Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Author:ChrisHolden, Cocerello, dumptruck_ds, Greenwood, ionous, ish, ZungryWare
Title:Speedmapping pack 204: 20 years of Quake III Arena
Download:sm204.zip (80081edbd0be3e372ad1886bb1e6fc11)
Filesize:36990 Kilobytes
Release date:28.11.2019
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/d4sky02_bk.tga3139 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/d4sky02_dn.tga2654 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/d4sky02_ft.tga3140 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/d4sky02_lf.tga3201 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/d4sky02_rt.tga3131 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/d4sky02_up.tga2995 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/violent180_bk.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/violent180_dn.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/violent180_ft.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/violent180_lf.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/violent180_rt.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/violent180_up.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/yellowcloud_bk.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/yellowcloud_dn.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/yellowcloud_ft.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/yellowcloud_lf.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/yellowcloud_rt.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
gfx/env/yellowcloud_up.tga3073 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_chrisholden.bsp2461 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_chrisholden.lit639 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_chrisholden.txt3 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_coce.bsp529 KB27.11.2019
maps/sm204_coce.lit263 KB27.11.2019
maps/sm204_cocerello.txt4 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_dumptruck.bsp5575 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_dumptruck.lit3150 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_dumptruck.txt2 KB27.11.2019
maps/sm204_greenwood.bsp4386 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_greenwood.txt2 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_ionous.bsp3261 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_ionous.lit1276 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_ionous.txt2 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_ish.bsp3380 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_ish.lit314 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_ish.txt2 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_zungryware.bsp1123 KB26.11.2019
maps/sm204_zungryware.txt1 KB26.11.2019
sm204_readme.txt2 KB27.11.2019
source/sm204_chrisholden.map866 KB26.11.2019
source/sm204_coce.map150 KB27.11.2019
source/sm204_dumptruck.map1153 KB26.11.2019
source/sm204_greenwood.map892 KB26.11.2019
source/sm204_ionous.map1744 KB26.11.2019
source/sm204_ish.map487 KB26.11.2019
source/sm204_zungryware.jmf1254 KB26.11.2019
source/sm204_zungryware.map463 KB26.11.2019

sm204.zip - Speedmapping pack 204: 20 years of Quake III Arena

Speedmapping pack featuring seven SP/DM maps. The map sources are included. And some skyboxes, too..

Tags: dm, quake 3, deathmatch, q3

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered 8 December 2019, 10:53

All the maps come with multiplayer spawn points. All the maps besides Greenwood's and Ionous' have extra gameplay/layout for multiplayer or are mainly focused on it.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 9 December 2019, 3:20

Had to try ionous' map first, as I am a big fan, and I was not disappointed.

Then I went in alphabetical order, starting with chrisholden's "Death and Retribution" which is a cool little map with an interesting "hub" progression.

Taking a break now, after Cocerello's map rained (literal) death on my head. Ouch.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 9 December 2019, 4:11

Okay, wow. Cocerello, A+ for use of fog, even though we hates it...

Dumptruck's map is nice. Really, really nice.

Greenwood's map is different. Very different. Never saw so much transparency.

dumptruck_ds Registered 10 December 2019, 1:20

Played them all on skill 1. I do understand these are speedmaps so gameplay quirks are inevitable. I did not record demos this time but I did record videos. If you want them for review I can upload them. They are 2k H264 files. Just let me know!

ChrisHolden

Wins "Most Faithful to Q3A Award" for this pack. Looks truly amazing. Def on the easy side overall. I don't suggest Red Armor on skill 1 outside of a tough secret but that's just my preference after some advice from others. Progression was weird depending on routes but I played it a few times and enjoyed it.

Cocerello

When I first loaded the map I cringed because I always hated that fog map in Q3A. BUT this version is pretty amazing when it comes to SP gameplay. Without spoiling anything, your monster setups were well done. DMSP in vanilla? Coce has you covered!!! Very clever mapping and fun. On Skill 1 I ran out of ammo at the very end and had a tough time with the "boss." But I was able to triumph after save scumming and it was a satisfying little map.

dumptruck_ds

I am happy with the way the map turned out but it wasn't 100% what I set out to do. Thanks to Ionous and Bal for valuable feedback that I implemented. Also I forgot to add a credit for the sky box I used "yellowcloud". The creator was Pieter ‘Spiney’ Verhoeven and you can find the pack here: https://opengameart.org/content/cloudy-skyboxes

Greenwood

Some great things in here and some "not so great". First, I had to cheat to finish this one on skill 1. The combat is pretty tight much of the time. So, I think it might be time to move away from the "boxes inside of a big box" format you like to use. I understand this is an easy way to make a map quickly AND this map is fun for the most part. But to me it causes some gameplay issues and even confusion at times. For example, because of the hectic combat nearby, I missed the gold key room at first. If you had had a more obvious entryway or funneled the player to it or showed the key from afar so we knew where to find it - it would have been better. Now on to the good stuff: your usage of the glass brushes was really fresh and made for some interesting setups. Your monster spawning-palooza kept me on my toes and I was interested in exploring the map and uncovering it's mysteries.

Ionous

While not exactly the approach I had pictured for this pack you created a nail-biting climb through one of your trademark circles of hell. Twas was a blast to play as we'd expect from your work. Your notoriously hard secrets will keep me coming back to this one to 100%. But I did find 2! Great messages to the player and a satisfying final battle - I won't spoil any more than that.

ish

First submission! GOLD STAR!! This was right on theme and looks great. A nice little DM arena that becomes a fun slaughter map when played in SP. Great usage of textures and the layout is damn satisfying. I plan on playing this with some bots in DM later today. Would love to see some 100% speed runs in SP of this map. My only critique is that the lighting level is pretty flat overall. This could have been a lot more moody. But this is my obsession with lighting coming through.

Zungryware

Much like ish you created a great DM layout with a smart SP component that works really well. The two lock key system was a clever non-linear design. As with DM to SP maps the progression can get a bit weird but I played multiple times and enjoyed each run. Less of a slaughter map than others so GG on the SP aspects. This map isn't exactly on theme but still satisfying and would certainly be fun with 2-4 players in DM. Lighting was flat (see obsession comment above though).

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in