Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of soe_full
Author:Dustin "Tronyn" Geeraert
Title:Soul of Evil
Download:soe_full.zip (b3cd782d448fca891901db2b41d61045)
Filesize:23623 Kilobytes
Release date:01.04.2002
Homepage:http://tronyn.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links: erc's QualityEthereal HellQuake TerminusTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
soe_full.txt1 KB01.04.2002
pak2.PAK15786 KB01.04.2002
pak1.PAK16877 KB01.04.2002
soe_readme.zip1078 KB01.04.2002
pak0.PAK13642 KB01.04.2002
pak3.PAK8121 KB31.03.2002

soe_full.zip - Soul of Evil

"Soul Of Evil is a primarily single-player Quake game, although it also supports deathmatch, cooperative, arena mode (a new type of gameplay), as well as botmatches."

Two excellent Wizard-style SP episodes with modified and new monsters, many custom textures, and seven additional deathmatch maps.


Tags: medieval, episode, monsters, epic, mission pack, classic, dragon, highly recommend, difficult

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 33 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Player 1 18 February 2012, 19:30
I love it! One of the best mission packs ever made!
NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 10 February 2014, 21:40

A mission pack of epic proportions with impressive architecture and above-average storyline. I loved the outdoor areas with their autumn feeling, and books scattered throughout the area give you hints about what to do next. The most amazing (and also largest) level is "The Morbid Manse", a huge underground fortress with libraries and caverns. Features two spectacular boss fights and tough dragons with quite devastating attacks. You should only skip this if you don't like Quake at all - otherwise, click that download link right now! [Side note: In the "Morbid Manse" (soe2m5), Fitzquake Mk V crashed many times after obtaining the gold key and approaching the fitting door, no clue why. In the end I only managed to finish the level by bypassing the problematic area with noclip.]

Discombobulated Registered, rated this a 5 24 September 2014, 16:54

This one has all kind of wonders... The character enhancements are all really good, I thought when dragons were mentioned that the green Shambler must be what it was referring to, glad I was mistaken... Really enjoyed it, thanks for making it Dustin :)

For those how like to get medieval on asses, its a must.

5/5

hfc Registered 24 September 2015, 16:23

in the level soe1m2 game crashes, console says "rubble1.mdl cant precached qc function error..." ore something like that.

Scrooge Guest 24 September 2015, 16:56

I have the same crash with QuakeSpasm, so I switched to Darkplaces to play it.

ericw Guest 25 September 2015, 3:42

What part does it crash at in soe1m2?

Scrooge Guest 25 September 2015, 19:01

Damn, after a clean install with just id1, soe and QuackeSpasm I'can't reproduce it... This occured in the begining of soe1m2 when you find a "dark altar". If you "select" it, a cuscene showing the circle of stones from above is supposed to play, but boom back to the console with a dump I remembered looking like hfc's.

Scrooge Guest 26 September 2015, 10:39

BTW, amazing package nonetheless :)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 9 October 2015, 17:12

Playing through this. In The Morbid Manse (soe2_m5) I have killed all the mages in the library -- about a dozen, from counting the corpses -- but the exit to the next room is still sealed (and the door I came in by is locked shut). What should I do now?

negke Registered, rated this a 5 9 October 2015, 17:24

Same happened in my recent playthrough. I think I eventually noclipped to proceed. Possibly some hitch on newer ports, or skill 2. If someone knows more, please post details here.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 9 October 2015, 18:28

Thanks, I will do the same, then!

negke Registered, rated this a 5 9 October 2015, 19:54

It seems there's one enemy missing or the counter value set 1 too high on hard skill, so you're unable to complete the trail and get stuck in the library. Normally, the doors of the 'tower' open and reveal a button which then spawns a shambler and dragon, and ultimately the second library doors opens.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 10 October 2015, 18:16

Hmm, surely it can't be that this was only tested on Easy and Normal :-)

Tronyn Guest 11 October 2015, 0:02

lol, not sure if that was the case but it seems at least possible! Sorry about the error guys and thanks for noting it in a place where I can see it. If that was the case, I am hoping to do an entity tweak on all my maps for Drake (looking through Quaddicted comments as a major source for things that need to change), if I can ever get time to do Quake stuff.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 October 2015, 17:19

Nice! (Although I do think your recent work is just miles ahead of this. It may make more sense to keep looking forward instead of doubling back to fix this one.)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 October 2015, 14:35

Well, I finished. I have to admin that Haunted Shadows (soem2e6) was a bit of a grind, and I had to do an awful lot of save, attack, die, reload. But I got there in the end. Then the quad appeared right at the end when there were only two monsters left. Well, thanks a lot!

