Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of tchak
Author:Trinca
Title:The Tomb of Chak Toh Ich`ak
Download:tchak.zip (c1dc27ba7c58c0b53da5c4b5621fbdd2)
Filesize:3693 Kilobytes
Release date:05.12.2008
Homepage:http://trinca.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
tchak.txt10 KB05.12.2008
tchak.qkm3903 KB05.12.2008
tchak.map5293 KB05.12.2008
tchak.bsp5763 KB05.12.2008
tchak.jpg66 KB03.12.2008

tchak.zip - The Tomb of Chak Toh Ich`ak

A big mayan city.

Tags: temple, mesoamerican, maya, huge, source, outdoor, tomb

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
KillerGod 2 January 2009, 0:18
:)
Aen, rated this a 5 9 October 2010, 14:37
Very cool!
Qmaster, rated this a 5 23 December 2010, 17:20
Awesome! 5/5
Trinca, rated this a 5 27 December 2010, 15:42
thanks Qmaster glad you like it!
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 18 July 2012, 14:03
Awesome, but why it is listed with only four stars? I don't find the editor's rating fair.
Trinca, rated this a 5 8 August 2012, 23:54
the editor policy, not a democracy!

ohhh is to dark LOL
Spirit, rated this a 3 9 August 2012, 16:10
It is a honest rating.

The map is good but confusing, samey, flat, monsters are placed in boring predictable parallel places.

It is nice, but by no means excellent.
Trinca, rated this a 5 9 August 2012, 17:07
Cool

now got two more critics! flat, dark and borring gameplay :)

that's why so many people quit mapping :)

The crowed if to thought to please!
Trinca, rated this a 5 15 August 2012, 15:17
I know I'm not the best mapper in the world...

But I invested 9 month of my life in this map and I think it deserv better ratting than it had, gameplay is fun in my opinion and brushwork have original designs I don't play any other games... everything came from my mind is not a copy paste of any other game!

But what can i do...

I don't care anymore, no more work from me will be done... most of this comunity don't deserv, that I waste my precios time with mapping!

I will keep playing Quake maps because it still the game that gives me more pleasure to play!

Be cool Spirit, is nothing again't you, but I still think that the map is better than your opinion!

peace!
Spirit, rated this a 3 16 August 2012, 11:15
Cry me a river. <3
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 16 April 2013, 20:56

It's a good map. You can see it got a lot of work into it. It has a straight-forward nonlinear layout and has some original combats and ideas. The brushwork is varied with good details. The secrets are well placed.

But it needs a little bit more to make into the top. As a fellow mapper, I do understand why Trinca thinks this is unfair, seeing that this is probably his best map and he put a big amount of time into it. If it were a 2000 map it would have 5 stars for sure. Lighting doesn't have too much contrast, the brushwork, even if it is a mayan building, it's a tiny bit squarish for it's time, maybe because of the quake textures used in big brushes, open parts and big rooms have a bit dull combat, with lots of monsters thrown in so you have a very long combat, maybe less monsters in a more unfair for the players environment would be better, but inside the buildings, the combat is very good with lots of good ambushes.

Trinca, all those ''buts'' i pointed, take them as compliments, those are things that show how close you are to a perfect map. All are things that if tweaked a little bit, would be more than OK, they DON'T make the map by any means bad. I do prefer people telling me how to improve my map rather than telling me how god it is, so take them like that :) .

I hope to see your next map, Trinca, if this one is like this, the next would be too awesome.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 16 April 2013, 20:57

I forgot, i would rank this 4,5-5.

Turrican_freak Guest 1 August 2013, 23:16

Awesome stuff. Thank you Trinca. As for the gameplay, it's just slower paced than other maps. But that doesn't mean the map it's worse, I found it super fun. Hope to see some other works of yours.

Trinca Guest, rated this a 5 3 October 2013, 23:42

I'm retired :) thanks for comments anyway ;)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 14 November 2013, 14:26

For what it's worth, I agree that this is more than a four-star map. I awarded five, even though it falls short of the very best, because it's closer to 100% than 80%. But maybe the 1-5 rating system doesn't allow enough granularity.

I particularly enjoyed the vores-and-hell-knights ambush on picking up the silver key.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 25 September 2016, 21:47

A very nice temple/tomb complex with good layout and nice details that I found enjoyable to explore, despite the so-so lighting and monster placement. The fight before grabbing the final room was pretty well done. Some parts were symmetrical, some parts weren't, overall I didn't mind much.

It's a shame Trinca took criticism so poorly. They seem to have made some maps after this one (largely speedmaps and only one full release), but have mostly stopped since 2010. I hope it was because they lost interest in Quake or got too busy with "real life" and not because this map got a four-star rating on Quaddicted. :P

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 4 26 September 2016, 13:09

"Trinca, rated this a 5"

roulfffffffffff

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 27 September 2016, 10:13

I do think Trinca would have been wiser not to offer a rating for his own map. However, the record shows that I awarded this five stars three years ago. So whatever others make of it, this map has a lot of appeal to at least some players.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in