Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of torment
Author:Madfox
Title:Tormentarium
Download:torment.zip (4341d645291d16bf458f35e11fd9d3c1)
Filesize:5225 Kilobytes
Release date:02.09.2012
Homepage:http://members.home.nl/gimli/
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
torro/pak0.pak13747 KB16.09.2012
torro/progs.dat418 KB13.08.2012
torro/tormentarium.txt3 KB16.09.2012
torro/witzraz.tga316 KB16.07.2012

torment.zip

Tormentarium

Large metal-style industrial facility surrounded by caverns; features a few custom map props.

This is the second version, the first release named torro.zip can be found in the trash/.


Tags: large, metal, industrial, machines, models, pipes, sewer

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4/5 with 24 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Midgard Registered, rated this a 4 3 September 2012, 6:17
Fun, well thought-out, somewhat non-traditional design...could have been a bit longer & a bit harder (nightmare not too too challenging...)
martin Guest 3 September 2012, 20:27
Thanks I enjoyed playing it !
erc Registered, rated this a 3 8 September 2012, 19:59
I would have liked this more if it wasn't so cramped and hard to navigate. It is worth playing though, due to the well-implemented, somewhat original theme.
Madfox Registered 9 September 2012, 2:46
Thanks for your appreciation.
I know this is a irragular map.
It appeared only by accident.
Hope there are enough healthboxes.
:P
taniwha Registered, rated this a 4 13 September 2012, 4:27
It's a rather interesting map, and quite fun, but it could do with a few clip brushes, better water depth and/or watervis (there were times were the water was eye-level deep, resulting in nasty nearclip issues). Also, the narrow pipes were a little difficult to navigate because of quake's angled corner physics bug.

I didn't find any secrets, and got only 140/141 monsters :/

Still, a good map and I liked the props :)
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 23 October 2013, 10:31

sweet map.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 7 February 2017, 6:12

You know, I actually thoroughly enjoyed this map. Sure it's cramped in places, and especially those narrow curved pipes are not the best fit for the Quake engine. The colored lighting is also a bit odd at times. But overall, it does something that few 2010s mappers seem to want to do: it takes a huge dose of 1997-esque primitive abstract weirdness and infuses into a map built on more modern scale. That gives the map a personality to make up for the lack of dozens of filigreed brushes bristling in every corner.

Not a map for everyone but if you can overlook the wobbly bits there's creativity to admire here.

JMP Registered, rated this a 5 31 January 2019, 3:10

A personal favorite. Gameplay is not perfect, but the map's originality and artistic qualities more than make up for that.

emprosthotonos Registered, rated this a 5 24 August 2020, 8:21

I loved this map, it oozes personality and atmosphere. I liked fighting ogres and zombies in tight spaces, but in some places it felt artificially cramped, to the point monsters were clipping through the ceiling. I also didn't like the skybox very much, but that's nitpicking. This map is awesome!

Qmaster Registered, rated this a 4 6 May 2021, 4:21

Actually quite good despite being a bit cramped. Interesting details, fun shapes, excellent interconnectivity, found the balnce of weapons quite good and used all my weapons almost equally. The tight spaces were well packed together, loved seeing new spaces through gaps and windows. There were some clever monster placements, particularly the zombies who were placed just right where you thought you could get away with grenading them directly but took just a little damage. Easy to run out and find your self with enemies behind you. Pipes were fun though a bit hard to navigate in a couple places...and yet hard to navigate right when a spawn was in your face...I think it's intentional!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in