Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of unforgiven
Author:Tronyn & PM
Title:Unforgiven
Download:unforgiven.zip (d4be320e87eddcab9da5276452d88f9f)
Filesize:32773 Kilobytes
Release date:26.06.2011
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/dsky1_bk.tga444 KB15.05.2007
gfx/env/dsky1_dn.tga11 KB15.05.2007
gfx/env/dsky1_ft.tga443 KB04.03.2008
gfx/env/dsky1_lf.tga444 KB15.05.2007
gfx/env/dsky1_rt.tga444 KB15.05.2007
gfx/env/dsky1_up.tga9 KB26.10.2008
gfx/env/duske_bk.tga593 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duske_dn.tga769 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duske_ft.tga581 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duske_lf.tga572 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duske_rt.tga672 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/duske_up.tga460 KB15.07.2004
gfx/env/gehenna_bk.tga659 KB25.08.2004
gfx/env/gehenna_dn.tga768 KB25.08.2004
gfx/env/gehenna_ft.tga694 KB25.08.2004
gfx/env/gehenna_lf.tga649 KB25.08.2004
gfx/env/gehenna_rt.tga682 KB25.08.2004
gfx/env/gehenna_up.tga498 KB25.08.2004
maps/unf1.bsp5358 KB26.06.2011
maps/unf2.bsp6337 KB26.06.2011
maps/unf3.bsp6667 KB26.06.2011
maps/unf3intro.bsp1242 KB26.06.2011
maps/unfstart.bsp889 KB26.06.2011
pak0.pak24465 KB12.06.2011
pak1.pak11425 KB12.06.2011
progs.dat1591 KB20.06.2011
sound/music/unf1.wav4566 KB03.11.2010
sound/music/unf2.wav1937 KB03.11.2010
sound/music/unf3.wav1003 KB03.11.2010
unforgivenreadme.txt4 KB26.06.2011

unforgiven.zip - Unforgiven

Epic fantasy episode with three huge levels, hardcore horde battles with many new monsters and bosses, several new and modified weapons and items from the Drake mod (latest version is included). It also comes with a start map, custom skyboxes and background music.

Note: This episode requires an engine port with increased limits. The max_edicts value has to be raised to 2048 if supported.


Tags: large, episode, horde, hard, medieval, fantasy, textures, monsters, music, drake, limits, boss, dragon, castle, fort, tower, mountain, skybox, hexen 2

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.6/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
denizen 22 July 2011, 19:22
WOW...
Lava Croft, rated this a 5 28 August 2011, 19:04
Some of the monsters (like the Hexen2 archers) are a bit too slow to be actually overwhelming cq. scary, but goddamn this is one fine piece of work. Thanks!
qbism 30 October 2011, 6:18
Video of UNF3 gameplay featuring hordes on 'nightmare'
http://youtu.be/LOenE94-_p0
Tronyn 11 November 2011, 7:02
I was seriously impressed. DaZ did some other videos on Unforgiven but my main thing was that Chthon wasn't nearly as threatening as he should be here. PM knew this and he's made some new AI. I liked the fisheye, third person, shots of the dragon, etc, and the editing together of all of it. It was interesting to see how other players approached the situation in these maps, I dumbly assumed that my way was an "intuitive" one that new players would just "figure out."
qbism 21 November 2011, 4:32
I'm glad you enjoyed the vid. In making the shots, I tried different approaches to the map, mostly "reckless" (with lots of game saves), to get the most action scenes. Most of the monsters are placed according to their strengths: Ogres up high with open fields of view, fast ones like knights and fiends have acres to roam, not to mention the flyers. So it's a big challenge to find those defensive "holes" from which to take pot shots. Even these places can become an ammo-draining siege without careful planning. This series, and especially unf3, are highly replayable due to the many strategy options in their vastness.
denizen 22 November 2011, 0:26
I try to do all levels on nightmare, without reloading once. A challenge!
Chip 22 November 2011, 10:38
Heh, played unf1.bsp this morning and got late to a client meeting. Can't wait to play the other ones. However, I experienced some errors using DirectQ, with map freezing just right after the first flight of stairs. I used noclip to get unstuck, but somehow, 3-5 seconds later I got stuck again.
Daz, rated this a 4 25 November 2011, 19:52
Video playthrough of the first map - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwqGneCX2bg
badger 23 December 2011, 18:16
The second level crashes on me at the beginning.
Spirit 23 December 2011, 18:17
Using which engine?
badger 23 December 2011, 18:39
I used fitzquake.
Tronyn 7 January 2012, 6:35
There's probably a real clipping error (bsp, so it'll reappear whatever engine you use) in the map there. Sorry I can't help right now.
New version will be out this year. I should have clipped more carefully, there's always a problem.
negke 7 January 2012, 10:39
badger: You need to set "max_edicts 2048" in the console for the second level to work.
badger 12 January 2012, 19:50
i set the max_edicts to 2048 and now it works a lot better. thanx negke
badger 12 January 2012, 19:50
i set the max_edicts to 2048 and now it works a lot better. thanx negke
Lava Croft, rated this a 5 28 January 2012, 17:21
Beat it in 3-player coop last night. Only ran into one coop-unfriendly 'gate-closing-behind-you' near the end of unf2.bsp.

