Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of something_wicked
Author:Tronyn, PM, Tyrann, necros
Title:Something Wicked This Way Comes
Download:something_wicked.zip (0b03d26eca1549eafdc30f385138c070)
Filesize:37399 Kilobytes
Release date:19.12.2012
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/deepblue_bk.tga457 KB05.03.2003
gfx/env/deepblue_dn.tga763 KB05.03.2003
gfx/env/deepblue_ft.tga426 KB05.03.2003
gfx/env/deepblue_lf.tga488 KB05.03.2003
gfx/env/deepblue_rt.tga427 KB05.03.2003
gfx/env/deepblue_up.tga83 KB05.03.2003
maps/wicked.bsp18763 KB11.12.2012
maps/wickedend.bsp3883 KB18.12.2012
maps/wickedstart.bsp6062 KB11.12.2012
pak0.pak24465 KB12.06.2011
pak1.pak11425 KB12.06.2011
pak2.pak4701 KB11.12.2012
pak3.pak6355 KB11.12.2012
progs.dat1760 KB11.12.2012
something_wicked_readme.txt5 KB12.12.2012
sound/music/six.wav2044 KB11.12.2012
sound/music/smiths.wav928 KB11.12.2012
sound/music/stone.wav992 KB11.12.2012

something_wicked.zip - Something Wicked This Way Comes

Three-map singleplayer campaign of epic proportions: A huge arcane demon fortress built into a mountain, complete with a canyon start map and a bloody boss arena. The levels are based on the Drake mod (included) which features a plethora of new monsters and items. Many secrets and hard gameplay.

Note: These maps require an engine with BSP2 support as well as increased limits. See our https://quakewiki.org/wiki/BSP2 page.


Tags: huge, bsp2, large, drake, fortress, caverns, canyon, waterfall, dungeon, textures, dkt, heretic, monsters, medieval, epic, start, secrets, castle, limits

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Daz Registered, rated this a 4 20 December 2012, 0:15
30 secrets in the main map, is this a new record? :)

As you have to use RMQ for this release, and the RMQ defaults for some of the visual effects will be undesirable for some, here are the cvars you will want to change:

r_motionblur "0"
r_colored_dynamic_light "0"
r_colored_dynamic_light_mflash "0"

The only cvar I couldn't find was for the gl_flashblend style dynamic light halos, I'll post again if I find it.
Daz Registered, rated this a 4 20 December 2012, 0:30
r_show_coronas "0"

Thanks onetruepurple!
onetruepurple Registered 20 December 2012, 0:32
For the above:

r_show_coronas "0"
onetruepurple Registered 20 December 2012, 0:32
DERP
user3226 Guest 22 December 2012, 3:43
I can't get this to run.

Tried RMQengine-win32 and it says:
"wicked.bsp has wrong version number 1112756274 should be 29"
Also tried: fteqw.exe -game wicked
and it never finds the map.
user3226 Guest 22 December 2012, 4:02
Never mind, got it to work now. =)
Denizen Guest 24 December 2012, 1:04
Only found 29 secrets :(
Than Guest 30 December 2012, 8:33
Damn you Tronyn. I thought I was going to hold the secret record with apsp3, but you blew me away by a whole 10 secrets (also, maybe there were more than 20 in some other large maps?)

Very, very good map that is like a whole episode in 1 bsp. I really don't know how Tronyn pumps out so many massive and awesome maps in such a short space of time, but I hope he keeps doing it!
JFH Guest 1 January 2013, 22:08
User 3226, I get the same messages and still can't get either engine to load. How did you solve the problem?
user3226 Guest 3 January 2013, 21:48
Under windows, I still needed to upgrade to the very newest RMQEngine-Win32.exe, which is revision 3736, instead of using my older revision.

download here:
http://svn.icculus.org/*checkout*/remakequake/engine/Experimental/RMQEngine-Win32.exe?revision=3736

JFH Guest 3 January 2013, 23:17
Thanks, user3226. I finally got it to work on my old PC, but it wouldn't run RMQ. It somehow DID run with fteqw_dll_gl.exe and I don't know how I stumbled across that, but it was choppy on the main map. It still looked wonderful, but I eventually had to scrap playing it b/c my video card just isn't up to-date enough.

I finally found the disk that I thought I'd lost for my more powerful computer -- was using it for recording music with a higher cap. HDD and THAT disk is...no more :/ -- and it runs ok with an Nvidia 5200 card with the settings on min. and (still) with 32 bit graphics; runs ok. The fog effect on the start map is fantastic, and this is (so far) shaping up to be one of my most favorite maps (yet again one of Tronyn's) ever at 256 kills so far on hard. Now I can run RMQ, but I like the tweaking capability with fteglqw better, however, it won't run this game, but will run standalone. Get some kind of error message "Host_Int: An error occurred. Try the -condebug commandline parameter." Well, that doesn't do anything and a google search turned up nothing except technical compilation things that are beyond my scope.

