Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of aesop_power1.1
Author:Aesopolis
Title:Power Structure v1.1
Download:aesop_power1.1.zip (7b259071e4e33feddb066171921b354f)
Filesize:55144 Kilobytes
Release date:23.10.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links: Slipseer page
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:alkaline1.1

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
aesop_power1.1.txt7 KB23.10.2022
gfx/env/sky_day4bk.tga4097 KB12.05.2022
gfx/env/sky_day4ft.tga4097 KB12.05.2022
gfx/env/sky_day4lf.tga4097 KB12.05.2022
gfx/env/sky_day4rt.tga4097 KB12.05.2022
gfx/env/sky_day4up.tga4097 KB12.05.2022
maps/aesop_power.bsp86302 KB23.10.2022
maps/aesop_power.lit16678 KB23.10.2022
music/track33.mp311048 KB20.05.2022

aesop_power1.1.zip

Power Structure v1.1

Large sci-fi base map with Makkon textures, made for Alkaline v1.1+ (NOT included). Custom music is "Flow" by Anna Centauri. This is version 1.1 which adds more details, bug fixes, and encounters.

"I started this level a month into learning how to map, and spent the next 8 months tweaking and improving it as I learned the ropes. This means that it might have some nice ideas, but it's poorly optimized for slower systems and has a few design issues. But overall, I feel pretty good about the end result.

For the design, I based it on the Dark Souls 2 DLC Crown of the Sunken King, but sci-fi instead of fantasy. If I follow through on the original plan, this will be level 2 of a 5-level episode. That may or may not happen. If people like this enough, I'll at least make a second map for the temple itself."


Note: probably requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, industrial, tech, base, makkon, music, darksouls, alk, alkaline, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.6/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








DMXneon Registered 17 November 2022, 21:30

This was really good. Longer than I typically like but that's just personal preference.

Everything flowed really nicely, a lot of good shortcuts, the level looping back around on itself, etc. Only issue was some hard to see buttons that blended in too well with computer consoles around them. Found plenty of things that seemed like secrets but they didn't count as secrets. Of the actual 6, I didn't find a single one. Also missed something like 15 monsters, I imagine they were in secret areas I didn't get to.

Played in Quakespasm, and there was some definite choppiness in the fraterate lol. That and some z-fighting textures were the only real flaws, otherwise well done.

The_Pirate Registered 18 November 2022, 17:05

Hm. I'm not sure this quite qualifies as a 'first map' - another map was released in the Speedmapping series. (Munble, mumble, grumble...)

But, if this is a learning map, the author has certainly learned how to debug properly! ;) This is a very good map, i am impressed with the architecture, the general quality of the mapping - and all the fun and new ideas that show up everywhere!

I really like this. Thanks for the efforts, and thanks for sharing!

whatisquake Registered 26 November 2022, 7:22

Really cool! I liked the use of colors, and fighting through windows. For criticism, some fights made it a little too easy to kite enemies one at a time through a door, and I had trouble getting rid of vore balls in one fight.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in