Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 37_hcm1
Author:Mazu
Title:37th Relic Retrieval
Download:37_hcm1.zip (4fa27946178e8807fa25c5b71ac7177f)
Filesize:16467 Kilobytes
Release date:24.01.2019
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:ad_v1_70finalad_v1_70patch1

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
37_hcm1.bsp33442 KB24.01.2019
37_hcm1.lit8278 KB24.01.2019
37_hcm1.map14690 KB24.01.2019
37_hcm1_readme.txt3 KB24.01.2019

37_hcm1.zip

37th Relic Retrieval

Huge nonlinear IKbase level with over 900 enemies. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions and a source port with increased limits and BSP2 support.


Tags: arcanedimensions, base, huge, nonlinear, ikbase, large, ad, industrial, factory, limits, bsp2, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 37 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 27 April 2019, 22:41

A tremendous map in every respect. Right up there with Rubicon Rumble Pack/AD maps in terms of just being a huge fuckoff base, though the detailing is maybe closer to Travail. Combat is dense and sometimes even brutal (some might say "grindy") on skill 2, keeping me in the red for a lot of my playtime, so be prepared. Also be prepared for a huge time investment. The map may not have the real estate of a Ter Shibboleth but it will take time to explore. There's plenty of distinctive areas and an organic sense of exploratory and sometime secret-like progression, so it's catnip for mapcrawlers. I completed it in 140 minutes, with only 13/37 secrets and 823/925 kills (!).

Definitely one of my favorite maps in recent times.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 28 April 2019, 16:29

How many seekers does a map need? :) I really doubted I would be able to finish this, and I'll probably revisit it when I've recovered. Getting all secrets and all kills seems overly ambitious though, I'm not sure I can manage to find enough ammo.

I'm looking forward to further work from the author. Well done!

Smilecythe Registered, rated this a 5 5 May 2019, 4:36

Here's a 100% Nightmare walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhL1vyD2vSg

Awesome map throughout

Hal Registered, rated this a 5 16 August 2019, 22:08

Damn, I just finished this in 142 minutes and got about 85% of the stuff. This is like the Forgotten Sepulcher of Base maps. It has everything! Great story, great set pieces, loads of secrets, good visuals and the gameplay is pretty fun. The ending is really excellent too considering it's just a single map. You get invested in the whole story of the place from logs scattered around, then it pays off. I found it more immersive than most other maps.

The sense of scale is probably the best I have seen in Quake for ages. Not just because it's huge, but because of the way it gradually progresses. You see previously visited areas underneath brand new areas, it really gives the sense of being in a tangible space. Yunno, "oh my, that's the place where I was 15 minutes ago" kind of shit.

The only thing I might fault is the visuals in some areas later on, they look a bit 90's (areas lit too brightly with few coloured lights, repetitive texture work etc). Hardly a bad complaint, Quake is from 1996. I'm just spoilt by the really modern look of Sepulcher/AD/xmasjam2018 etc.

Highly recommended.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 25 November 2019, 18:01

Could it be, could it be, could it possibly be ... a base map better than Telefragged? It might be! I've played that one four or five times, so I know it like an old friend, whereas I've only played 37th Relic Retrieval once, so I'm not quite ready to call it, but it just might be! At any rate, definitely one of the two all-time best base maps, and putting it ahead of the other two in RRP (A Locust in August and Ceci N'est Pas un Pipe) is really saying something.

It's not merely huge, it's a huge place, where it feels like real work is going on and where all the various secret routes open up new ways to old places. The only map I've ever played that comes close to the same feeling of actual exploration is Sock's Hordes of Zendar.

Absolutely top drawer in every respect: map, detail, progression, and — most of all — the brutal but fair gameplay.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 26 November 2019, 13:15

One quibble: I didn't enjoy the various monsters' invulnerability to explosives. For me, that added nothing, and made a useful weapon much less useful. As a result, I played almost the whole level with the SNG and the two shotguns, which is a slight loss.

whybmonotacrab Registered, rated this a 5 30 January 2020, 20:11

This is hands down one of my favourite maps. Very atmospheric, very challenging (maybe too challenging at the end, I died at least 12 times there) but mostly fair. Very interesting and well thought out layout. I love how non-linear it is and how you'll constantly open up new routes to where you need to be. I love the story. It does the data-logs thing quite well.

Will definitely be playing anything Mazu releases in the future.

