Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of abw
Author:Jim Hughes
Title:All Black Within
Download:abw.zip (e93de57eab4adbef42b585ee83ddba4d)
Filesize:901 Kilobytes
Release date:01.12.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ABW.BSP2034 KB18.11.1997
ABW.TXT2 KB01.12.1997

abw.zip - All Black Within

Medium sized metal level.

Tags: metal, medium

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lunaran 29 July 2008, 17:45
jim hughes is a supergod!
Drew, rated this a 3 8 August 2012, 22:55
This map is interesting for its rather unique twist on the ID style. Nothing incredible by today's standards, but still quite nice. Gameplay is generally pretty solid, with a few well executed ambush situations etc.
3/5
Fr3n Guest, rated this a 5 16 September 2012, 6:52
when this map was released it had an incredible amount of attention to fine detail compared to both id maps and the great majority of custom maps. nowadays this level of detail is the bare minimum. :)
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 12 December 2012, 17:54
Very good map for its time, average to nice if it were done nowadays. Still recommended.
Aen Registered, rated this a 4 22 April 2013, 22:41

Easy and well designed level.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 16 September 2016, 10:35

Although it's hardly a looker, it's far from ugly either. Especially considering the time, as other people have commented.

Regardless, I feel that the gameplay of this map is what really makes it shine. The map is quite confined for the most part, but it makes great use of that space with a focus on Knights and Ogres keeping the player on their toes. Higher powered enemies don't make much of an appearance, only showing their faces in small numbers towards the end of the level, and that would have to be the map's weakest point; they're hardly threatening at that point. The map never lets you run out of ammo or health to a significant degree, and so the final combats are quite easy to overcome.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2017, 22:47

All Black Within on The Quake Grave

I think everyone has mentioned most of the things I would mention here, but I can talk about a few things.

I had a great time with this one and for a map from 1997, there are some cool forward thinking ideas that mappers are still using today. If this was expanded into a bigger and prettier map, I could see it existing among the custom maps of today.

I think the pacing of this map is really good, there is enough action around every corner but accented with breaks in between. Special mention of the ogre trap with the 2 shootable buttons, I thought this was a great trap! And the lift that operates when you get close and reveals an ogre is on it. That was a very cool reveal!

Fun map, and probably a good one for old school inspiration if you're looking for ideas for your next map!

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 26 January 2018, 18:01

An impressive map! Apart from mixing green stone at the start with metal textures in the rest of the map, it's faithful to the id style, yet I found it to be better than the average id level. Ammo and health are well balanced, the visuals show a lot of attention to detail, the layout is compact and intricate, and the combat is pretty fun.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in