Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of throughthegatesv3
Author:Mike_C
Title:Through the Gates of the Silver Key
Download:throughthegatesv3.zip (a491995ffad2b1e3d1104f00d5367dfa)
Filesize:1804 Kilobytes
Release date:18.09.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
throughthegates.txt2 KB16.09.2020
ttg.bsp3891 KB18.09.2020
ttg.lit1041 KB18.09.2020
ttg.map2236 KB18.09.2020

throughthegatesv3.zip

Through the Gates of the Silver Key

Medium-sized oldschool-style brick dungeon level. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, bricks, dungeon, medieval, limits, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
fairweather Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2020, 15:02

A decent old school level. A bit rough around the edges, would have knocked socks off in the 90s though.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2020, 18:18

Old-school indeed. I was just getting into it when it ended — it feels like it wants to be the opening section of a bigger level. That said, what's there I enjoyed. I especially appreciated the rocket-launcher secret, which was not really difficult but made me feel a sense of achievement.

The Silent Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2020, 19:26

Solid. Old School. Went back to the rl after MT comment.

The Silent Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2020, 19:41

Also, nice last secret.

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 4 11 October 2020, 9:51

Nice. I just like it. 'Essential Quake' or something... :)

JuanchoES Registered, rated this a 3 11 October 2020, 20:09

Nice old school level, but the door won't open when i pick up the golden key (the door that closes when you take the golden key) i'm playing on vkquake.

JuanchoES Registered, rated this a 3 11 October 2020, 20:34

Replaying the map again, the door has now opened... Weird

iYago Registered, rated this a 4 26 October 2020, 23:44

A pretty good old school style map, very fun to play.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 3 30 October 2020, 13:57

Same issue as JuanchoES, I had to noclip after getting the gold key.

Other than that, it's a fun little map.

h3xx Registered, rated this a 2 13 November 2020, 3:01

I got stuck on the boss room; one death knight and 3 shamblers wouldn't teleport.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 29 November 2020, 2:41

Through the Gates of the Silver Key on The Quake Grave

A good, old school looking vanilla map, I'm always on board for that. This has an old school look, but a couple of the fights feel more contemporary and can be challenging! As a first map, I can already tell that this has a distinct feel from the author, so I'm really looking forward to your next maps Mike!

huanlopan, rated this a 3 2 December 2020, 14:06

Also reporting in that the golden key room is bugged. If you stay in the center and let the ogres and death knights come out, the vore will not be triggered. If you leave the center immediately, the ogres and death knights get telefragged, and the vore will spawn, allowing you to exit the room.

Fun map, but I must echo that it felt like the introduction to something bigger.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in