Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sotf1
Author:Qmaster
Title:Shrine of the Fiends
Download:sotf1.zip (a6c5a327e7c903fc8477d7b26ec54a92)
Filesize:363 Kilobytes
Release date:16.07.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sotf1.bsp659 KB16.07.2017
sotf1.jmf535 KB16.07.2017
sotf1.map192 KB16.07.2017
sotf1.txt3 KB16.07.2017

sotf1.zip - Shrine of the Fiends

Very small level based on E4M3, mostly populated by fiends. An early map by the author from 2008. The map source is included in standard and WC format.

Tags: small, medieval, remake, source

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 1.6/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 25 July 2017, 20:40

Shrine of the Fiends on The Quake Grave

I played through this map with 3 of QMaster's other maps in the video above.

Shrine of the fiends has plenty of shudders fiends in it, but it also features a few of the other monsters too. This map has the feel of the original era of quake maps, and also feels custom made. There are some interesting and weird areas with teleports, a part where you shoot a window to open a door (where that isn't used again) and some really tight hall fighting with some of the fiends. My favorite part is the end reveal of where the exit is, it's pretty creative!

Of the 4 maps featured in the video, this might be my least favorite, but it's not bad, it just doesn't feel as good as the other maps I played in the video.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 15 December 2017, 16:01

"Save" aborts in Quakespasm 0.90.1, which makes this unplayable for me.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 15 December 2017, 18:23

And that is why you gave it a rating of "1"?

Make sure you're using an up-to-date version of the engine (the latest version of Quakespasm is 0.93.0) and if the problem persists, maybe consider submitting a bug report to the Quakespasm team. If you are having technical difficulties in playing a particular map, please do not give it a vindictive rating.

For what it's worth, I just tested this map in 0.93.0 and saving and loading work fine.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 16 December 2017, 10:33

Yep, that's why I gave it a 1. If it doesn't work for me, it won't work for others, and that merits downgrading. Working correctly with all engines is one part of what makes a map good.

onetruepurple Registered 16 December 2017, 10:41

"If it doesn't work for me, it won't work for others"

Maybe you should follow the advice and actually update your engine?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 16 December 2017, 15:52

My engine is newer than Icant's, which is the one that works.

Anyway, I'm not interested enough in this ancient and tiny level to go messing with my software. I tried to play it, it didn't work, my experience of the map was very poor, I marked it one star. End of.

onetruepurple Registered 16 December 2017, 16:08

In what world is 0.90.1 newer than 0.93?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 17 December 2017, 0:18

You make an excellent point.

JMP Registered, rated this a 1 26 January 2018, 18:23

Essentially the hub of E4M3 with a single new room added too it. Tiny and pointless--of the old maps Qmaster released, this is definitely the runt of the litter.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in