Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Author:Danzadan, Ing-ing, ionous, ish, JCR, muk0r, Newhouse, PinchySkree, prengle, Shambler, vaf, Andrew Yoder
Title:Speedmapping pack 186 - Terracotta
Download:sm186.zip (0af3385dde07c8a3db97950d9e29646e)
Filesize:19319 Kilobytes
Release date:27.08.2018
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
_sm186_ing_sbathreadme.txt3 KB25.08.2018
gfx/env/amour_bk.tga403 KB24.02.2003
gfx/env/amour_dn.tga743 KB24.02.2003
gfx/env/amour_ft.tga597 KB24.02.2003
gfx/env/amour_lf.tga493 KB24.02.2003
gfx/env/amour_rt.tga603 KB24.02.2003
gfx/env/amour_up.tga87 KB24.02.2003
gfx/env/dragonfire.shader1 KB25.08.2018
gfx/env/dragonfire_bk.tga571 KB23.08.2018
gfx/env/dragonfire_dn.tga769 KB23.08.2018
gfx/env/dragonfire_ft.tga639 KB23.08.2018
gfx/env/dragonfire_lf.tga565 KB23.08.2018
gfx/env/dragonfire_rt.tga724 KB23.08.2018
gfx/env/dragonfire_up.tga250 KB23.08.2018
gfx/env/labyrinthus_bk.tga769 KB05.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_dn.tga769 KB05.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_ft.tga769 KB05.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_lf.tga769 KB05.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_rt.tga769 KB05.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_up.tga769 KB05.11.2002
gfx/env/predator_bk.tga215 KB24.08.2018
gfx/env/predator_dn.tga89 KB24.08.2018
gfx/env/predator_ft.tga233 KB24.08.2018
gfx/env/predator_lf.tga287 KB24.08.2018
gfx/env/predator_rt.tga287 KB24.08.2018
gfx/env/predator_up.tga453 KB24.08.2018
gfx/env/sgod_bk.tga769 KB21.08.2018
gfx/env/sgod_dn.tga769 KB21.08.2018
gfx/env/sgod_ft.tga769 KB21.08.2018
gfx/env/sgod_lf.tga769 KB21.08.2018
gfx/env/sgod_rt.tga769 KB21.08.2018
gfx/env/sgod_up.tga769 KB21.08.2018
maps/sm186_danzadan.bsp2006 KB27.08.2018
maps/sm186_danzadan.lit419 KB27.08.2018
maps/sm186_ing.bsp1638 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_ionous.bsp879 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_ionous.lit197 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_ish.bsp1759 KB25.08.2018
maps/sm186_ish.lit722 KB25.08.2018
maps/sm186_jcr.bsp2185 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_muk.bsp2782 KB27.08.2018
maps/sm186_muk.lit771 KB27.08.2018
maps/sm186_newhouse.bsp1703 KB27.08.2018
maps/sm186_newhouse.lit725 KB27.08.2018
maps/sm186_pinchy.bsp2160 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_pinchy.lit1020 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_prengle.bsp2061 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_prengle.lit893 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_sham.bsp1767 KB24.08.2018
maps/sm186_sham.lit1476 KB24.08.2018
maps/sm186_vaf.bsp1932 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_yoder.bsp2115 KB26.08.2018
maps/sm186_yoder.lit752 KB26.08.2018
sm186_Readme.txt1 KB27.08.2018
sm186_danzadan.txt2 KB27.08.2018
sm186_ish_readme.txt4 KB25.08.2018
sm186_jcr.txt2 KB26.08.2018
sm186_pinchy_terracotta_readme.txt3 KB26.08.2018
sm186_prengle.txt2 KB26.08.2018
sm186_sham.txt1 KB24.08.2018
sm186_yoder_readme.txt3 KB26.08.2018
source/pinchycr.map1627 KB26.08.2018
source/sbath.map733 KB26.08.2018
source/sm186_danzadan.jmf2365 KB27.08.2018
source/sm186_danzadan.map960 KB27.08.2018
source/sm186_ish.map563 KB25.08.2018
source/sm186_jcr.map895 KB26.08.2018
source/sm186_newhouse.map750 KB27.08.2018
source/sm186_prengle.map1123 KB26.08.2018
source/sm186_vaf.map547 KB26.08.2018
source/sm186_yoder.map1085 KB26.08.2018

sm186.zip

Speedmapping pack 186 - Terracotta

Terracotta / 12 SP maps / Danzadan, Ing-ing, ionous, ish, JCR, muk0r, Newhouse, PinchySkree, prengle, Shambler, vaf, Andrew Yoder
Includes various custom skyboxes and map sources, and some of the maps may require a source port with increased limits.



Tags: speedmap, medieval, terracotta
User Rating:
4.4/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








onetruepurple Registered 17 November 2018, 13:02

Some proper gems in this speedmap pack, Danzadan's and ionous' in particular.

Solomoriah Registered 16 May 2019, 21:02

I particularly enjoyed Newhouse's map... very entertaining, with an interesting atmosphere.

BlindChaos Registered 11 June 2020, 6:15

Here is my review for Temple of the Bone King by muk0r.

In this map there is great detail and atmosphere combining the golden-orange stonework with bookshelves and glowing torches. Set in an ancient crypt which urges the player to explore its secrets.

