Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_paradise
Author:Redfield
Title:Paradise Sickness
Download:ad_paradise.zip (d488fd704467ad58b2bdf5884c0b60b6)
Filesize:11230 Kilobytes
Release date:23.09.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:ad_v1_50finalad_sepulcher

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ad_paradiseREADME.txt16 KB22.09.2017
gfx/env/sahara_bk.tga577 KB10.05.2017
gfx/env/sahara_dn.tga736 KB10.05.2017
gfx/env/sahara_ft.tga614 KB10.05.2017
gfx/env/sahara_lf.tga616 KB10.05.2017
gfx/env/sahara_rt.tga591 KB10.05.2017
gfx/env/sahara_up.tga361 KB10.05.2017
maps/ad_paradise.bsp13303 KB22.09.2017
maps/ad_paradise.lit3877 KB22.09.2017
maps/ad_paradise.map6436 KB22.09.2017
maps/base_brk/ad_concrete.bsp10 KB31.08.2017
maps/base_brk/ad_greybrick.bsp24 KB31.08.2017
maps/base_brk/ad_greybrick2.bsp24 KB28.08.2017
maps/base_brk/ad_indyrubble.bsp94 KB09.09.2017
maps/base_brk/ad_sandstone.bsp26 KB10.09.2017
maps/base_brk/baserub1_paradise.bsp8 KB01.06.2017
maps/base_brk/baserub2_paradise.bsp24 KB12.06.2017
maps/base_brk/ikcrate_r1.bsp18 KB26.08.2017
maps/base_brk/ikcrate_r2.bsp18 KB26.08.2017
maps/base_brk/paradise_column1.bsp14 KB26.08.2017
maps/base_brk/paradise_column1.lit1 KB26.08.2017
maps/base_brk/paradise_column2.bsp15 KB26.08.2017
maps/base_brk/paradise_column2.lit1 KB26.08.2017
maps/base_brk/wood_paradise.bsp8 KB21.06.2017
sound/ambience/bigmachine_withcues.wav91 KB12.06.2017
sound/ambience/computer_ambience.wav497 KB19.08.2017
sound/ambience/evacuate.wav438 KB18.08.2017
sound/ambience/indiana.wav314 KB13.08.2017
sound/ambience/s_ring.wav54 KB24.07.2017
sound/ambience/shortexp.wav27 KB22.06.2017
sound/ambience/snake_hiss.wav206 KB13.08.2017
sound/ambience/starpost.wav41 KB07.08.2017
sound/ambience/waterfall_loop.wav388 KB19.05.2017
sound/ambience/wolf.wav168 KB07.07.2017

ad_paradise.zip - Paradise Sickness

Large Egyptian level with an archeological research base built into a tomb below a pyramid. The map features several popcultural references and the map source is included.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions 1.60 and a source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, egyptian, pyramid, tomb, sphynx, desert, base, ad, sounds, source, arcanedimensions

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Oliver93 Registered, rated this a 5 17 October 2017, 8:42

I really enjoyed this map,well done Redfield 5/5

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 22 November 2017, 2:16

I played this map when it came out but forgot to comment--shameful considering I was a beta tester!

It's a really nice adventure-style map in the vein of other AD maps like Firetop Mountain. Well-executed setting, great overall design and details, good fights, and a nice super secret well worth seeking out. A must-have for your ad/maps folder.

Repus Guest 24 December 2017, 19:41

This is an amazing level, no doubt it is a work of art.

But the amount of detail, the astonishingly high resolution, the perfection behind it just took away all my attention, I couldn't focus on the game. It did not feel like a Quake level, it seemed like a totally different game. So, sorry, couldn't play this for more than 20 minutes, I am an old school fan.

AN Registered, rated this a 5 6 January 2018, 19:31

Perfect map

Vasya shkolnik Guest 7 January 2018, 14:36

Two different settings in one map, very interesting. It is the first Quake map with two fogs which I ever seen. But fog changing may be more realistic with the volumetric fog from 1998 Unreal Software Rendering (why modern engines cant support this old feature?).

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 16 January 2018, 15:25

"The lift is now ready to use" ... but how? I stand under the hole in the ceiling, and it doesn't activate. What am I missing?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 17 January 2018, 12:15

Once again, I am dumb. There is a button right there next to the lift. Sheesh.

So, I finished this with 210 of 219 kills and 6 of 11 secrets -- but the books hint that what I reached is not the true ending. I'll go back now and play through the relevant parts of the Secrets Guide that Redfield thoughtfully included in the documentation. (Note to other mappers: PLEASE DO THIS!)

Anyway, even before having reached the true ending, I can say that this is excellent -- lots of fun and well balanced throughout, and well worth the full five stars. It's truly astonishing that this is only Redfield's second published map: it has a maturity to it that usually only comes with experience.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 5 24 January 2018, 16:59

Paradise Sickness on The Quake Grave

Paradise Sickness feels like an Arcane Dimensions level that could easily have been included with the original mod/expansion release. It's really that good! The level flows really well, has lots of variety in places and the things you do, has a lot of really fun events to experience and even has optional things to discover if you're interested in hunting it all out. Worth playing!

Hipnotic Rogue Registered 28 January 2018, 14:13

Fantastic map. I'd love to see this design and atmosphere expanded over a few maps. I really enjoyed it and hope to see more!

Quakestion Guest 27 May 2018, 11:21

Do I still need to have The Forgotten Sepulcher if I have Arcane Dimensions 1.70?

Redfield Registered 27 May 2018, 11:39

If you have AD v1.70 you can play any AD map, including this one. As far as I know if you downloaded AD v1.70 you will already have Sepulcher installed. If you run into any trouble running the map let me know.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in