Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of smqe08b_pack
Author:lurker, negke, Omus, Text_Fish, Zwiffle
Title:Speedmapping pack QExpo2008 #2 - City in a forest
Download:smqe08b_pack.zip (d395cff9f74665e1b9dd8640ba562341)
Filesize:1609 Kilobytes
Release date:25.08.2008
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
smqe08b_negkeNormal00h02m04sIcantthinkofanickname152014-06-16
Dances With Scrags, a.k.a The Joy of Infighting

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
smqe08b_omus.bsp1036 KB24.08.2008
smqe08b_textfish.bsp1182 KB25.08.2008
smqe08b_zwiffle.bsp380 KB24.08.2008
smqe08b_pack.txt2 KB25.08.2008
smqe08b_lurker.bsp907 KB24.08.2008
smqe08b_negke.bsp799 KB23.08.2008
smqe08b_lurker.bsp907 KB24.08.2008
smqe08b_negke.bsp799 KB23.08.2008
smqe08b_omus.bsp1036 KB24.08.2008
smqe08b_pack.txt2 KB25.08.2008
smqe08b_textfish.bsp1182 KB25.08.2008
smqe08b_zwiffle.bsp380 KB24.08.2008

smqe08b_pack.zip - Speedmapping pack QExpo2008 #2 - City in a forest

City in a forest / 5 SP maps / lurker, negke, Omus, Text_Fish, Zwiffle

Tags: trees
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 18 January 2014, 20:19

An excellent speedmap pack that does a great job exploring an interesting (underused?) theme.

smqe08b_lurker.bsp ("Tree of Life") is the overall winner to me. It is surprisingly large, polished and varied for a speedmap, with balanced gameplay and even four secrets.

smqe08b_negke.bsp (no title) is more simplistic, but very original and unique, as negke's speedmaps tend to be. It makes very creative use of scrags and has a great sense of location.

smqe08b_omus.bsp ("Tree Story") is varied in both scenery and gameplay mechanics. It is rather hard, but has a great sense of narrative progression.

smqe08b_textfish.bsp ("WizWood") is a bit like a retro platform jumper and perhaps borders on being overly hard, but like the three maps above, it conveys the forest setting beautifully.

And then there is smqe08bzwiffle.bsp, with the self-deprecatory title “Yes, I know this map is cheap”. It is blocky, bland, repetitive, uninspiring and not really worth playing. Honestly, I don't get it: it does not seem like Zwiffle made any effort to stick to the theme, just like here: https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/sm145pack.html .

With the exception of smqe08b_zwiffle.bsp, this is a wonderful selection of maps.

For a much earlier map that explores the forest theme, see Dark Forest by Reichert: https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/darkfst.html.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 18 January 2014, 20:21

Again, the underscore italicized some of the text ... but only some. How odd.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 20 January 2014, 18:30

smqe08b_lurker ("Tree of Life") -- excellent. It was just over too soon. I'd have loved to see this developed into a full-sized level.

smqe08b_negke (no title) -- very jolly, but extremely short, even for a speedmap. Considered as a palate-cleaner between more substantial course, very pleasant.

smqe08b_omus ("Tree Story") -- 35/35 kills, but I couldn't figure out what to do after all the shamblers were dead. How do I complete the level?

smqe08b_textfish ("WizWood") -- short but nice.

smqe08bzwiffle ("Yes, I know this map is cheap”) -- actually, I really liked this, apart from the fact that it had nothing to do with the theme. Difficulty was well balanced, with ammunition often low and _just running out at the end of the second stage (I played on medium). And I loved the ending.

All in all, it's hard to assign a single score, but I guess I rate this a high 3, just missing out on a low 4.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 20 January 2014, 18:31

Ha, now the underscore is victimising me!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 20 January 2014, 18:52

Now you know how it feels. :P

--SPOILER ALERT--

Mike, I'll try and give you an oblique clue:

Take their places, one by one. You have two options.

Spirit Guest 20 January 2014, 19:03

I think I should remove that markdown parsing. It's purpose was to make links work but this mess is not worth it. :)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 20 January 2014, 19:29

It's usually helpful. I like being able to do italics and bold deliberately. It's just its interpretation of embedded underscores that's erratic. Can you disable that feature but leave the rest?

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in