Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_beep1m1
Author:Comrade Beep
Title:Deep Research
Download:ad_beep1m1.zip (3f84b1e12f6ce614c2bfdf0f4c782575)
Filesize:13280 Kilobytes
Release date:13.01.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:ad_v1_70finalad_v1_70patch1

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ad_beep1m1.txt3 KB13.01.2020
gfx/env/violent_beep_bk.tga3073 KB11.01.2020
gfx/env/violent_beep_dn.tga3073 KB11.01.2020
gfx/env/violent_beep_ft.tga3073 KB11.01.2020
gfx/env/violent_beep_lf.tga3073 KB11.01.2020
gfx/env/violent_beep_rt.tga3073 KB11.01.2020
gfx/env/violent_beep_up.tga3073 KB11.01.2020
maps/ad_beep1m1.bsp8583 KB13.01.2020
maps/ad_beep1m1.lit1378 KB13.01.2020
music/track202.ogg5510 KB26.12.2019
sound/ambience/gen_buzz.wav174 KB31.12.2019
textures/bz2_15.tga4 KB13.01.2020
textures/speedbz_l32yel.tga4 KB13.01.2020
textures/speedbz_mtriml6.tga13 KB13.01.2020
textures/speedbz_mtrimly.tga25 KB13.01.2020

ad_beep1m1.zip

Deep Research

Small base map using Speedbase textures. Comes with a new skybox and a custom music track.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions 1.71 and a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: speedbase, arcanedimensions, music, small, base, ad, skybox, limits, bsp

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 33 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
QuakeFreak Registered, rated this a 5 27 January 2020, 3:05

A lot of action packed into a small package. I loved it! Can't really find any faults with this one. The only thing that threw me off was the note saying this map requires AD 1.7.1. Thought I had to download the 1.71 patch to play the map so I created a new folder in the Quake dir called ad171 and went from there. Could not get it working though. So i just used 1.7 and it worked just fine. Don't know if I'm just a dummy and never needed the patch as it is included with 1.7final or if I was simply doing something wrong. I'm certainly no expert on this subject.

Titosor Registered, rated this a 5 9 February 2020, 6:24

Excellent work. A cool twist on the base map, this one has an atmosphere all its own.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 12 February 2020, 12:38

This is a lovely example of how a medium-sized base map can be so much more satisfying with the use of Arcane Dimensions. Progression is interesting and the ambush combats are signalled so that you can make plans before summoning all the bad guys. All in all, a fine bite-sized chunk of Quakish goodness. It looks like this is Comrade Beep's first standalone map, so let's hope there are plenty more to come!

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 31 March 2020, 21:51

Very nice. One of those maps where the encounters just keeping popping up and pushing you along... feels like a roller coaster!

nxanthos Registered, rated this a 5 31 March 2020, 23:29

A great little map. Comrade Beep has defined base maps in his own way, atmosphere and all. It's all about that base!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 11 October 2020, 6:22

Can't add much, it's a great stylish little action-packed AD base map. Also, I'm not normally the type to get excited about skyboxes, but this map has a great skybox.

vIE888 Registered, rated this a 5 29 November 2020, 18:35

Great, really dynamic and fast map, well designed and living.

triple_agent Registered 20 June 2021, 2:15

There is a reason as to why does the "Arcane Dimensions" have a perfect score on the "Quaddicted" website, as well as to why has it achieved a "mod of a year 2020" achievement on the "MODdb" website - two very popular portals, each in own regard, for gaming underground communities.

"Arcane Dimensions" does couple of things very right and these are rather major traits: it does the combat right - the hitscan element, outside of few exceptions, kills it for me in the original 'Quake'. "Arcane Dimensions" looks most right, making proper use of available technological advancements, as well as having own custom, visually upgraded array of assets. It sounds right. It has own, distinct, recognizable style and flavour; which some may like, some doubt - but it is there notwithstanding. Last but not least, "Arcane Dimensions" has a dedicated group of followers and developers, updating it and pressing forward. It is one of the - if not the very one - most popular mod, a base of assets and a map pack, all put together.

That is why, I think, it does make sense to build even the "base" themed maps around an otherwise rather fantasy-mythical inspired "Arcane Dimensions" pillar; even if it unnecessarily could fit more demanding, bitter tastes.

"Deep Research" is a proper map; not a brilliant one, but a good one for certain. It is combat heavy, tight in terms of spatial design, filled with challenging combat scenarios. The biggest thing to it, though, is that it rides the wagon of "Arcane Dimensions", which works as a leverage up. Otherwise, just good, against the contemporary standards.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in