I enjoyed most of this map, for I only have two complaints against it. They are more of a preference of taste and are nothing against the author's wonderful work.

Firstly, I did not enjoy the underwater sequence that connected the first two areas. Then again I do not enjoy underwater sequences in Quake like I do in other games.

Finally, I thought most of the map was highly detailed and atmospheric, but I think that the ending needed more work, but what was done was outstanding despite the time restraints. The spiderwebs were a great touch.

Because of the atmosphere, that drew me in, I urge the author to go back and give this map more of their artistic touch. Perhaps they can be inspired to create more beautiful maps, in this theme, in the future. I can't believe that this map took that little time to complete. To me it is a keeper for sure. ☠️

Alex Ros Registered 8 December 2021, 7:58

Really good HQ map pack. Very much recommended. Doesn't feel as speed mapping at all

MikeTaylor Registered 12 October 2022, 12:37

Codex of Enigma (sm186_danzadan) is basically a perfect small level, with interesting architecture, fun surprises and even a bit of narrative. Top quality work!

MikeTaylor Registered 24 October 2022, 18:10

I didn't much like Spawn Bath (sm186_ing) at first, but I am glad I persevered past my inherent dislike of spawns and got to experience the whole map. It's fun to play through, with satisfying secrets. Most important, on the whole the spawns can be fought in interesting, intelligent ways rather than just having to suck it up and keep shotgunning until you get lucky. Good work!

MikeTaylor Registered 25 October 2022, 10:50

The Suspended Tributaries (sm186_ionous) is the very definition of "short and sweet" -- a brief climb up and around a hollow tower with just enough ammo to make it past the dodgiest points. Pleasant. Insubstantial. Like a speed-map should be :-)

MikeTaylor Registered 25 October 2022, 12:15

I was really enjoying the crazy creativity of Hypertension (sm186_ish) right up to the end, when I reached the top of the map with 52 of 54 kills. Then ... nothing. I need a gold key to make it through the final door to the exit, but I can't find one anywhere, not even with noclipping. Looks like I'm stuck. What a shame.

MikeTaylor Registered 25 October 2022, 16:32

Byway of bad neighbors (sm186_jcr) is another winner marred by what seems to be a bug. I was really enjoying this contrived by fun sequence of set pieces until I reached the third of the gold-key locations where you're ambushed by the shambler and two fiends. When I'd killed them, the staircase back to the entrance door reappeared, but the door wouldn't open and the gold key was was way up overhead (along with some supplies). Maybe there was a puzzle to be solved and I muffed it. But I couldn't find any legitimate way out, so I had to fall back on flying up to the key. PIcking it up opened the door, and I was able to play on to the end. Shame.

MikeTaylor Registered 25 October 2022, 17:01

Temple of The Bone King (sm186_muk) is another fine, inventive map with plenty of mechanisms and a nice sprinkling of combats. It took me a while to realise how I was able to get the silver key, but that's on me. Otherwise the progression was nice and clear throughout.

MikeTaylor Registered 26 October 2022, 10:57

This pack continues to delight with Elder's Ash (sm186_newhouse), one of those clockwork-box maps where none of the level layout makes much sense but it's still fun to make your way through the sequence or surprises and ambushes. Could the monsters possibly live here? No. But somehow I don't mind.

MikeTaylor Registered 26 October 2022, 16:50

Better still is Clay River (sm186_pinchy), a big open space surrounded by rooms, corridors and towers, with 100 kills and many, many ways to get picked off by enemies both distant and nearby. It's one of those maps where the first challenge is just finding a way to stay alive long enough to accumulate some weapons and ammo -- most invigorating. My only quibble would be that the ending is rather abrupt, especially as I was left with 11 monsters not found and killed.

MikeTaylor Registered 27 October 2022, 11:43

Sarkistic Spite (sm186_prengle) keeps up the high quality with a cathedral-like terracotta space surrounded by corridors. This is another where my only complaint is the abrupt ending: I approached the silver-key door with 46 of the 52 kills, expecting a final battle beyond. Instead, I walked through and that was the end. (The last six monsters exploded like the do at the end of the House of Chthon.) Really nice to look at, though, and fun to work through.

MikeTaylor Registered 27 October 2022, 12:29

The untitled map sm186_sham is set on a floating base, mostly outside with some indoor sequences, with the goal of progressing to an exit teleporter that you can see from the start but which needs a walkway to be extended to it. It's good, but not inspired, and suffers from a rather 1990s aesthetic: blocky and overlit.

MikeTaylor Registered 27 October 2022, 14:09

Scarlet Scourge (sm186_vaf) is another in the short-but-sweet category, and another reinforcing my sense that the way speedmapping was approached here was all about maintaining quality and compromising, where necessary, on quality. A good trade-off for sure.

MikeTaylor Registered 28 October 2022, 11:51

Finally, Humility (sm186_yoder) is an excellent end to an excellent pack. It takes place mostly outdoors on a floating fortress, and features plenty of secrets and mechanisms to play with. I never figured out how to get some of the visible goodies (e.g. the pent) but that's all to the good -- life should have some mystery.

MikeTaylor Registered 28 October 2022, 11:53

All in all, this is an excellent pack, well worth anyone's time. Despite the bugs in a couple of maps that prevented me from finishing them legitimately (or, perhaps just unreasonably hard puzzles), I've awarded the full five stars. There's just so much goodness here, and really no clunkers.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in