Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 37_hcm1
Author:Mazu
Title:37th Relic Retrieval
Download:37_hcm1.zip (4fa27946178e8807fa25c5b71ac7177f)
Filesize:16467 Kilobytes
Release date:24.01.2019
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:ad_v1_70final

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
37_hcm1.bsp33442 KB24.01.2019
37_hcm1.lit8278 KB24.01.2019
37_hcm1.map14690 KB24.01.2019
37_hcm1_readme.txt3 KB24.01.2019

37_hcm1.zip - 37th Relic Retrieval

Huge nonlinear IKbase level with over 900 enemies. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions and a source port with increased limits and BSP2 support.


Tags: arcanedimensions, base, huge, nonlinear, ikbase

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.9/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 27 April 2019, 22:41

A tremendous map in every respect. Right up there with Rubicon Rumble Pack/AD maps in terms of just being a huge fuckoff base, though the detailing is maybe closer to Travail. Combat is dense and sometimes even brutal (some might say "grindy") on skill 2, keeping me in the red for a lot of my playtime, so be prepared. Also be prepared for a huge time investment. The map may not have the real estate of a Ter Shibboleth but it will take time to explore. There's plenty of distinctive areas and an organic sense of exploratory and sometime secret-like progression, so it's catnip for mapcrawlers. I completed it in 140 minutes, with only 13/37 secrets and 823/925 kills (!).

Definitely one of my favorite maps in recent times.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 28 April 2019, 16:29

How many seekers does a map need? :) I really doubted I would be able to finish this, and I'll probably revisit it when I've recovered. Getting all secrets and all kills seems overly ambitious though, I'm not sure I can manage to find enough ammo.

I'm looking forward to further work from the author. Well done!

Smilecythe Registered, rated this a 5 5 May 2019, 4:36

Here's a 100% Nightmare walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhL1vyD2vSg

Awesome map throughout

Hal Registered, rated this a 5 16 August 2019, 22:08

Damn, I just finished this in 142 minutes and got about 85% of the stuff. This is like the Forgotten Sepulcher of Base maps. It has everything! Great story, great set pieces, loads of secrets, good visuals and the gameplay is pretty fun. The ending is really excellent too considering it's just a single map. You get invested in the whole story of the place from logs scattered around, then it pays off. I found it more immersive than most other maps.

The sense of scale is probably the best I have seen in Quake for ages. Not just because it's huge, but because of the way it gradually progresses. You see previously visited areas underneath brand new areas, it really gives the sense of being in a tangible space. Yunno, "oh my, that's the place where I was 15 minutes ago" kind of shit.

The only thing I might fault is the visuals in some areas later on, they look a bit 90's (areas lit too brightly with few coloured lights, repetitive texture work etc). Hardly a bad complaint, Quake is from 1996. I'm just spoilt by the really modern look of Sepulcher/AD/xmasjam2018 etc.

Highly recommended.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in