Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_grendel1h
Author:sock
Title:Grendel's Blade
Download:ad_grendel1h.zip (5678237da46df932c40041a92154691c)
Filesize:6685 Kilobytes
Release date:28.05.2018
Homepage:http://www.simonoc.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✘ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:ad_v1_70finalad_v1_70patch1

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ad_grendel1h_readme.txt7 KB28.05.2018
maps/ad_grendel.bsp11500 KB28.05.2018
maps/ad_grendel.lit2874 KB28.05.2018
maps/ad_grendel.map8961 KB28.05.2018
progs/misc_flame_med.mdl172 KB12.05.2018

ad_grendel1h.zip - Grendel's Blade

Large runic fortress built around a huge sword thrust into the ground. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions 1.71 and a source port with increased limits.


Tags: dm4, arcanedimensions, runic, metal, vertical

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.6/5 with 28 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Mugwump Registered, rated this a 5 21 November 2018, 18:51

What to say? Yet another Sock masterpiece! Solid gameplay articulated around the pictured central setpiece and stunning visuals, as always. Not playing this is a crime against Quake!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 29 December 2018, 5:42

Yep, great map. Nice execution of the theme, with a nice vertical layout featuring plenty of obscure or hidden little areas, not all of which are marked as secrets. There are also some alternate routes which make for good replayability, and reminds me of classic id maps like e1m2, as well as previous sock maps.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 6 January 2019, 0:41

A masterpiece! Still trying to get through it, but it couldn't disappoint me if it ended now, it's already been that good.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 8 January 2019, 15:36

... finished it! Found 8 of 10 secrets, though I think his counting is off... there's quite a lot of this map that is "secret" and might not even be necessary to visit to win. Beautiful, intricate, and just deadly enough... perfect. If I could give more than a 5 I would.

Guest Registered 11 February 2019, 8:21

This level essentially consists of two halves. First half is everything reachable before going through the silver door, second half is everything after. Thing is, said first half is a direct spiritual sequel to the same author's Midnight Stalker in how tight, combat/platforming-heavy and up to the point that part of the level is, and is probably the best, gameplay-wise, creation of his, up to date. Moreover, despite being an AD-based level, first half's content manages to stay remarkably classy both in its look (barring the central sword vista) and its play, especially if one switches to classic implementation of shotguns and plays from Mark V WinQuake for software look. Anyway, the author really seems to be having a blast remixing, or rather reimagining American McGee's works, if one goes purely by these one and a half levels, and I really hope to see some future levels of his made in a similar sensible, to an extent, completely no-nonsense style. After the silver door, however, the level's consistency, in every possible regard, starts to very noticeably waver, and to gravitate towards the usual meandering Zendar-ish author's style, the more, the closer to end. Truth be told, I would personally just recommend dropping this level immediately after said silver door (making sure to find and complete the optional area prior to it!) not to sully the overall impression, or at least to treat it as an entirely different level altogether. Anyway, I personally rate the first half as, ah hell, 9 out of 10, while I can only rate the level as a whole, at 6.5 out of 10 at best. Also, author's thoughts on American McGee's dm4, which was the main inspiration behind this level - or rather said first half of it - were a very entertaining and illuminating read. They can be found at the section of author's homepage, dedicated to this map.

N00bl0 Guest 19 March 2019, 17:22

Ok, I completed the sequence. Now what?

Peter Guest 19 March 2019, 18:10

You‘ve won.

Titosor Registered, rated this a 5 20 March 2019, 11:29

Absolutely wonderful architecture and textures. Colors are also on point and contrast nicely. This is a must-play and ought to become an official part of AD.

Evan Guest 27 May 2019, 14:38

I think the was the most enjoyable map I've ever played in Quake. This is in a class all by itself.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in