Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of wca
Author:K.S.
Title:Weird comic art Quake
Download:wca.zip (dd18681b12bfb0094621eeb34f5607e5)
Filesize:560 Kilobytes
Release date:17.07.1998
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
wcaNormal0h07m57sIcantthinkofanickname6662016-05-27
100% demo to show location of secrets

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
WCA.bsp1377 KB17.07.1998
wca_jp.txt2 KB17.06.1998
WCA.TXT2 KB17.07.1998

wca.zip - Weird comic art Quake

Small to medium sized blue brick map. Very basic in terms of looks and gameplay, however there are many original machines, animated bits and mapobjects. Some funny features here, worth a look for sure.

Tags: medium, brick, traps, boss

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
jackieben Registered, rated this a 4 8 January 2014, 18:23

Blocky, but not bad for an abstract map

Made by Koumei Satou, check his other works(hl/hl2), he progressed to professional levels after this http://www2d.biglobe.ne.jp/ks_wca/game1.htm

He's the author of the rather famous hl2mod Mistake of Pythagoras

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 9 January 2014, 16:38

Really strange. In many respects it looks primitive, and the gameplay has that same arbitrary-sequence-of-events quality that I criticised in sksp2b. Yet there is something compelling about just how out-there it all is.

BTW., there's a bug (at least, there was for me, playing in Darkplaces under Ubuntu GNU/Linux): very near the start, behind the block of sky shown in the screenshot, is a double-barrelled shotgun. Right next to that is the (invisible) edge of a teleporting area which takes you to near the end, missing out about three quarters of the map. Avoid that by sticking close to the back wall when behind the sky block.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 10 January 2014, 16:06

jackieben: Thank you for drawing my attention to this map (I downloaded it shortly after you left your comment, but only had a chance to play now).

I agree with both comments above – it may have its shortcomings, but this is a lovely, wonderfully quirky release.

MikeTaylor: That's weird; I did not encounter that bug in either Quakespasm 0.85.9 or DarkPlaces 20130304 (under Xubuntu 12.04).

By the way, jackieben and MikeTaylor, since you enjoyed this map, perhaps have a look at this: https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/afhell.html. It's not in the same league, but also interesting and unusual, and possibly somewhat underrated (your mileage may vary, of course).

jackieben Registered, rated this a 4 3 February 2014, 21:33

Did you hunt all the secrets, I couldn't find 1-2 as far as I recall

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 4 February 2014, 9:56

No, I got 3 or 4 out of 6 as I recall.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 27 May 2016, 20:05

Finally managed to find all six secrets. Here is a guide in case anyone is interested (contains SPOILERS, of course!)

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 31 March 2017, 11:13

The machines, the rotating objects, the artwork, and the secrets are all wonderfully creative. Worth playing as a novelty.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in