Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sm58_pack
Author:RPG, Scampie, Starbuck, Xenon
Title:SM 58 pack - The Elder World (The 4 Seasons of Quake #4)
Download:sm58_pack.zip (9b2ac0ded9b16d3651228dc743064f8c)
Filesize:1292 Kilobytes
Release date:23.11.2003
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard news thread
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm58_rpg1.bsp519 KB23.11.2003
sm58_starbuck.bsp851 KB23.11.2003
sm58_scampie.bsp552 KB19.09.2001
sm58_rpg2.bsp463 KB23.11.2003
sm58_xen.bsp1049 KB23.11.2003
sm58_pack.txt2 KB12.09.2001

sm58_pack.zip

SM 58 pack - The Elder World (The 4 Seasons of Quake #4)

Episode 4 / The Elder World (The 4 Seasons of Quake #4) / 5 SP maps / RPG, Scampie, Starbuck, Xenon

Tags: qtwid, e4
User Rating: 3.7/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 1 March 2017, 21:30

On walking into the exit door of Xenon's map I was told I left something important behind. I poked around for a bit and then noclipped but found nothing--anyone know what this means? I was missing three kills but I assume this was the rotfish bug in action.

spy Guest 3 March 2017, 3:18

this message is a reference to Sandy Petersen's episode four

Jugador Registered, rated this a 4 3 June 2019, 21:55

Actually, you're told you've left NOTHING important behind. ;)

Mugwump Registered, rated this a 3 17 October 2020, 21:28

And finally, the 4th "season". Another smaller pack like sm55, with only 5 maps including a base-themed one (so only 4 elder maps).

Both of RPG's maps are very short and not that interesting, especially compared to his output in the previous two sessions. RPG1 is mostly empty. Not sure why it has 2 pents on top of an armor, but they're utterly unnecessary. This map didn't function well for me: the zombies in the watery section never spawned in and I had to noclip to kill them inside their closets. One moment could have been moderately challenging, but with a pent and the "secret" quad, well... This map exits to RPG2, the base map. That one is a bit better but again, too small and not challenging enough to be any kind of memorable.

Scampie's map is undoubtedly the best of the lot. Short but packed with intense action, including a pretty insane finale, and captures Sandy's visual style quite well with terracotta textures and lots of darkness.

Starbuck tried to tackle the Nameless City style, with lots of moldy yellow-greyish bricks, wood and blue windows, only on a much grander scale. The thing is, these large spaces are mostly empty and could use at least twice the population. Boring.

And last but not least, Xenon finally made a bona fide good map. Woohoo! Lots of dimly lit green bricks, flayed corpses and chiaroscuro effects. Maybe a bit too much copypasting but there's only so much one can do in 100 minutes, so it's excusable. Combat is good and feels "episode 4" enough with lots of hell knights, fiends, vores, spawns, of course a shambler and even a few ogres.

Episode 4 might be my favorite after ep. 3. It sure ain't the prettiest or the most refined, but I love its general darkness, abstract design, intense action and puzzles. I wish more people would have participated because the couple of good maps here focus on mood and combat but no-one tackled abstraction and puzzles. And no-one emulated the iconic Azure Agony style.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in