Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of subq1sp
Author:Andr04x
Title:Sub Base
Download:subq1sp.zip (3f7b508a430ea3c02f53c018a0715827)
Filesize:4899 Kilobytes
Release date:08.06.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
README!.txt3 KB08.06.2021
id1/gfx/env/trueblue_bk.tga769 KB19.05.2001
id1/gfx/env/trueblue_dn.tga769 KB19.05.2001
id1/gfx/env/trueblue_ft.tga769 KB19.05.2001
id1/gfx/env/trueblue_lf.tga769 KB19.05.2001
id1/gfx/env/trueblue_rt.tga769 KB19.05.2001
id1/gfx/env/trueblue_up.tga769 KB19.05.2001
id1/maps/subq1sp.bsp5400 KB01.06.2021
id1/maps/subq1sp.lit1898 KB01.06.2021
installation.txt1 KB08.06.2021
knave.txt2 KB17.12.2005
subq1sp.map1317 KB29.05.2021

subq1sp.zip

Sub Base

Around medium-sized map with a Knave-textured courtyard, a blue subterranean church and a base. Comes with a custom skybox. The map source is included.

Tags: medium, base, church, courtyard, knave, bricks, skybox, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 2.7/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ninja Registered, rated this a 1 11 June 2021, 20:00

Map is bugged, had to no clip to get to blue key, there is no other way, then when you get the key, the door dosnt exist to open,or it does, but wont open, so i gave up,after trying map 3 times,same result everytime.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 2 11 June 2021, 23:19

Saving crashes the game with QuakeSpasm 0.93.1 under Debian 10.9:

Saving game to /home/username/.quakespasm/id1/s0.sav... *** buffer overflow detected ***: /usr/lib/quake/quake-engine terminated

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 2 11 June 2021, 23:28

No need to noclip to get the silver key, use your eyes. The door did open properly when I used it.

Ninja Registered, rated this a 1 11 June 2021, 23:50

Even with the key, no door or opening would open, with it, i tried every door or crevice with it, maybe because im using spasm spiked version i dont know, but on my machine, the map is bugged, using or not using my eyes.

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 3 13 June 2021, 16:39

Ran it with QuakeSpasm 0.93.2, no problems. Seems like the authors first upload? If this is a first map, i'm quite interested in how this author will develop... Fairly plain map, but quite a few details in some sectors. Others are a bit plain, in general reasonable monster selection/placement, and some secrets are quite well hidden! I think a "3", but i see some potential for the future... :)

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 15 June 2021, 23:31

Very old-school. Plays like a mixtex map from 1996 or 1997. It's crude for sure, but it's also offbeat and more interesting than some of the "good" recent releases. I like much of the architecture, especially the "Quake church."

For me, the map's main drawback is monster placement. It features a bunch of hordes, but in my playthrough, nearly all of them succumbed to automatic infighting. In other cases, I was able to pick off enemies from a distance, making waves of monsters effectively harmless.

Still, this is a nice debut, and I hope the author releases more maps.

zigi Registered, rated this a 3 18 June 2021, 9:03

Exactly what JMP said, and I had zero problems with the sk/gk doors. Not a masterpiece but definitely not worth 1 or 2 hearts.

The Silent Registered, rated this a 1 16 July 2021, 11:16

Hideous Lighting. So-so brushwork. Ugly Texture Choices. Ok combat. Still a long way to go.

stoo Registered, rated this a 4 16 July 2021, 22:44

Had no problems with the key or any doors.

This map was pretty refreshing. Nice to see a relatively unpolished map with some interesting areas, rather than the overdesigned clutterfests that are popular these days.

Having said that, I cruised through this in one go on NM difficulty. A few more monsters and a bit more ammo would have been nice, especially when backtracking.

I only found 2 secrets, and I'm guessing that's perhaps because they're not hidden in ways that most Quake mappers hide them?

I would have given this a 3 but I gave this a 4 to offset the 1 that Ninja gave, as I don't think the map is bugged at all.

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 3 26 July 2021, 17:18

Played with QSS 0.93.2 and didn't encounter any bugs.

Would like to see skill settings implemented on future maps.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in