Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of xl2
Author:xlarve
Title:The Citadel of Sinners
Download:xl2.zip (605cbdb0703fcd68d11f377e5f0aa320)
Filesize:4439 Kilobytes
Release date:01.12.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
xl2/xl2.bsp703 KB28.11.2017
xl2/xl2.lit178 KB28.11.2017
xl2/xl2_readme.txt2 KB01.12.2017
xl2/xl2m1 legend EN RU.txt7 KB01.12.2017
xl2/xl2m1.bsp6932 KB02.12.2017
xl2/xl2m1.lit3622 KB02.12.2017

xl2.zip - The Citadel of Sinners

Very large fortress/citadel with many corridors and ambushes. Comes with a small skill selection map.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.
[Does not work with the Quake Injector]


Tags: large, medieval, metal, mixtex, fortress, citadel, start, limits

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JMP Registered, rated this a 4 26 June 2018, 17:16

A huge improvement over the author's debut. A few aspects of the design are questionable (e.g. the stained glass windows lined with moldy rocks) but overall quite a fun map.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 11 October 2018, 0:12

Having read JMP's comment, I was a bit disappointed to play this: it felt very similar to Xlarve's Dream with almost all the same strengths (big, fun blast in satisfyingly chunky architecure) and almost all the same weaknesses (all the rooms feel the same, no sense of progression). The only big difference is that, while the first map was brutally difficult, especially early on, this one is terribly easy. It's crazily over-provisioned, with at least twice as much health and ammo as you need. So it all felt very low-stakes.

And yet, and yet ...

It's obvious from this map, and the previous one, that xlarve has the technical chops. I'm confident that there are great maps in him, but they're not going to come out until he starts paying more attention to narrative, to flow, to development, so a sense of getting somewhere.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 3 3 June 2019, 17:29

I actually forgot that I had never finished it until I found a saved game today. There are some nice elements, but if I recall correctly I gave up on this because I got tired of getting lost among those halls that all look the same.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in