Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_shamsp5
Author:Shambler
Title:Symphony of Steel
Download:ad_shamsp5.zip (6821283ec727e62bd26362d81ce152aa)
Filesize:5229 Kilobytes
Release date:23.04.2019
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:ad_v1_70finalad_v1_70patch1

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/dawn-of-time_bk.tga769 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/dawn-of-time_dn.tga769 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/dawn-of-time_ft.tga769 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/dawn-of-time_lf.tga769 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/dawn-of-time_rt.tga769 KB06.08.2018
gfx/env/dawn-of-time_up.tga769 KB06.08.2018
maps/ad_shamsp5.bsp5199 KB23.04.2019
maps/ad_shamsp5.lit1677 KB23.04.2019
maps/ad_shamsp5.txt3 KB23.04.2019

ad_shamsp5.zip

Symphony of Steel

Small industrial base map; the layout is a tribute to ztn's Bloodrun. It comes with a custom skybox.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions and a source port with increased limits.


Tags: small, industrial, base, remix, ad, arcanedimensions, skybox, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 21 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Solomoriah Registered 31 December 2019, 23:52

Short but very sweet. It's called a "base" map but it's more weird than that.

MikeTaylor Registered 3 January 2020, 17:53

OK, but relies more on ambushes than I usually enjoy. The ending seemed anticlimactic to me, but that might just be that the quad made it easier than intended.

zaratzara Registered 25 March 2022, 17:16

Review

Very high quality brushwork, consummate aesthetic, tight architecture & great environmental storytelling with a really delightful eye for detail. Some very cool secrets: I liked the consistent hiding mechanism. As others have mentioned, the enemy positioning is ingenious on an individual basis but unlike the secrets — where the consistency is a clever aid — the constant ambushing becomes monotonous.

I couldn't finish it though. I found the gate but it was barred; I backtracked through the complex and found no new triggers that I was aware of; I returned to the gate, backtracked again, then encountered newly spawned enemies — so I must have triggered something at some point, but it wasn't obvious what.

Overall the fine detail is gorgeous and the architecture is brilliantly done, but the environmental storytelling & richly detailed encounters paper over a core ludic experience that feels disjointed: confusing and circuitous without much reward.

Critique

There is an anxious claustrophobia to the thing which isn't necessarily bad but left me unsettled: everything is so continuously tight and yet there are constant suggestions of things opening up: the (very cool) scrags drifting past the window near the spawn point imply there will be large outdoor spaces; the beautifully detailed axe / ogre / nukes set-piece tantalises further outdoor detail, which again, can't be reached; the space shown in the poster image reveals the beautiful exterior of the tower in which pretty much everything happens, but the space is too small to appreciate it. All of these things demonstrate such inventive & beautiful craftsmanship but end up dissapointing because they tantalise greater spaces to appreciate them within that never materialise.

The megahealths contributed to this: both times I saw these I assumed I was in the vicinity of a big battle or large gauntlet, but no: they're just a couple of megahealths.

The light barriers blocking the exit are so aesthetically out of kilter with the gate I thought they were a map / engine bug: are these strange light-barrier bollards a security device preventing me from accessing the nether dimensions behind the gate? To what end? Along with the tiny outdoor areas and the machines + humanoids inside / beasts outside, it feels like there's so much lore to be told by this level… I guess this is my way of saying I want more lol.


Great work!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in