Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ter_shibboleth
Author:KenChennar alias Orl
Title:Ter Shibboleth
Download:ter_shibboleth.zip (26d1d968b202c572c6b647479b323642)
Filesize:71001 Kilobytes
Release date:01.09.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Quakespasm-0.92.2.zip1528 KB01.09.2017
beach.wad1457 KB12.07.2016
chamber.wad1120 KB11.09.2016
desert.wad1696 KB31.07.2017
hypnagogic.wad4410 KB31.07.2017
pagoda.wad5207 KB14.08.2017
readme.txt3 KB01.09.2017
shib1.bsp57708 KB21.08.2017
shib1.map14316 KB19.08.2017
shib2.bsp25639 KB03.09.2017
shib2.map6940 KB03.09.2017
shib3.bsp40842 KB03.09.2017
shib3.map20297 KB03.09.2017
shib4.bsp37043 KB05.08.2017
shib4.map12999 KB05.08.2017
shib5.bsp41199 KB06.08.2017
shib5.map27133 KB06.08.2017

ter_shibboleth.zip - Ter Shibboleth

Episode with five huge, uniquely themed levels: a beach resort under a Golden Gate Bridge, a puzzle map set in an industrial storage facility, an Asian temple, a twisted otherworldly fortress, and a western mining town. Most of the maps use custom textures; the texture wads and the map sources are included.

Note: These maps require an source port with severely increased limits and BSP2 + protocol 999 support, such as Quakespasm 0.93.0 or higher.


Tags: large, episode, limits, bsp2, realism, beach, base, puzzle, abstract, asian, temple, fortress, vista, town, western, desert, experimental, textures, source, quake_awards_2018_winner

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.7/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Greed Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2017, 10:10

Seems like many people have problems getting this running. You'd need the latest build of Quakespasm which you can grab here: http://quakespasm.ericwa.com/job/quakespasm-sdl2/

Unpack the archive to /Quake/shib, then create an autoexec.cfg inside /shib with the following commands: svprotocol 999 glfarclip 256000 map shib1

Then run quakespasm.exe -game shib, either thru a shortcut or a BAT file.

First of all, this map pack is VERY stingy on ammo. I had to resort to axing and triggering enemy infighting quite a few times. Surprisingly, medkits are a plenty, but this doesn't mean much if you haven't got any ammo to fight with.

Maps are huge, the largest made for Quake yet, but I have to admit they're too big for their own good. Quake's movement speed, weapon range etc just doesn't work well in such Build games like environment. Ultimately you'll be running around trying to shotgun 50 ogres and this is just not my idea of fun.

The Rocket Launcher would've helped a LOT (think Shadow Warrior which also had very large open levels but let you use powerful explosives indiscriminately so that you can quickly dispose of enemies), but it's surprisingly nowhere to be found.

From an artistic point of view the maps are somewhat interesting as they try to tackle different settings such as East Asian, Western etc. But the brushwork and textures are pretty crude. Not to mention that the lack of fog and skyboxes makes the outside areas seem almost overbright.

Ultimately, Ter Shibboleth is only interesting from a technical point of view, like "how big can you make Quake maps be". But from the gameplay perspective it's a chore where you crawl over huge open areas, get stuck in brushwork, all the while thinking if you can survive your next encounter with 20 shells and 50 nails.

dwere Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2017, 12:05

So I was swimming across the Golden Gate, ready to explore Fort Point, quite sure there's a neat secret somewhere behind it, even if it's just a decoration. I was rather excited. There wasn't anything quite like this in Quake before.

Then I hit an invisible wall. Gee, thanks.

I mean, it's definitely a step forward from all the Quake maps where the watery horizon is being cut-off after, like, maybe two meters, exposing the sky. But still, all that space, and so little opportunity compared to it.

Didn't have any ammo problems in the first map on normal. Aside from the time when I took an elevator to where one of the exit keycards is located, and bumped into a vore and a shambler with approximately nothing. The elevator didn't work anymore, so I panicked, found a balcony and threw myself off it, which lead to a long acrobatic journey in search for supplies. I like this kind of stuff.

onetruepurple Registered 10 October 2017, 20:08

Dwere: It was impossible to go beyond where you hit the wall because those areas exceed the space limit of 8192^3 units of Quake.

If you want maps that make fuller use of the space available, I recommend Warp Spasm.

dwere Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2017, 20:39

But the game draws stuff beyond that point just fine. Moreso, I can noclip there and walk around.

Anyway, I wanted to praise surprisingly good frame rates, but then I reached the third map. I disabled vis for shits and giggles, and it didn't make the performance worse. I still dragged myself to the end of the map hoping that the next one is gonna be faster, but no such luck.

What I've seen so far is very impressive, if somewhat crude at times. Ammo balance is still fine. At some point I had more cells that I knew what to do with, but that ended as soon as the lags started.

Greed Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2017, 22:47

Yes, maps 3, 4, 5 are not VISed, since they will supposedly take 100+ MB VISed. So you will suffer a pretty big performance hit. Funnily enough, if I turn scr_showfps on it still shows 60 FPS, even though my mouselook is dropping frames.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 11 October 2017, 22:44

Nice maps! Some maps are scary, some are epic. I wanna mappack with big-big-world with separated islands, where we see every island from every as in sun.map

Hexcalk Guest 11 October 2017, 23:10

It seemed irritating to me that "Sun" just kept on screaming "Hexcalk" since I released a Japanese/Asian-themed level before Ter Shibboleth was finished. It's better than mine, you know. However, one thing to note here is that shib3 was actually developed before I created hc1. To think "Sun" was influenced by hc1 is an exaggeration, and if any then hc1 barely helped the completion of shib3 circa 2017.

