Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of tww
Author:Ludovic Texier
Title:The Warefare Warehouse
Download:tww.zip (0cfc47ba0ca65cfb3f5c389c07762246)
Filesize:538 Kilobytes
Release date:12.03.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
SHRAKLIC.TXT9 KB19.02.1997
tww.bsp1106 KB22.10.1996
tww.map397 KB22.10.1996
tww.txt1 KB12.03.1997

tww.zip - The Warefare Warehouse

Small Base map. Barely average.

Tags: base, small, source, dm

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JMP Registered, rated this a 3 20 February 2018, 21:00

A small, gritty base map with a couple of non-linear touches. Gameplay is generally decent, although it's slightly cramped and I found the progression confusing at one point.

It's a good map for its time, and far better than the author's previous map, which itself was far better than its predecessor. It's too bad this seems to be Mr. Texier's last map, because at that rate of improvement he would have become a star mapper.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 23 December 2018, 9:34

Aesthetics: I really like it. It really feels like a warehouse cluttered with crates and machinery to operate them and such; gritty, as JMP put it. The lighting is atmospheric, with the author playing with shadows tastefully, i.e. not making areas completely dark and frustrating the player. Solid 4/5 territory here, I'd say.

Combat and gameplay: Agreed with JMP about the decent gameplay and confusing progression. The map gave me the impression of having been designed primarily as a dm map (and sure enough it has dm starts). The non-linearity makes the single player experience less cohesive, with monsters and equipment of varying levels being scattered seemingly randomly in the map, obfuscating the sense of progression. The map's also pretty short, so gameplay-wise I'd rate this something like 2,5/5.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 23 December 2018, 9:56

Oh yeah, forgot to mention, that the map's probably called Warfare Warehouse, not Warefare Warehouse. Sure, the readme file says 'warefare' and 'warefare' looks like it could be a pun when combined 'warehouse'. However, the map file itself says 'warfare'; it's packed with enemies and all the game's weapons and warefare doesn't even mean anything. Crash also called it the Warfare Warehouse, so maybe rename the entry here?

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in