Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of welloflostsouls_repack
Author:Miss Bubbles
Title:Well of Lost Souls
Download:welloflostsouls_repack.zip (a5997af365e17480fadb0c32e4d25912)
Filesize:694 Kilobytes
Release date:16.03.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
WellOfLostSouls_Readme.txt3 KB16.03.2017
ew2.bsp1828 KB16.03.2017
quaddicted_repack.txt1 KB18.03.2018

welloflostsouls_repack.zip

Well of Lost Souls

Small to medium-sized map inspired by E4M2- The Tower of Despair.
[repacked for Quaddicted]


Tags: medium, bricks, tricks, traps, elder world

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating:
4.3/5 with 28 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Lane Powell Registered 29 March 2018, 21:04

Exceptional 'id-style' map. Same goes for the same author's runic-themed Onholy Ossuary. I had a lot of fun with both.

JMP Registered 1 April 2018, 0:35

E4M2 was my favorite map in the original game, so I was eager to play this... and I found it disappointing. E4M2 is great because it has such a bizarre, menacing atmosphere. Everything in the map is off-kilter. This is brighter and, despite the blood-stained walls, it feels cleaner, less weird. I also disliked the water pit--it looks different from the rest of the map, and I had difficulty getting out of the cage because whenever I tried to shoot the red buttons, the game kept directing the shots to the zombies instead.

To be fair, the reason I didn't enjoy this is more my expectations than the map itself. I expected a certain atmosphere and was disappointed when it felt different, even thought it's a decent map. The secrets are nice, and the first fight in nightmare mode is pretty tense. Likewise for the first shambler appearance.

AssemblyLineHuman Guest 2 April 2018, 1:37

A good reinterpretation of E4M2, though perhaps a little too similar to the original. Playing through this, it almost feels as if you are playing E4M2 again, instead of playing an original level inspired by it.

Nevertheless it was enjoyable with good gameplay

MikeTaylor Registered 25 April 2018, 15:43

I like this a lot: the opening is genuinely hard (on Hard), and there's only just enough ammunition -- but there is enough, so it doesn't become a scavenger-hunt axe-fest. The very ending is maybe a tad anticiimactic, but all an all this is a fine invocation of the spirit of E4M2 without slavishly following its details.

dumptruck_ds Registered 9 July 2018, 20:24

This map has fantastic encounters and atmosphere. I loved the e4 style "tricks and traps". I found this much more satisfying and clever than many of the more modern maps.

hqn Registered 20 July 2019, 7:40

Great job, I'm looking at maps like these to sharped my mapping chops. The puzzles and traps were a lot of fun, and it kept me on edge, barely scraping by with enough ammo.

Borax Man Registered 4 October 2019, 10:11

Sandy Petersons E4M2 is one of my favourite iD maps, so any map in that style is going to win points with me.

This map is quite similar, though a little larger and as JMP said, 'cleaner'. Maybe because this level is a little more polished. The difficulty was just right, the design good and gameplay pleasing. My only gripes are some of the corridors were a little samey, and while I do like the E4M2 style this map could have done with a little more freedom and artistic licence in interpreting the theme.

Nevertheless, this is an archetypal Quake style level, done right.

Solomoriah Registered 5 October 2019, 6:07

Short and sweet, with a nice assortment of challenges.

Text_Fish Registered 5 May 2020, 10:54

A brilliant tribute to E4M2, with small multiple routes that keep you guessing but never make you feel cheated. This map oozes vanilla Quake to me.

Combat is exciting and challenging, often throwing you in to the midst of the action feeling ill-prepared but up for a go. At one point I found myself having to take a shambler out with grenades which was a little tedious, but it feels like that was down to my poor ammo management rather than anything else. I only found one secret area but it was a very usefully placed Quad just when I needed, so extra points for that.

Good use of shadows.

I liked it.

Spirit Registered 17 August 2021, 21:22

A really sweet E4 map, had lots of fun! The traps are super well made imo, not damaging too much but giving a nice jolt. Combat is nice!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in