Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of tsotm
Author:nolcoz
Title:The Secrets of The Mansion
Download:tsotm.zip (b9ffbf59331d1501eb5aee059b50ba55)
Filesize:2045 Kilobytes
Release date:26.12.2018
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
tsotmNightmare0h10m37sEsrael6662018-12-29
100 % nightmare, recorded with Quakespasm-Spiked, protocol FTE666

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
tsotm.bsp3517 KB13.12.2018
tsotm.lit1317 KB13.12.2018
tsotm.map1879 KB13.12.2018
tsotm.txt2 KB13.12.2018

tsotm.zip - The Secrets of The Mansion

"Medium sized medieval and base map".

Tags: medium, base, medieval, textures, nonlinear, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 29 December 2018, 14:06

A thoroughly enjoyable map. The blend of texture styles, mainly base and medieval with some custom ones, works really well. The brushwork felt somewhat simple, and every now and then I noticed some textures that could've been aligned a little bit better, but I'm nitpicking here.

The map has some really clever mechanisms with destructible machinery, walls and floors, which made the map feel refreshingly dynamic. During my second playthrough, when I was hunting secrets, I noticed how at times there are multiple ways to get to places, which adds some cool nonlinearity to the table, and without breaking the map. The secrets are clever, fun and rewarding.

Item/health balance seems pretty good to me, although at times it felt like nails were a smidgen too plentiful.

Combat was varied, enjoyable and appropriately challenging. Perhaps the largest hiccup was the final fight, though, which was a bit anticlimactic and I could kill the monsters from the outside with the GL.

I wonder if this is nolcoz's first map, because for a first one it's an extremely good one! I'm kind of weighing whether to rate this 4 or 5/5, but considering modern map standards, the somewhat lacking final fight combined with brushwork and texturing that were missing just that little amount of polishing required for a 5/5 map, may just force me to rate this a 4/5, but a very solid one at that!

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 4 6 January 2019, 21:23

I'm giving this one a solid 4.0. The architecture is basic, but the gameplay is solid.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in