Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of thtc
Author:WarrenM
Title:The Hell That's Coming
Download:thtc.zip (fca4d1696692940f532ecd7c0e96646b)
Filesize:5742 Kilobytes
Release date:14.11.2014
Homepage:http://www.wantonhubris.com/
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
TheHellThatsComingNormalAAS6662015-03-11

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/grimmnight_bk.tga3073 KB14.11.2014
gfx/env/grimmnight_dn.tga3073 KB14.11.2014
gfx/env/grimmnight_ft.tga3073 KB14.11.2014
gfx/env/grimmnight_lf.tga3073 KB14.11.2014
gfx/env/grimmnight_rt.tga3073 KB14.11.2014
gfx/env/grimmnight_up.tga3073 KB14.11.2014
maps/TheHellThatsComing.bsp6620 KB14.11.2014
maps/TheHellThatsComing.lit2364 KB14.11.2014
maps/TheHellThatsComing.map6387 KB14.11.2014
progs.dat399 KB14.11.2014
readme.txt1 KB14.11.2014

thtc.zip - The Hell That's Coming

Medium-sized medieval map with fairly linear gameplay and some monster modifications.

Tags: medieval, limits, medium, castle, cave, monsters

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 32 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 16 November 2014, 14:17

Not a fan of the changed ogres... If I did not like Quake, I would not play it. ;)

Lovely vibe overall. Some bits felt a bit tacked on but the UT like textures and lighting are a nice nostalgia bonus.

Breezeep Registered 16 November 2014, 23:00

Screenshot still coming?

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 17 November 2014, 2:21

Very beautiful -- reminds me a bit of sock's work; specifically In the Shadows.

I thought the map was better to look at than to play, though: it is very linear, and it is easy to get stuck on the (magnificent) level geometry. The secrets are also a little too easy. The modified monsters are ... odd. Not sure what to make of them.

In any case, I am very happy to see one of my favourite mappers return to Quake (for those who do not know, WarrenM = Willem).

mfx Registered, rated this a 5 17 November 2014, 6:30

Beautiful indeed.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 17 November 2014, 16:18

Good, solid, uncomplicated fun. If I'd not just spend the last few days lost in the wonder of RRP, I would probably have given it four stars; but in light of how the bar's been raised in the recent months, I think three is more appropriate. There is a prettiness to the architecture but it's not really enough to lift the level above "OK" level, when the combats are so straightforward, the secrets so obvious, and (worst of all) the progression so linear.

Tabe Registered, rated this a 4 17 November 2014, 18:08

Its straightforward, from point A to point B. I enjoyed it a good bit but IMO it could use more enemies.

It was really pretty to look at and you never felt like an area was underdetailed or bland.

LeopolD Guest 17 November 2014, 23:32

Excellent, looks beautiful throughout. Since I am a little rusty in SP, I didn't mind the linear gameplay.

Daniel Guest 19 November 2014, 23:12

Good map!

Really nice looks! The Red armor secret was nice!

I thought the tight ledge on the cliff at the start was more annoyance then challenge though, felt a bit frustrated to be so contricted when there's multiple grenades coming at you.

Also think the skull cave would look better more assymetric.

But nice work!

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 21 November 2014, 14:46

The Hell That's Coming on The Quake Grave

I died a lot but I had fun in this one! A couple areas of the map are just too dark (cave, area before the arena) but when you can see the castle, it looks beautiful. Great look, good atmosphere, just a little dark in areas. Great work!

...oh, but no more group Spawns, okay? =P

WarrenM Guest 22 November 2014, 13:37

Thanks guys!

Lord of the Undead Guest 23 November 2014, 22:53

Good map here! I love the tone shifts. The water tunnels were really claustrophobic and stressful and the arena fight started and stayed frantic. The shambler mod was a nice touch. I really admired the architecture too. All around fun level to play.

negke Registered 24 November 2014, 11:40

This map does not exceed any limits; the tag is wrong.

Slipgate Tourist (AR) Registered, rated this a 4 24 November 2014, 16:43

Very enjoyable, beautiful, linear map, I love the underwater graveyard.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 24 November 2014, 17:03

negke, thanks for the correction. I was just going by what WarrenM wrote in the Func_Msgboard release thread:

This should work with any extended engine. It exceeds a limit or two, but doesn't go so far as to need BSP2.

Scampie Registered, rated this a 3 25 November 2014, 2:58

Looks great, the environment is nicely detailed and well constructed, but I found the gameplay too straightforward and unchallenging, so didn't catch my interest.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 8 December 2014, 20:59

Good linear layout with nice side areas. Good atmosphere. Quite good brushwork except on the cave or underwater areas which isn't to the level of the rest but almost there. Easy combats and lots of room to move, around ID skill 1 in difficulty, and decently done, but there is some enemies that won't hit the player in their lives. Needs skill choices. Nice secrets, but maybe too easy to reach (not to find) and with too big rewards sometimes, the exception being the RA one, that even though it is too much of a reward, the way to activate it is a very good one. Good use of colored lighting.

I would love if the door that connects the part at the beginning and the arena would open after the fight. Same with revisiting that room again, just as a option to go back would be enough. The part till the building at the beginning could be larger to add more atmosphere.

Rated 5- because of the flaws in gameplay and because it needs something that makes it stand out more aside from brushwork and theme, but of course it is a recommended map.

FifthElephant Registered, rated this a 4 5 January 2015, 13:09

Good map but the difficulty is a bit steep for my tastes. I can't give anything less than 4 star though, it's a beaut.

Daz Registered, rated this a 3 9 March 2015, 21:05
DeeDoubleU Registered, rated this a 4 16 March 2016, 10:41

"Boss" wasn't moving for some reason while I SG spammed him from doorways without entering the room.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 4 25 August 2016, 12:40

Great dark medieval vibe. The approach was well done and shows the export model process to be a success!

I actually liked the water catacomb section...the limited breath makes tensions high...but I am sucker for anything water in about any game.

Mugwump Registered, rated this a 4 17 June 2017, 13:29

Just played this today thanks to a comment by onetruepurple over at Func_... A nice map with lovely visuals and well crafted geometry. As others have noted, it lacks some interconnectedness and is a bit on the easy side (will have to replay this on skill 3), but is still quite fun to play.

Agree with Bloughsburgh, flooded catacombs are cool! Maybe a tad too bright though, compared to what's above sea level.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in