This IS a great map though, and I'm just happy to be able to play it at all! Thanks, Tronyn, PM, Tyrann, and necros for such a monumental and professional looking effort. You guys all should be making top dollar in the biz IMO!
Aen Guest 13 January 2013, 11:47
I've download fteglqw64.exe, but how can i start the game? Please help me.
Johnny Law Guest 18 January 2013, 3:29
In the console enter "gamedir wicked" then enter "map wickedstart".

Make sure you are using the experimental build of FTEQW; the stable build won't work.
JFH Guest 25 January 2013, 0:49
Really, really enjoyed this map/level. Thanks again for your collective effort and please, more!!
Daz Registered, rated this a 4 1 February 2013, 14:48
Finally got around to makeing the video playthrough of this :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jeah5DAIYf8
inf78 Guest 13 February 2013, 21:56
Generally quite nice. Tronyn's, hmm, 'Doom fetish' is here as well, but so what. :) Some open parts let the whole architecture just breathe, awesome.
The map has only one problem. The difficulty at the very end. It's too much for my nerves. So unlike Honey, I'll likely not play this one 3 times, but who knows.

P.S.
Linux 32bit RMQ binary worked just fine, no need to get latest svn for just this one. For everything else, I always use quakespasm, but I had to make an exception because of this map. Well, it's not like RMQ would feel so different. ;)
Lost in the maze Guest 12 March 2013, 0:58
Of all the Quake maps, Tronyn's are the best. Architecture, atmosphere, monster placement( his easy is harder than the original's nightmare!), and game flow are superb. However, I'm completely stuck in this map! I've long since found the silver and gold key, even wandered all the way back and opened the OTHER gold key door. I've been through ever door accept the main door under the big Quake and the 'dragon magic' door. Someone give me a damn hint!
Tronyn Guest 15 March 2013, 22:51
Hey, thanks for the compliments. So, you have the secret gold key (near the start) after you got the gold key in the cavern where the statues attack?

Actually, maybe the best thing to do is to is to watch Daz's video playthroughs on Youtube; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jeah5DAIYf8 and there's a Part 2 and Part 3 as well. Skip ahead to when he's where you are now, and then see what he does. Hope that helps and thanks again!
Lost in the maze Guest 16 March 2013, 22:40

Ah, excellent suggestion, Tronyn. Thanks, I shall watch it! And you and those who worked on this deserve the highest praise. I'm still in the first map but its is just AWESOME.

erc Registered, rated this a 5 14 May 2013, 21:10

This is Quake, in 2013 - period. Tronyn deserves all the credit for creating such an epic.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 17 August 2013, 4:39

So this doesn't run on Quakespasm huh? Damn you OS X... Maybe I'll try it anyway, cross my fingers :P

marco75 Guest 13 September 2013, 12:09

This runs in Darkplaces, though framerate is uneven. Will try again with different settings/another engine. Clearly pushes the limits of the id tech 1 engine.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 15 September 2013, 2:47

Cool, I've never played with Darkplaces but I'll try it.

Lava Croft Guest 1 October 2013, 1:53

Just finished with 3-player coop, took us 100 minutes in total and it was worth every minute. Very impressive.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 25 November 2013, 18:05

Even if this is not your kind of gameplay, if you're interested in Quake you should at least look at these three maps (especially the start map and the main map), because they are spectacular.

I adore the unapologetic extravagance and breathtaking scale of the start map. Gameplay in the main map is perhaps a little chaotic for me, but that's a matter of personal preference; one could certainly argue that being constantly shot at from all directions is realistic. The final map is a fittingly dramatic conclusion (though too much for my nerves/reflexes, so I just switch on godmode at that point).

When it comes to maps of epic proportions, my personal favourite is still Marcher Fortress, but there's no denying that Something Wicked does what it does very, very well.

1path0gen1 Guest 30 November 2013, 16:26

It's probably worth to mention that FTEQW engine is the best bet to play this pack at the moment imho. - The newest experimental build has some fixed bugs (thanks for the engine developer, Spike). - The performance is significantly better than Darkplaces (100 fps vs 60 at some points of this map). - It also doesn't produce certain oddities like RMQ build 3714 at least on my system (specifically, non-playing door/lift sounds, no ammo level displayed for Magic Wand).

To get rid of ugly fullbrights on textures in FTEQW you'll need to use 'rfbbmodels 0' cvar setting (requires vid_restart).

Other cvars I'd find useful: rwaterstyle 1 - sets default quake water (2 sets pretty shader always transprent water, which will kill fps on this map) vidconautoscale 3 - enlarges menu and hud

Also fteqw.exe can be launched with -nohome key to prevent relying on "My Documents" folder and keep it compact and portable.

QuakeForever Registered 16 February 2014, 2:53

I can't get the map to work with RMQ, get the 'should be 29' error user3226 reported. Could you give me the workaround?

