Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Author:Drew, Mike Woodham, necros, RPG, Scampie, Zwiffle
Title:Speedmapping pack 79 - Abandoned city
Download:sm79_pack.zip (89f09e6926c05f1a005e958022538a14)
Filesize:1966 Kilobytes
Release date:22.05.2004
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm79_zwiffle.bsp1096 KB22.05.2004
sm79_pack.txt2 KB22.03.2004
sm79_fmb.bsp1505 KB09.05.2004
sm79_rpg.bsp280 KB22.03.2004
sm79_necros.bsp492 KB22.05.2004
sm79_drew.bsp840 KB13.04.2004
sm79_scampie.bsp690 KB22.03.2004

sm79_pack.zip - Speedmapping pack 79 - Abandoned city

Abandoned city / 5 SP, 1 DM maps / Drew, Mike Woodham, necros, RPG, Scampie, Zwiffle
User Rating: 3.6/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Scampie Registered 6 July 2014, 3:57

Possibly the greatest map I ever made.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 13 September 2016, 11:41

Got bored very quickly with Mike Woodham's Dead Man (sm79_fmb), which takes place in total darkness such that you can only see where you're going for fractions of a second in the muzzle-flash of your weapon. When does that get fun?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 13 September 2016, 12:30

Drew's untitled map (sm79_drew) is much better -- a map of two set-pieces, the first on a walkway over a slime-pit, and the second in a large ascending series of ramps that offers plenty of challenging combats. I missed one kill -- rats. Also, I thought the yellow armour could have been classified as a secret. Otherwise, this is really nice -- pretty amazing work for a speedmap.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 13 September 2016, 14:05

Necros's Abandoned Necrosarium (sm79_necros) is small (only eight kills) but very tough: they are a spawn, four vores, two shamblers and a death-knight. All has to be done with shotguns, too. I admit I cheated, and gave myself some health after the bit where I had to fight three suddenly-spawned vores in an area with no cover. Fun, though. If the map rewarded you with a megahealth for surviving that combat, it would be fair, too.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 13 September 2016, 14:46

I do beg Mike Woodham's pardon: the pitch-black map Dead Man was not his, but RPG's (sm79_rpg).

Mike's untitled map (sm79_fmb) is much better, a large-scale fairly open area surrounded by mountains, with a lot of ammo and a lot of combat with high-powered monsters. I enjoyed it, while feeling that it would have been a lot more fun with two or three times as many monsters in the same space (and correspondingly more ammo and health, of course).

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 13 September 2016, 16:43

Scampie's industrial city (sm79_scampie) is ... well, I would call it a waste of time, but it doesn't actually take any time, so I guess a waste of brushes?

dwere Registered 13 September 2016, 16:49

Well... At least it looks abandoned!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 13 September 2016, 17:09

Finally, Zwiffle's Wait! Don't load this map! (sm79_zwiffle) scores highly by being the only map in this pack that looks like an abandoned city (though of course it turns out not to be abandoned after all). Gameplay is pretty good, if brief. But it's let down by some kind of triggering bug which means that when I get the "sequence complete" message nothing happens -- so I had to noclip to reach the exit.

All in all, this is an enjoyable pack with significant variability in the quality. I'd rate Drew's and Mike Woodham's maps the best.

Solomoriah Registered 2 June 2019, 7:03

Zwiffle's map's exit only opens for a short time; if you draw the shamblers away from where they appear before killing them, you probably won't make it back in time to exit.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in