Looking at this pack as a whole, it's very hard to score it. In 2002, it must have felt absolutely epic. But now, the early levels feel rather crude and artificial -- push this button to open that door; go through and kill the monsters to push this other button to open that other door; vamp till end of level. The levels definitely improve as they go on, but it's a real shame that the best set-piece in the whole thing (the library in the screenshot above) is afflicted with a bug that makes it impossible to complete on Hard.

All in all, I am scoring this three stars, because while I respect the craftsmanship tremendously, it did end up feeling like a bit of a slog. Tronyn has gone on to much, much better things.

Madfox Registered, rated this a 5 9 August 2016, 7:22

This gave me a huge surprise while playing through the first levels Arms of Darken Wood- FallenVillage. After Devil's Pass I really got the feeling being in a tide Quake level that's supremely good interconnekted and has the glare of a real classic. Found no bugs, only secrets as my curiosity. Sometimes poor on armor and health which made it rather medieval harsh. Star in my collection, knocked me back to the 9ties. Must be my classic Quake favour. Cheerz Tronijn!

Opgedronken Guest 11 October 2016, 23:11

Voiceherkenning!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 17 October 2016, 12:30

I'm in Devil's Pass (soe1m2), in the area surrounding the long lake. I know the way into the town is through a secret door at one end of the lake, but I can't remember (or figure out anew) how to open it. Anyone?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 17 October 2016, 13:05

Oh, it's trivial! Just shoot the barrier at the right end, and it will open. (That is the one that's to your right when you first enter this area.)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 19 October 2016, 13:34

Replaying this -- I'd forgotten how huge it is, and that there are two separate episodes. Enjoying it hugely. Just one question: you know those upgraded death-knights with red highlights on their armour, lots of health and a fireball attack? Why do they keep shouting "oysters"?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 21 October 2016, 14:13

I can't believe I gave this three stars before. I must have been out of my mind. This is the very definition of a five-star pack, with an enormous amount of content including fascinating set-pieces. That locked-in-the-library bug is a real disaster, unfortunately. But even with that included, I'm upgrading my mark to the full five stars.

(For anyone else who faces it: after killing all the wizards in the library, go and stand by the exit door that should have opened, then noclip directly upwards until you're above the balcony walkway. Then come out of noclip mode and continue.)

(But I still want to know why the red-highlighted death knights keep shouting "oysters"!)

Pasokon Deacon Registered, rated this a 4 29 January 2017, 23:02

Great, but I find this pack very uneven. Everything leading up to E1M4 disappointed me even though I like the naturalistic brushwork. Combat and exploration just didn't feel up to par with parts of Phantasmal Garrison 2 until I reached the palace, which is definitely a step beyond Tronyn's previous work. That map effortlessly combines the best elements of maps like Gloom Keep or Wizard's Manse, but with a fittingly autumnal theme and color. Secret placements/hints works well and the challenge at least doubles from this point forward, excepting E2M3. I didn't much out of E1M5 and E2M6 is a tedious waste of a boss finale. The new wizard enemies are fun to fight but only start to threaten in E2; dragon arenas work fairly well however.

I think most of E2's great, becoming awesome in E2M2 and E2M5 respectively. The former map starts off unassuming before turning into a labyrinth of tough ogre/(hell) knight encounters with plenty of variation and inviting architecture. Latter map has amazing moments everywhere you go, disregarding the buggy library portion (which still gives you a bona fide shambler vs. dragon duel!). Monster count tells you nothing about how many upper-tier enemies lie in wait, and so it helps that ammo placement/box types are well-judged. The rest of Soul of Evil builds up to this map exactly, though I think E2M4's really good as well (just skip E2M3 if you aren't here to snooze).

Overall this pack's worth playing since even the disappointing maps are fun.

dosse91 Registered, rated this a 5 12 June 2017, 8:39

Probably my favorite map pack. Very nice level design, very challenging, played on hard and did not regret it. The only problem I encountered was the wrong counter in the library soe2m5. I tried to contact the author but I guess the email is dead, so I used quark to fix it myself. Here's a fixed version: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6qj91UlSYlYTW9TU0tCa0l4LUk If the author wants this taken down, just let me know

Hipnotic Rogue Registered, rated this a 5 21 July 2017, 1:16

@dosse91, Thanks for the fix. I haven't played through this for a really long time. It'll be nice to play it without having to resort to no-clipping! :)

Anyway, regarding the mapset. 5/5 from me too. I pretty much agree with everything that's been said. Huge and fun. Excellent atmosphere. One to remember.

Greed Registered, rated this a 4 25 October 2017, 22:53

The brushwork and textures seem a bit crude, and there's plenty of visible seams here and there, and I got stuck on the scenery a few times. Still, not a bad map pack. Very retro, very oldschool. Good challenge and plenty of variety in the set pieces. Play it in WinQuake for the max nostalgia effect.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in