark, as I've not got far enough into it to warrant scoring -- see above. (Anyone want to tip me off?) That means that the five marks I've awarded were 3, 1, 2, 4 and 5. Overall, I think this pack merits the full five stars, and I'm delighted to have discovered it.

Hrimfaxi Registered 16 April 2015, 12:00

Mike Taylor, in Backdoor Base, when you reach the door with a look into the room with the slipgate, you have to go back around the corner and shoot a yellow button in the celing. That will lower the floor in front of the door!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 16 April 2015, 13:19

Thanks, Hrimfaxi! Having got that button, I was able to complete the rest of Backdoor Base pretty easily. The best part, I think, is the false ending. I guess I'd rate that as a 2* map. But the rating for the pack as a whole remains at 5*.

Hrimfaxi Registered 16 April 2015, 18:05

Mike Taylor. I forgot you asked why you finished with only 47 of 57 available kills (on hard) in Negke's map. I think it is the old fish bug in the ordinary Quake progs.dat, where fish are counted twice, and since I think there are 10 fish in the map, that will account for the missing 10 kills. To avoid this bug you must get a progs.dat with this fixed. I can't tell you where to get one right now but will return if I find a site that have it. else you can try to google after one.

negke Registered 16 April 2015, 18:17

Yes, it's the fish count bug. Here is a fix: http://quaketastic.com/files/misc/q106fishfix.zip

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 16 April 2015, 22:43

Excellent, thanks!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in