Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Author:Aardappel, Apollo, Cybear, Damaul, Misyu
Title:Speedmapping pack 10 - Unthemed
Download:sm10_pack.zip (a135ab9bcb0db8e04dc0a6afc1ce52ec)
Filesize:973 Kilobytes
Release date:29.04.2001
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm10_pack.txt3 KB29.04.2001
sm10_misyu.bsp223 KB27.04.2001
sm10_aard.bsp977 KB27.04.2001
sm10_ap.bsp466 KB27.04.2001
sm10_dam.bsp450 KB27.04.2001
sm10_bear.bsp444 KB27.04.2001

sm10_pack.zip - Speedmapping pack 10 - Unthemed

Unthemed / 5 SP maps / Aardappel, Apollo, Cybear, Damaul, Misyu
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 6 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JellyGal Registered, rated this a 5 14 August 2014, 0:58

The Wine Cellars [sm10_aard] is a nonlinear map. The only problem is that everything looks the same, so it's very easy to get lost. Apart from that, some halls of mirrors and a kinda confusing level exit, this map is pretty good. The visuals are very detailed with some nice shadow effects. The combat is pretty nice and the ammo/health distribution is fine. The shambler battle at the end is pretty easy, but kinda sastisfying too. The combat can be pretty tough, but it's also pretty fun. Definitely a nice map, especially for speedmapping.

Beep Boop [sm10_as] is another one that looks rather nice, especially for speedmapping. The combat is pretty good as well, but the map is a bit too easy due to an abundance of ammo and health. I'll admit, the door thing made me laugh, but I don't get the moon on the wall, that was really stupid. It also crashed my Quake at the end. Anyway, much like many speedmaps, it seems more like a piece of a level than a full level, but it's a rather promising piece.

Coco Castle [sm10_bear] is absolutely amazing for speedmapping. Although it is small, it feels like a complete level, not a piece of one. It has difficult and tight combat and forces you to use many different weapons by not giving you too much ammo for anything. The visuals are decent, but the gameplay is where this map really shines. I actually can't think of any flaws at all... this one gets 5/5 in my book.

Uncle Damaul's Friday [sm10_dam] is absolutely ridiculous. The visuals are pretty good for a speedmap, and so is the mapping. The problem comes in the map's layout. It is quite obviously a total slaughterfest, with 120 enemies all placed in random places throughout the map. There's lots of ammo, but not quite enough for this style IMO. At the end, you have to fight many, many, many Shamblers that are above you, which is just tedious and not fun at all. I didn't enjoy this map. Is this what happens to poor uncle Damaul every friday?

Speedy Single [sm10_misyu] is the shortest map in the collection (at least the one that took me the shortest time to complete). It's also very linear, just shoot a few knights and scrags, kill a shambler then go through a locked door, the end. It looks alright for a speedmap, but is a bit dark. Overall, it's not really worth playing IMO.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 5 14 August 2014, 0:59

My favourite is Coco Castle, by the way.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in