Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Author:Cocerello, digs, DOOMer, FifthElephant, Scampie
Title:Speedmapping pack 175 - Koohoo's Castle
Download:sm175_pack.zip (3e71f67ccf7836de380668766fc33696)
Filesize:7037 Kilobytes
Release date:13.06.2014
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm175_5th.bsp1943 KB10.06.2014
sm175_5th.map581 KB10.06.2014
sm175_5th.txt1 KB10.06.2014
sm175_coceaa.bsp1093 KB11.06.2014
sm175_coceaa.map520 KB11.06.2014
sm175_coceaa.txt4 KB11.06.2014
sm175_coceadoe.bsp1105 KB11.06.2014
sm175_coceasoa.bsp1096 KB11.06.2014
sm175_coceb.bsp1453 KB12.06.2014
sm175_coceb.map448 KB11.06.2014
sm175_coceb.txt4 KB11.06.2014
sm175_cocebdoe.bsp1448 KB11.06.2014
sm175_cocebsoa.bsp1499 KB11.06.2014
sm175_digs.bsp1566 KB08.06.2014
sm175_doomer.bsp1328 KB09.06.2014
sm175_doomer.txt2 KB09.06.2014
sm175_pack.txt3 KB13.06.2014
sm175_scampie.bsp2503 KB08.06.2014
sm175_scampie.lit2033 KB08.06.2014

sm175_pack.zip - Speedmapping pack 175 - Koohoo's Castle

Koohoo's Castle / 6 SP maps / Cocerello, digs, DOOMer, FifthElephant, Scampie. This is the later release by sock with the maps not in a pak file, no additional media and sock's entry removed.

Note: Alternative versions of Cocerello's maps are included for use with Scorge of Armagon and Dissolution of Eternity.


Tags: hipnotic, soa, rogue, doe, heretic2, koohoo
User Rating: 3.7/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 1 19 July 2014, 17:53

NO SOCK = NO ROCK

Spirit Registered 19 July 2014, 18:27

Please take your attitude elsewhere. It might seem funny to you, but it is neither that nor encouraging anyone to map (which is what we all want, right?). This site is meant to be a nice place. Please use it accordingly.

Please think about your rating and re-apply it.

AAS Registered, rated this a 3 20 July 2014, 16:03

Anyway where is the sock's map?

AAS Registered, rated this a 3 20 July 2014, 16:28

As Shambler said he is "a massive flouncy internet drama queen gaylord" :(((

Here is full mappack link: https://mega.co.nz/#!g8BCwTaK!U9mhD2TD7vVaoh2X7c91L3OREhOjJ-pBEYfrKFx-BfA

Spirit Registered 20 July 2014, 17:09

Does not matter what Shambler said, don't talk about people like that at Quaddicted.

anon6 Guest 21 July 2014, 3:14

Why removed?

RickyT23 Guest, rated this a 5 25 July 2014, 13:47

Nice

RickyT23 Registered, rated this a 5 25 July 2014, 13:50

Rated to offset the BS rating :P

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 25 July 2014, 15:56

Beautiful work on the first map, sm175_5th (Temple of Spiteful Anguish by Fifth Elephant). It's just astonishing that this was made in a day -- the ability of modern Quake mappers is just amazing. It's a good sized level with plenty of challenging game-play, easily the equal of (say) one of the original ID levels. Toss in a couple more secrets and it would be easily worth 4* all on its own, if not 5*.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 27 July 2014, 1:17

Take into account that my second maps are a continuation of my first maps, don't play them as standalones. I challenge everyone to find the ring of invisibility. It isn't hidden, but in an unexpected place, so no one has found it till now.

I recommend Scampie's and Digs's maps.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 28 July 2014, 0:43

sm175\_digs is just as impressive in its different way as sm175_5th. Where that map is all about wide open spaces and angles of attack, this one is all claustrophic -- yet somehow, without degenerating into mere cramped corridors. Very impressive work, and again worth a solid 4* had it been a standalone map.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 28 July 2014, 1:04

sm175_doomer (Not Koohoo) is fun in its way, but suffers a bit by comparison to the previous two maps. The progression feels linear in rather a forced way, but what's much worse is the absence of that Koohoo atmosphere. It all feels too brightly lit and jolly. That said, I did enjoy the ending: it's rare that you find yourself in a situation where rockets are the appropriate tool for shamblers, and fun when it does come up! In isolation, I would probably have marked this 3*, or 2* on a bad day.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 28 July 2014, 15:29

I played sm175_coceaa and sm175_coceab together. (I've not played the Scourge of Argmagon or Dissolution of Eternity versions).

I enjoyed the first very much -- great to return to a familar place and have everything different.

The second is just insanely hard -- basically a single gigantic bunfight with way too many hard monsters (shamblers, fields, sniping vores), and nowhere near enough ammo or armour, or even any good weapons (SNG, rocket launcher and lightning gun all missing). I cheated without compunction, and even in God mode had nowhere near enough ammo to finish everyone off. I just don't see how this is fun.

So a generous 4* for the first map and 1* for the second, for an average of 2.5* which I'll round down to 2* because I found the second one such a waste of beautiful moving architecture.

(Sorry, Cocerello, to be so negative, it gives me no pleasure. You did some amazing work in Map B, but the absurd difficulty just means it's all wasted on me.)

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 28 July 2014, 20:07

MykeTaylor, you have to read first the text files and my comment in this page before playing the map. They are there for a reason.

You have to play the second maps after the first ones, they aren't standalone maps. The weapons you are missing in the second you have to get them from the first.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 28 July 2014, 20:11

Ops ... excuse me.

Forget my last comment, MykeTaylor, i haven't checked well what you said.

There is more than enough ammo in the second map, maybe you missed some, but yes, it is hard.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 29 July 2014, 1:59

Well, we have different definitions of "enough" :-)

But I should mention again the wondrous moving architecture in Cocerello's second map. Twice, whole huge chunks of the scenery slide and twist and reco nfigure themselves before your eyes. I only wish I had time to watch it unfold rather than being besieged by monsters. It's well worth playing the map if only to see this happen.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 29 July 2014, 2:03

Finally, Scampie's contribution has so much going on that it beggars belief that it's a speedmap. This was done in a week?! Incredible. So many set pieces, and a whole extra end-game section at the end. 5* for sure.

Which means that the pack as a whole scores a very comfortable 5* -- by far the best speedmap pack I've played, and one that everyone involved should be proud of. It's a shame, really, that these fine maps should be buried in a speedmap pack instead of having the independent life that they deserve.

BTW., what did happen to Sock's map? It looks like some comments have been removed above, no doubt for good reason, but it does leave the conversation looking a bit mysterious!

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 1 29 July 2014, 2:23

Sock published the map, bring back sm175packunfucked you terrorist!

Spirit Registered 29 July 2014, 12:12

onetruepurple, this site operates under the rule of "Be nice. Flaming or insults are not welcome and won't be tolerated.". This is your final warning.

FifthElephant Registered 15 February 2015, 20:56

I just replayed my own map (I do this sometimes)... jesus I put in a lot of spawns. I just barely was able to complete it!

Doc_Holliday Registered 1 June 2016, 9:22

Thanks for the link AAS

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in