This mappack by ORL is admittedly better than my maps, so I would be a better Quake-related person if I spent more time commenting on others' maps themselves than my own works. Nowadays I comment in small amounts on Func_Msgboard so that I calm down.

Dom Guest 15 October 2017, 9:09

It seems like a successful experiment in advanced scales. A new sight of the void that is not hidden in the fog or darkness. And, no doubt, shib2 and shib5 looks like completely finished and yummy!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 19 October 2017, 21:33

What the hell is with some of the severely low ratings here????

Yeah map 1 not that fun beyond the novelty (although the nonlinearity and hopping on rooftops is cool), and even map 3 is only pretty good aside from the theme and huge scenery. But maps 2, 4, and 5 are just jaw-dropping. 2 has the awesome teleport puzzle room, 4 is just a great new take on an old Quake theme with consistently surprising constructions and gimmicks, and map 5 fully delivered on the promise and concept of the first map.

Sure the unvised maps may tank your framerate but I found it to be worth it. As for them being too large to navigate quickly, well all I'll say is these maps finally learned me how to bunnyhop.

Between this and Cataractnacon ORL is a true visionary in my opinion.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 20 November 2017, 13:50

The regular release of Quakespasm can now run this, as of version 0.93.0. Changed the map description accordingly.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 9 January 2018, 13:22

I thoroughly enjoyed Needlehorn (shib1), which takes place in a resort hotel on an island near a Golden Gate-like bridge. At first I thought exploring lots of similar corridors and rooms would become confusing, but in fact the layout is well thought through and I always had a good sense of where I was. Ammo didn't seem particularly low to me (contra Greed's comment), but I tend to play in an ammo-efficient sniping style anyway. There is a big, beautiful secret near the end which gives access to the hotel roof. There is a ton of ammo there, so you can stock up for the subsequent levels; also, a lot of monsters only appear if you reach this area.

Looking forward to the next level.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 10 January 2018, 11:31

On the second level: I hugely admire the big puzzle room where it keeps turning upside down every time you go through a teleporter. But I can't for the life of my figure out the solution. Does anyone have a video demo for that area?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 11 January 2018, 11:53

I cheated my way through the second level, though I'd still like to know the right way to solve it.

On the third level now (Sun) -- close to the end, but I can't find anywhere to use the Gold Key. It doesn't open the little turret that is the second building. What am I missing?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 11 January 2018, 15:11

Oh, I found it's one of the cliff ledges behind the houses.

KenChennar Guest 11 January 2018, 18:23

Hello MikeTaylor, I hope you're enjoying the episode so far. I have made a demo for you playing through all of shib2, showing how to solve each puzzle. If I were to guess, you got stuck on the three button puzzle, which I admit is probably the most difficult.

http://www.quaketastic.com/files/demos/orl_shib2.rar

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 January 2018, 13:15

Many thanks, KenChenner, I will check on that!

In the mean time, I finished the fourth level, Shattered Soul of the Scarabrus -- all 212 kills on Hard, but only 1/5 secrets. (Though come to think of it, I found two others, but I didn't pick them up because they were megahealths and I already had 100.)

Pros: lots of great set-pieces, and a unique sense of the whole area being literally crazy. Cons: arbitrary progression, loss of access to some previously visited areas, and a rather sudden, anticlimactic ending. I enjoyed it, but not as much as I did the very beautiful Sun.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 January 2018, 17:14

Finished the last level, Across the tattered Amyclaean and loved it. Probably the best "realism" map I've ever played. So much to explore, so many bad guys to pick off along the way. Ended up with 319 of the 321 kills (but again only one secret).

All in all, this is a truly great pack, not just because of the execution and playability, but because the concept is so unique.

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 23 July 2018, 18:52

I'm not sure yet how to rate this pack as a whole. I haven't tried all the maps yet, and really didn't get on with a couple of the giant ones that I had a go at.

"Blastocyst" is great though! Mostly a "puzzle" map, so you fundamentally have to be OK with button-puzzle-stuff in your Quake-ing to enjoy it. I am, and I liked the central gimmick about how the main space works (which I guess I won't spoil here). And the actual puzzle-ness ends up being pretty straightforward.

One thing I'm not sure about: there seemed to be one puzzle that requires an understanding of how to best use/exploit strafing in air control, while taking your finger off of the +forward key. That seemed a little arcane for something on the main progression path... however maybe I was just overlooking the actual solution.

Also the last fights leading up to the exit are placed in a super-trippy setting. I don't think I've seen anything quite like that, and it was disorienting in a cool way.

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 28 July 2018, 20:01

I ended up quite liking the western-themed map too. Good work at presenting an open zone but still having discrete routes that you need to find and use to open new areas. The terrain work is distinct too, cool stuff. Buildings are a bit cookie-cutter and mostly not interesting inside, but they're not really the point of the map.

Esrael Registered 31 July 2018, 11:04

The map "Shattered Soul of the Scarabrus" won the "Best Oddball Map" category at the Quake Awards 2018.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in