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 1 March 2020, 0:07

Map is way to big and confusing, lost count how many times i got lost, couldnt find my way back, to where i got lost.Completed all on skill 3.But no fun doing it. It was a chor in the the end.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 11 September 2020, 13:32

Just to say I've played this twice more since my initial review, and loved it both times — maybe even more than the first time. The whole thing is just magnificent, and close to flawless.

AKosir 16 December 2020, 12:50

Is it just me, or using shotguns cause a slight hiccup when the pellets hit their target? Haven't noticed this on small maps such as ad_chapters, so it might be my system? Using Quakespasm Spiked and vanilla particles.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Ninja, rated this a 5 12 January 2021, 21:26

Skill 3 nightmare 982 kills so far,havnt had time for secrets, to busy being killed every 20 seconds lol most brutal map ever,on nightmare 3 slugs from anyone,and your dead lol


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

ShubShubAzathoth Registered, rated this a 5 9 February 2021, 15:05

What a piece of art!

Jugador Registered, rated this a 5 7 March 2021, 2:51

In the silver key section, I dropped to the slime room and pressed a button that prompted the message "lift now active", but I couldn't find any lift or any other way out, so I was stuck there. Did I miss something?

Also, I didn't like that so many enemies were invulnerable to grenades, as Mike mentioned.

Not much else to complain about. This is one hell of a map. Play it now.

triple_agent Registered 5 June 2021, 16:27

I have not completed this map. Infact, I have not even perhaps begun it properly - relatively speaking; minding how humongous it is, if to only assume just by the monster count, which nears to one thousand.

The map, has an old school vibe to it - some love it, some prefer the newer, more modern wave. Gusta.

Speaking of which, the map, does feel like a 'Quoth'-based project, more than an 'Arcane Dimensions' one. This, possibly for the choice of assets and themes. Good, though, that you have chosen the 'Arcane Dimensions' base of content over the 'Quoth'; for the first one, appears more doable in terms of heavy difficulty spikes you like to employ.

The map is abundant in sharp ambushes; the difficulty level intelligence of design, is impressive, if not downright overwhelming at times. Fine combo with the drones shooting from uphigh and the guard dogs attacking in the meantime on the ground. I do not like the toxic warfare units, though.

Why did I not complete this map?

The "37th Relic Retrieval", unfortunately, encapsulates what is typically considered bad in the "base" themed maps. Bland colourtones without having much contrast included anywhere, melding together in the mind of an observer to form a rather unfulfilling impression of a maze, where any pointers - in time - become meaningless. Synergized with brutal and unforgiving fights within tight spaces - or becoming overwhelmed in somewhat more open areas - it just all becomes one, lingering struggle, without the promise of anything else but more of the same struggle, especially if to remind oneself of the high monster count.

If one simply does not enjoy it for what it is, nor has any other motivation to go for, one quits it.

Kind of ironic, though, to say all that, for myself.

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 22 July 2021, 1:21

Wow. I didn't expect THAT. The fully fleshed story. I didn't do all the secrets so I am 12/37 and 559/678 kills, so I suppose I missed some story bits. Nevertheless I found enough notes to clearly understand what happened in the end. The best stand-alone I ever played. Some episode like Dwell go better but ONLY due to being episodes. As a solo map it Number 1 for me personally. Astonishing. Like a little game. I wish it could be sellable so I could buy and recommend. THANK YOU sir, you amused me and a lot

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 22 July 2021, 1:25

PS. I have to admit on some battles I had to "god" because it was way too unbeatable on Normal which was like a Nightmare to me. For example that underwater sequence was unbeatable, I mean that final part with machines and those flying drones. Or in the room with slipgates and some flying guy with LOTS of health... etc.

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 22 July 2021, 1:33

By the way what is IK in IKbase?

Gila Registered 22 July 2021, 6:40

@Alex Ros: it stands for "Iikka "Fingers" Keränen" - a mapper/artist from Finland, you can search for his maps here. He also created two (maybe more, but I remember two) maps for Q3A and perhaps some for Q2 as well. He later went to work for Valve, and still is there. Back in the Q1 days, not only his maps were good, but he also created a few of texture sets, namely ikbase and also ikblue.

baro Guest 13 October 2021, 19:49

how to play the game?? What is the map name?

baro Guest 13 October 2021, 19:50

i cant start the map! map name??

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in