Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Author:Mike Woodham, Zwiffle
Title:SM40 contest
Download:sm40contest.zip (e94436a70d44613fedd6cc33300e5560)
Filesize:2611 Kilobytes
Release date:06.08.2005
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm40zwei.txt2 KB07.01.2005
sm40_results.txt3 KB10.01.2005
Fmb_SM40.bsp3417 KB08.01.2005
Fmb_SM40.txt3 KB08.01.2005
sm40zwei.bsp3164 KB07.01.2005

sm40contest.zip

SM40 contest

The SM40 contest was something RPG started so that the SM40 Speedchainmap would actually get finished.

Tags: base, dkt, chainmap
User Rating:
4.4/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








AAS Registered 20 March 2015, 7:17

Great maps!

MikeTaylor Registered 24 March 2015, 14:45

I just played The Box Factory (sm40zwei), Zwiffle's contribution, which Vondur judged as the runner up (of the two maps submitted to this competition). Wow. It's a beautifully constructed and very atmospheric base, with well-judged progressive difficulty. Really nice, and should arguably have had a release of its own. Four stars for that map; rating for the pack to follow after I've played the other map.

MikeTaylor Registered 24 March 2015, 18:20

I played The Slipgate Complex (fmb_sm40.bsp), a level which arguably has a name lacking in originality. Marvellous -- beautiful, chunky brushwork that you don't get caught on, nicely escalating difficulty, and lovely atmospheric use of darkness and mist. If I were to criticise it at all, it would be on the grounds that it's too easy (on hard). Even finding only two secrets, and not using one of them, it was easy to finish with loads of spare health, armour and ammo.

Still, it's a clear 4/5, which means that the pack as a whole also merits that score.

Do I agree with Vondur's judgement? Hard to say. The Slipgate Complex is the more beautiful and atmospheric of the two maps, but The Box Factory plays better. I make it an honourable draw.

Jugador Registered 23 June 2019, 11:22

We are most amused. 5 stars.

I Like Quake Guest 1 March 2021, 8:39

At the end of fmb_sm40 the door beneath the red button won't open. I figured I have to press the red button to open the door beneath it but I can't get up there by any normal means, there's no elevator, nothing, apart from what seems to be an unresponsive brush glitch left of the door to open. The only way I figured to get up there and press the red button is to get the Quad and do a 'nade jump. Anybody have this issue?

Andrew Registered 30 May 2022, 21:57

To I Like Quake: There is a portal in the room under the floor. You can get into it if you jump onto platforms that are above the lava surface on both sides of the platform. You will be teleported to the button that opens the final door.

Andrew Registered 31 May 2022, 18:46

Both maps are based on the same key parts, but completely different! Amazing job! All this reminded me that when I played Quake 2 and went back to the previous hub, everything on the map was destroyed, changed and all the ways had to be searched again. 5/5

I Like Quake Registered 1 June 2022, 0:51

@Andrew: Thank you. Coincidentally I have just revisited SM40 a few days ago and found the entrance straight away. I wonder how I have missed it the first time around.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in