Higly recommended for coop!
Tronyn 29 January 2012, 9:23
Shit, glad that gate didn't stop you from winning entirely. What map was it in, map 2?
Anyway me and PM are planning to release our own Q1SP/Q1COOP megamod this year, so things do need to make sense.
Tronyn 29 January 2012, 12:22
yee remind me to read more carefully and pay more attention. Will be fixed before final release. Glad you enjoyed the episode!
Spirit Registered 22 September 2012, 23:14
Note to self, quakespasm does not work serving this.
ezzetabi Guest 31 May 2013, 14:50

I played all the maps at Nightmare. The first map of this set is probably the best I ever played I simply cannot recommend it enough. The second was nice. The last one is also great; I only felt two flaws: inside the tower was a little boring (just run up...) and all the Sharats outside seldom slow down the game too much (find hiding place, shoot, await Sharat purple ball to explode, repeat until Sharat is dead...)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 November 2013, 13:34

Absurdly good. Just astonishing.

FacilisDK Registered, rated this a 5 18 April 2014, 0:53

Wauv! this is just... Overwhelming (and good fun). Stunning maps. How about that complete movie Daz? ;)

NoNameUser Guest 11 June 2014, 14:34

While I'm not really a huge fan of horde (more like slaughter) maps, I really enjoyed most of this pack. However, I thought the final boss was incredibly unfair. There's no cover at all to avoid its attacks, and apparently it doesn't matter if you are at max health and armor because the thing decimates you with just about two shots. I couldn't see any real strategy against it other than jumping all the way down the tower and unloading lots of nails and cells on it from below; it was kind of cheap but there was nothing fair about that boss fight. Prior to that, activating the surrounding smaller towers was just as frustrating, I must've died over ten times just getting fireballed and mauled in mid-air by those imps, then pressing F3 again and again to load the last save made it more aggravating.

Kurt Guest 23 June 2014, 16:22

Downloaded and played it after seeing a playthrough on youtube. Loved it so much! The maps are huge with loads of enemies! I wish retail games were like that. Brilliant!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 27 September 2015, 23:18

Where do the dragons get fun? Fast moving flying distant beasts that are impossible to hit with most weapons and can instakill? No thanks. I may just god-mode my way past the dragon on the top of the castle in level 2. Trying again and again and again wore out my patience.

negke Registered 28 September 2015, 2:05

Use the crossbow!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 28 September 2015, 18:50

Well, I did it without cheating in the end, by running away to a building, waiting for it to approach the entrance, and hosing it down with the shambler-gun.

Yes, the crossbow would be ideal here; but for some reason I don't seem to be able to select it.

Blood Vengeance Registered, rated this a 5 2 October 2016, 12:53

This is absolutely one my favourite releases, Tronyn made another masterpiece: huge maps, nice atmosphere, elements from Hexen 2 and awesome fights with huge horde of enemies (last level, unf3 reminds me Serious Sam gameplay, with swarms of monsters coming to you). Only "boring" part is in last level when you get the boots to fly and you have to press the pillars while surrounded by imps trying to kick your ass.

epiplon Registered, rated this a 3 10 October 2018, 19:10

The maps are cool, but I'm not much of a fan of the monster and weaponry clusterfuck. Some bosses are unfair, maps gives too much ammo to deal with basic enemies but gives you nothing to defeat bosses. Plus you have to cheese most of them.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 15 December 2018, 8:42

Played on skill 1. Absolutely delicious horde combats and huge layouts and scenery. Just loads of fun, one of my favorite Tronyn/Drake releases.

I liked the low gravity aspect and openness of the final map. I thought the flying bit was kinda cool, though there's not much air control. To fly between towers you really need to have some forward momentum going into the jump, and even then you can get knocked around by the flying monsters. Also, saving one or two pairs of flying boots will make the subsequent fight a bit easier.

The main thing about the bosses on that map are that their attacks are cheap. They all mostly hit like Chthon or harder. For the final final boss just have the multi-rocker launcher and LG ammo and the almighty circle strafe handy. It took me a few reloads but wasn't that bad--nothing like the end of A Roman Wilderness of Pain, anyway.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 4 3 July 2019, 16:17

I just finished this again in Nightmare and found all secrets in the last map, but apparently I only have 452/458 kills. I really have no idea where the missing foes might be, has anyone been in this situation?

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in