Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of titerope
Author:Glenn Ancheta
Title:Tightrope
Download:titerope.zip (8ff6cba80928d66ec29d31baf37177f8)
Filesize:77 Kilobytes
Release date:07.10.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
TITEROPE.BSP204 KB02.10.1996
TITEROPE.TXT3 KB07.10.1996

titerope.zip - Tightrope

Very small and very pointless stone map.

Tags: small, wizard

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 1.8/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 16 December 2013, 16:51

I found it fun, even though it is very small and the brushwork is very plain and ''cubish''.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 16 December 2013, 23:06

Very weak. Small, arbitrary, uninspired. Contains both silver and gold keys, but neither of them is used for anything. At one point, I couldn't get down a lift to fight a shambler because we was standing underneath it trying to get at me. 1/5.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 2 12 June 2014, 23:40

Really poor work. Corner "teleports" are strange, they're like water and you can lift up swimming in it.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 1 3 December 2014, 22:46

That is not how you spell tightrope. It is how you spell a boring, ugly, confusing and short level though. Not recommended at all.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 1 6 January 2015, 14:12

Ugly and bland visuals. The map is very short but also very confusing to navigate due to all the false walls. The combat is not difficult at all. This level is rather terrible, avoid it I say. 1/5

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 28 August 2015, 14:59

Titerope on The Quake Grave

I echo everyones comments above. The map is basically ping ponging you from one room, to another but there are only 3 rooms! I do think you need to get both keys for the exit to show, but Mike above is correct in that I don't know that either are actually used to open anything in the proper sense, like when you walk up to a door. It's an ok map.

What is with the beginning area and the opening/closing walls? And the green armor? I could never figure out the right pattern to get to that.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 2 July 2017, 15:12

I found the opening and closing doors at the beginning an interesting enough quirk to warrant this map a 2/5 from me.

pmk Guest 11 October 2018, 5:14

horrible plain, boring, ugly 1996 quake map. I would recommend playing the level designer's previous levels such as "evil pool" or crossroads over this level. This map gets a 1 out of 5 rating from me.

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 3 11 October 2018, 8:56

I can't dispute the comments above, but I feel a bit more positive about the overall assessment. The architecture might not be inspired, but the overall atmosphere of the level is okay. Within the confines of this fairly small level, the combat felt reasonably well-balanced.

The main downside was, indeed, that the map departs from established mechanics (e.g., gold key opens gold door) without doing much to telegraph what is going on. Still, it doesn't hurt too much in a map so small you can't get lost in it.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in