Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of tchak
Author:Trinca
Title:The Tomb of Chak Toh Ich`ak
Download:tchak.zip (c1dc27ba7c58c0b53da5c4b5621fbdd2)
Filesize:3693 Kilobytes
Release date:05.12.2008
Homepage:http://trinca.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
tchak.txt10 KB05.12.2008
tchak.qkm3903 KB05.12.2008
tchak.map5293 KB05.12.2008
tchak.bsp5763 KB05.12.2008
tchak.jpg66 KB03.12.2008

tchak.zip

The Tomb of Chak Toh Ich`ak

A big mayan city.

Tags: temple, mesoamerican, maya, huge, source, outdoor, tomb

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 30 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
KillerGod 2 January 2009, 0:18
:)
Aen 9 October 2010, 14:37
Very cool!
Qmaster 23 December 2010, 17:20
Awesome! 5/5
Trinca 27 December 2010, 15:42
thanks Qmaster glad you like it!
hkBattousai 18 July 2012, 14:03
Awesome, but why it is listed with only four stars? I don't find the editor's rating fair.
Trinca 8 August 2012, 23:54
the editor policy, not a democracy!

ohhh is to dark LOL
Spirit 9 August 2012, 16:10
It is a honest rating.

The map is good but confusing, samey, flat, monsters are placed in boring predictable parallel places.

It is nice, but by no means excellent.
Trinca 9 August 2012, 17:07
Cool

now got two more critics! flat, dark and borring gameplay :)

that's why so many people quit mapping :)

The crowed if to thought to please!
Trinca 15 August 2012, 15:17
I know I'm not the best mapper in the world...

But I invested 9 month of my life in this map and I think it deserv better ratting than it had, gameplay is fun in my opinion and brushwork have original designs I don't play any other games... everything came from my mind is not a copy paste of any other game!

But what can i do...

I don't care anymore, no more work from me will be done... most of this comunity don't deserv, that I waste my precios time with mapping!

I will keep playing Quake maps because it still the game that gives me more pleasure to play!

Be cool Spirit, is nothing again't you, but I still think that the map is better than your opinion!

peace!
Spirit 16 August 2012, 11:15
Cry me a river. <3
Cocerello Registered 16 April 2013, 20:56

It's a good map. You can see it got a lot of work into it. It has a straight-forward nonlinear layout and has some original combats and ideas. The brushwork is varied with good details. The secrets are well placed.

But it needs a little bit more to make into the top. As a fellow mapper, I do understand why Trinca thinks this is unfair, seeing that this is probably his best map and he put a big amount of time into it. If it were a 2000 map it would have 5 stars for sure. Lighting doesn't have too much contrast, the brushwork, even if it is a mayan building, it's a tiny bit squarish for it's time, maybe because of the quake textures used in big brushes, open parts and big rooms have a bit dull combat, with lots of monsters thrown in so you have a very long combat, maybe less monsters in a more unfair for the players environment would be better, but inside the buildings, the combat is very good with lots of good ambushes.

Trinca, all those ''buts'' i pointed, take them as compliments, those are things that show how close you are to a perfect map. All are things that if tweaked a little bit, would be more than OK, they DON'T make the map by any means bad. I do prefer people telling me how to improve my map rather than telling me how god it is, so take them like that :) .

I hope to see your next map, Trinca, if this one is like this, the next would be too awesome.

Cocerello Registered 16 April 2013, 20:57

I forgot, i would rank this 4,5-5.

Turrican_freak Guest 1 August 2013, 23:16

Awesome stuff. Thank you Trinca. As for the gameplay, it's just slower paced than other maps. But that doesn't mean the map it's worse, I found it super fun. Hope to see some other works of yours.

Trinca Guest 3 October 2013, 23:42

I'm retired :) thanks for comments anyway ;)

MikeTaylor Registered 14 November 2013, 14:26

For what it's worth, I agree that this is more than a four-star map. I awarded five, even though it falls short of the very best, because it's closer to 100% than 80%. But maybe the 1-5 rating system doesn't allow enough granularity.

I particularly enjoyed the vores-and-hell-knights ambush on picking up the silver key.

Lane Powell Registered 25 September 2016, 21:47

A very nice temple/tomb complex with good layout and nice details that I found enjoyable to explore, despite the so-so lighting and monster placement. The fight before grabbing the final room was pretty well done. Some parts were symmetrical, some parts weren't, overall I didn't mind much.

It's a shame Trinca took criticism so poorly. They seem to have made some maps after this one (largely speedmaps and only one full release), but have mostly stopped since 2010. I hope it was because they lost interest in Quake or got too busy with "real life" and not because this map got a four-star rating on Quaddicted. :P

onetruepurple Registered 26 September 2016, 13:09

"Trinca, rated this a 5"

roulfffffffffff

MikeTaylor Registered 27 September 2016, 10:13

I do think Trinca would have been wiser not to offer a rating for his own map. However, the record shows that I awarded this five stars three years ago. So whatever others make of it, this map has a lot of appeal to at least some players.

Greenwood Registered 29 January 2020, 5:33

Pretty cool map. I really wish the lighting was better. If that was improved and some of the earlier encounters tightened up (for example, the first outdoor encounter was easily dealt with by just running around in a circle), then I would definitely give it a 5. It has some nice brushwork and I rather enjoyed the latter half of it.

Stef Registered 29 March 2020, 20:54

Like it

Huge architecture sometimes repetitive with good previsible ambush...I like that

Not to complicated in combat and even if you can sometimes turn arround to know what's next the flowability of gameplay is rather good

Misses pehaps some good covering music but this could only be a detail

Great Job Man :)

Gioyo3aa 10 December 2020, 21:19

I picked up the gold key, pushed a button, was told "You can leave now", but I'm now stuck in that area because bars have been drawn. Any hint?


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

I Like Quake Guest 28 July 2021, 21:56

I just finished all the maps released by Trinca alone. I loved them all.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in