Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of strange
Author:mariteaux
Title:Temple of the Strange
Download:strange.zip (87814f0c3b307f3ce52a55ba9c8d6aff)
Filesize:2627 Kilobytes
Release date:18.11.2017
Homepage:https://yourfriendlyneighborhoodflareon.tumblr.com/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
strange.bsp1655 KB18.11.2017
strange.dem2515 KB18.11.2017
strange.jmf1715 KB18.11.2017
strange.lit488 KB18.11.2017
strange.txt2 KB18.11.2017
strange_basiclight.bsp1638 KB18.11.2017
strange_basiclight.jmf1713 KB18.11.2017

strange.zip

Temple of the Strange

Medium-sized level starting out in a ruined temple leading onward to areas with various texture themes. Comes in two versions: one with colored lighting and one without. A demo and the map sources are included.

Tags: medium, mixtex, ruins, demo, source

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating:
2.9/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








MikeTaylor Registered 20 March 2018, 14:03

Not a bad debut, though the extreme mixing of cultures is very weird. (The opening confrontation involves knights, grunts and scrags before you're out of the very room.) There are some nice ideas here -- and some nail-traps, too -- although i think a map with fewer ideas, more fully explored, would work better. I'll look forward to seeing more from mariteaux.

brunomiwa Registered 26 April 2018, 16:11

Liked the map, although I think it has some annoying issues.

Starting with the positive points for me, I liked the atmosphere. The grunts were kind of outplaced, but it was a minor problem. The decaying setting was cool to look at. Found 3 secrets. I liked the one with a piranha behind a wall.

I think the map teases the player to explore but don't reward for it. The lava pit, with a lot of jumping rocks leads to your certain death. I liked the map were the was a message like "You shouldn't be here" and teleports you back.

I don't know if it is because of my engine, but a lot of monsters were locked in place, they attacking but couldn't move.

whirlstr Registered 5 April 2019, 8:46

Pretty nice map. It's a bit bizarre that the text file claims the goal was to emulate id's maps, as the very first room full of rubble details and colored lights goes completely against that, along with the fact that the map changes themes every 30 seconds.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in