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 16 February 2014, 12:37

QuakeForever, I know this is not an answer to your question, but for what it's worth, I had no trouble at all running this under DarkPlaces (so if you cannot find a solution to your problem with RMQ, DP might be a feasible alternative).

onetruepurple Registered 16 February 2014, 12:45

Quakespasm can now run BSP2 as of this build

QuakeForever Registered 16 February 2014, 17:28

Thanks for the help :)

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 10 April 2014, 10:24

Bootcamped my shitty Mac and played this. Brutal and awesome.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 12 April 2014, 2:44

I'm just not good enough to beat these insane Tronyn final battles though. Christ....

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 12 April 2014, 2:52

I guess it's mainly those annoying Quoth flying lightning monsters. There's not a lot of cover so their attacks are tough to dodge--actually one of the reasons I like Quake better than most modern shooters (say, post-Halo) is that most standard Quake enemies have dodgeable attacks, so the game tends to emphasize agility rather than just using cover and shooting fast. But ok, I just need practice I guess. But getting used to these massive horde battles is rather like getting used to bullet hell shooters for me.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 12 April 2014, 2:53

*their attacks are tough to avoid I mean (if I could dodge them, i.e. if they didn't connect instantly, I wouldn't have this problem!)

FacilisDK Registered, rated this a 5 18 May 2014, 21:52

Runs smooth as silk on DirectQ :)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 19 August 2014, 1:03

I have finally made it to the end of the main map -- 677/690 kills and 17/30 secrets on Hard. I will have much more to say about this (especially once I've played the end-game map) but I just wanted to note my achievement.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 19 August 2014, 17:21

Uh, make that 18/30 secrets -- I walked across from one of the tall towers (with the quad) to the other (with the pendant). Not that it was much use to me, as I'd long before cleared that area out.

Now nothing lies before me but the horde combat of the final map -- which I have to admit I am not really looking forward to.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 20 August 2014, 12:12

Well, the first thing to say is that this is an astonishing technical and artistic achievement, and it would be churlish in the extreme of me not to award five stars. So I will. The architecture is unquestionably the most astonishing I've ever seen in Quake, and there is something exhilarating about returning to the same vast caverns at ever higher levels.

That said, there is something about the extreme size of this map that makes it, in the end, feel like a bit of a grind in places. You can work your way through fabulous chamber after glorious hall, then look down and you've only killed 120 of the 690 monsters. To my surprise, I found myself thinking I'd have had more fun if the vast main level had been split into four merely big levels. I can't really explain this -- it doesn't make much sense even to me -- but that's the impression I was left with.

So I admire it more than I enjoy it.

Also, the giant combat in the final map ... it just does nothing for me. Being inundated by dozens of spawns? Where does that get fun. Unless I missed something, there's no real way to avoid the combination of them and all the bosses that appear next. So I went shamelessly into god mode to finish, which is always an unsatisfying way to complete a map.

Still and all, I don't want to end this comment on a low. The important thing is that this map is truly awesome and I'm truly amazed that this has not only been created but given freely to the world. Incredible.

Karl_Delacroix Registered, rated this a 5 17 October 2014, 18:26

Worked wonders with Darkplaces, loved every second of this map. The pacing was perfect and the map felt cleverly built, with the next step never being too obvious nor too far from where you are. Fights were engaging and nicely placed, while the last map could be a bit overwhelming at first, it gave you all the tools to curbstomp the horde.

Completely awesome.

bloodsnipe Guest 28 March 2016, 17:27

Late to the party, but I just finished it using quakespasm last night, and I have to say hands down, an amazing single player experience. Everything about this "map" was incredibly well done - layout, monsters/bosses, weapons, scale/flow/balance...just incredible. I especially liked the fact that not only is it just one HUGE map (instead of several small episodic maps), but it flows very smoothly (very seldom are you stuck, lost, or have to backtrack.) I actually have zero complaints.

Also, the boss stage has such doom like ominousness and is challenging as "hell", absolutely loved it.

Doc_Holliday Registered, rated this a 5 27 April 2016, 9:52

Stunning map...I was so immersed....Any more from these guys?

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 27 April 2016, 10:31

Yes, plenty! Search their names in the archive--I recommend Tronyn's A Roman Wilderness of Pain and necros's The Altar of Storms.

bfg666 Registered 3 May 2016, 1:18

"See our BSP2 Format page." The page in question was relocated to QuakeWiki but the link sends an error 404.

Spirit Registered 3 May 2016, 18:35

https://quakewiki.org/wiki/BSP2 works fine here.

Doc_Holliday Registered, rated this a 5 6 June 2016, 6:44

Thanks guys for the links...

quakespasm-sdl2 works wonderfully on these maps - 2nd play already and still as brilliant to play...

marc moses Guest 2 July 2016, 20:54

your maps failed. i read the file's readme and followed the directions it said to install the maps and it gave me an error

spy Guest 2 July 2016, 22:46

it seems you're failed, lol

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in