Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of the_metal_shrine_repack
Author:vaf
Title:The Metal Shrine
Download:the_metal_shrine_repack.zip (a3a671a7c3d20b5cc998ae2f958808bb)
Filesize:870 Kilobytes
Release date:25.03.2018
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
shrineNormal0h07m13sRoman6662018-06-06

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
quaddicted_repack.txt1 KB27.03.2018
shrine.bsp2263 KB25.03.2018
shrine.txt1 KB25.03.2018

the_metal_shrine_repack.zip - The Metal Shrine

Small Metal/runic map with a base part at the beginning.
[repacked for Quaddicted]


Tags: small, metal, runic, base

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JMP Registered, rated this a 3 5 April 2018, 17:15

A very good debut effort, packing a lot of creative ideas into a relatively small map. But I found the gameplay frustrating in a couple respects:

a) Apart from the beginning section, it's cramped and the architecture tends to be sticky. E.g. the part of the map shown in the screenshot looks very stylish and distinctive, but it's easy for the player to get stuck there while fighting scrags and death knights.

b) It's impossible to beat without finding secrets. IMO this is a bad idea unless you make it clear that exploration is a necessary part of the gameplay.

OTOH, the secrets themselves are great. They're cleverly hidden without being too obscure. I think they're also well-placed, in the sense that they tend to be somewhat removed from the parts of the map with the most enemies, so the player has to strategize about when and where to use them.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 30 April 2018, 12:14

Very nicely constructed for a debut, with plenty of play. I enjoyed the variety of areas and the silver-key secret, though some parts of the map felt rather cramped in a 1990s kind of way.

I was a bit disappointed by the ending: I was free to walk into the teleporter without the rune, finishing the level; and when I did take the rune, nothing happened (apart from the ineffective bars in front of the teleporter rising, which made no difference.) Since I had only 62 of the 68 monsters at that point, I expected the other six to warp in, and to have a satisfying finale battle. I guess they must all be in the one secret that I missed.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 6 May 2018, 8:24

A good solid debut map with classic looks and gameplay! I think what I liked the most about the map were the secrets and this one underwater combat scene with quite a bit of verticality.

I agree that movement is at times kind of awkward/cramped, but it wasn't too distracting. I also agree on the final battle being kind of anti-climactic. There was plenty of room for some fiend combat, for example.

Still, a very enjoyable map! Good work!

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 13 May 2018, 23:55

The Metal Shrine on The Quake Grave

This is just a variation of the comment I left on Func. Vaf and I already talked about the issues with some of the brush work, level design and short supply ammo towards the end. However, there is some really nice stuff going on here too! My favorite area is probably the underwater zombie area. It's a little unconventional but I think it works really well! I had fun trying to figure out the best way to take out those Vores. ;)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in